We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rundown uncomfortable tiny room, but close to beach”
Review of A Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Wave Inn
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We just returned from an overnight stay at A Wave Inn with our 3 kids. The place sounded glorious on their website, and the TripAdvisor reviews were okay, so we booked a "deluxe studio" for over $300 (with tax) for one night. The property is shabby and motel-ish. The beds were uncomfortable (none of us slept well) and the bathroom was miniscule. In the bathroom, the sink didn't drain proprly without holding the drain plug up and the cover of the radiator coil was missing, which could be a real hazard in the winter (if there's anbody staying there then).

The surrounding properties looked equally shabby, so maybe that's what you get on a peak weekend in Montauk for $300, but we've done much better, price- and cleanliness-wise, in chain hotels on our other vacations, Unfortunately, choices are more limited this far out on Long Island.

We will not be returning to A Wave Inn..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nathdunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for A Wave Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2008

PROS:
- Less than one minute walk to the beach
- Clean, nice pool
- Pleasant staff
- Room fairly clean\
- Only a two night minimum instead of the standard three

CONS:
- Room 19 is dingy and has two tiny windows facing the road (view nonexistent)
- Old & a little musty
- Decor needs an update
- A little expensive for what it is at $200+ per night

The staff, while very polite & helpful, called repeatedly to sort out issues ranging from our room being given away and wanting us to switch (we were happy to oblige -- these things happen) to them calling and harassing us for payment in the middle of our trip (not so nice). I'm accustomed to paying at the beginning or end of my stay, not in the middle.

All in all, A Wave Inn is a good choice for Montauk because there aren't a lot of places there that are better than this (proximity to the beautiufl beach and restaurants / hotel has a nice pool). But I might try something else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBUWS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My family and i stayed at a wave inn it was fun 40% larger room then the other motels we stayed at before in montauk. very clean comfortable amazing staff and service. great location 30 ft from beach and center of town. didnt need to drive much. two thumbs up !!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank TIGER111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Some friends and I decided to do a bike trip to Montauk but were pretty lax in making hotel reservations for when we got there. A Wave Inn was one of the last and cheapest places we could find that would have us.

When we rolled up, the ladies running the place were super-accommodating and let us into a downstairs room where we could put all of our bikes. Then, the next day... they let us keep our rooms into the afternoon even though we had only reserved rooms for one night. That way we could hang out on beach longer before we left to go get on the train.

The place itself is kind of shabby, and the pool wasn't heated and they seemed to close it at like 8... but aside from that I thought it was a great experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry_bonsoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Could not have found a better hotel. A Wave Inn is definitely the place to be, great location to Montauk village and beach! Great Staff...Sarah and her team give personalized service and gave there undivided attention to our needs. We were a party of 5 and made a request for one room and we were offered an upgrade to accomodate the full party. Great!!! Can't wait to book again next year. Sarah is well informed with what is going on in the community and can recommend up to the minute places to go or things to do while you are there. This hotel is closed for off season, and advised us of the other Dune Resort hotels that are available year round.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Hi

I needed to stay in Montauk for one night and the best place to stay was at " A Wave Inn". Fortunetly my husband is a chef at a near by restaurant and it was just walking distance from It, the beach and Main street. It was a pleasant stay. The manager there Sarah Malone treated us very well. I hope to go there again with our children in August.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suzie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Let me start by saying my husband and I are NOT picky travelers. We booked "A Wave Inn" because we had been going to the same hotel for years and thought we'd try something new. I called and hung up after no one answered, and they actually had the nerve to call back using *69/caller id???
The price was much more than we were used to, and they were so desperate, they bargained it down. That should have been my first clue.
When we arrived, the first thing we were greeted with was dog feces in the bathroom garbage. That's when we realized the room hadn't been cleaned at all. Fine, people make mistakes. After the room was cleaned, I was disappointed to note that while things had been "renovated", it was quite a bad job, and the room was no larger, or nicer than we were used to, but was $50 more per night!! We spent the next 4 days begging for toilet paper, constantly reminding management to have someone clean our room, and being made uncomfortable by shady staff members hanging out outside our room. We witnessed one young man throw a glass bottle from the courtyard in front of our room to the backdoor of a local business. We've never done this before, but we actually checked out early and demanded a refund for the night we didn't stay, with which they finally complied.
And by the way, the pool WAS closed. Just to add insult to injury, breakfast consisted of a mini 2-cup coffee maker (I'm guessing for ALL hotel guests) and some Entenmanns doughnuts. The next morning, there they were, the leftover doughnuts from yesterday.
If you want the good location, stay at Daunts, it's literally 10 feet away.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
5  Thank bronxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauket, Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2006

I just read a review submitted on August 7, apparently the reviewer stayed at a motel with a similar name. All of the concerns listed did not pertain to A Wave Inn. I would like to request that they look into this matter to determine the correct location and give that location the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breakers MTK
Breakers MTK
#24 of 39 in Montauk
71 reviews
4.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#18 of 39 in Montauk
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Sole East Beach
Sole East Beach
#33 of 39 in Montauk
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: £160 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
A Wave Inn Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing