We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of A Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Wave Inn
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed the first week of August. Room was just OK, had a mildew smell and the doors did not close well...bathroom was small...it was close to the beach, shopping and the restaurants. Great location. Friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sfpusateri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for A Wave Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I just stayed last weekend at a Wave Inn. We are not affluent but we wanted to get out for break. A Wave Inn fit the bill, the prices were reasonable, the rooms were nice and clean, the staff or more than helpful, and the location was perfect! Right across the road from the beach and just minutes from downtown Montauk.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My family and I flew up to Long Island this Memorial Day weekend to visit and celebrate with our extended family. We all had a fun filled mini vacation, the area in and around Montauk was beautiful, the location of A Wave Inn was perfect, the hotel and rooms there of were nice, and the room rates were more than acceptable considering the nature of the affluent area. Thank you for the great times from all of our family. Cheers, the Ryan Family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We just paid 1400.00 for a 5 night stay at the Wave inn and were given a much smaller room than offered.we could barely get to the bathroom around the bureau and bed ! There were 4 of us and we were very unhappy.we were also told on the phone there would be coffee in the lobby and continental breakfast ,all lies .the beds werenot Even doubles and hard hard hard.when we checked out we asked for our key deposit 10.00 back and the desk agent knew nothing about it.yet we were asked for it and paid it upon check in! Rip off !i will go back to Wildwood crest in Nj where for 10.00 more we have a two room efficiency apt with amenities and an ocean view !never again !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Ms. Babien,

Thank you for your feedback regarding A Wave Inn. The issues you brought forward are very disheartening, because they indicate that you did not enjoy the East End, the way you should have. The room type booked was a Deluxe Studio Efficiency, which offered ample space for your party of four. We do not offer complimentary breakfast and have not offered this amenity for the past 2 years; being a repeat customer you are aware of that. Also regarding key deposits we did not collect any key deposits for your reservation, we are confident that our customers are responsible enough to return all items given in the order they were received and that was the same for you, so there was no need for us to collect any deposits. The total you paid, was solely for the room which we provided.
Its not our desire to have any guest have a bad experience in Montauk and especially at A Wave Inn. We would love to have stay with us again to repair our relationship as merchant and customer.

Regards,

Sasha Williams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Rooms were clean and staff was very accommodating. The inn is Beautiful and my family and I enjoyed our stay there very much. The location was great and they were more than helpful with any questions we had about the area.Thanks for the memories, I am definitely coming back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel confirmed a room and gave me a much smaller room. Couldn't fit my party of 4 and had none of the amenities that the confirmation promised. They offered to find us another hotel which was ridiculous because there wasn't another room within 20 miles of Montauk that wasn't already booked. It was 4th of July weekend. The reservation has been booked and paid for months before. Huge disappointment.

Expedia wasn't any help either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Dana M,

First let me apologize about the mis-hap with your reservations over the 4th of July holiday. It is not a habit of ours to provide paying guests with services far from what was requested. With that being said, we did our utmost best to accommodate you and your party for this weekend. As your Expedia reservation stated, your room was booked for two people; we were never made aware that your party size increased.
We offered to find alternate accommodation with a full refund, which you declined and decided to stay with us for the remaining nights. We also offered to rearrange your room to make it more spacious for your party, but you made us aware that there was no need for any rearrangement or furniture removal. Lastly, for all the inconvenience you endured, your party was given a 15% discount on your total stay, as well as a late check out at 3PM.
We understand your frustration and disappointment with us and Expedia but we made every attempt to better your stay. We would love to have you reserve with us again. Should you choose to do so, feel free to contact me personally at swilliams@dunemanagement.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this - especially for the price. Although our room appeared clean, we hard a hard time believing it. The place smelled very old, with very old bedspreads, carpeting, and amenities. The cauking was cracking in the bathroom and again, even though it looked clean, you felt like you wanted to wear your flip flops in the shower. Although it is close to the beach, and does have a pool, I wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mberga25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Mberga25,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our property. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as expected. If only we were made aware, we would have done our best to accommodate any request/concern.
We do general maintenance of the property such as carpet cleaning, painting etc. on an annual basis. We are aware that it is time for a renovation/update and our owners are looking to do so in the near future. Once this is done, I invite you to come and stay with us, so that you can enjoy the East End as you expected to, and hopefully enjoy A Wave Inn, the way you should.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breakers MTK
Breakers MTK
#24 of 39 in Montauk
71 reviews
4.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Sole East Beach
Sole East Beach
#33 of 39 in Montauk
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: £160 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
A Wave Inn Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing