We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daunt's Albatross Motel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This review is for Albatross "East". We found this motel to be a great family friendly place. Both the courtyard and the 'backyard' provided good space for our large family gathering to BBQ or have breakfast. The continental free breakfast was very good and the staff was helpful. The swimming pool and area around it are brand new and beautiful, with room for BBQ's and plenty of seating. The rooms are fairly old but ours was comfortable with plenty of space to move around. It was also clean and the bathroom was roomy including the shower. Ours was an "efficiency" so it had a small kitchen area with a table and chairs. The bed was a king and had plenty of pillows. There was also a desk in the room. If anything was lacking, it was enough drawer space for our clothes as we were there for a week. We were told that the rooms will be upgraded over the next year. The family who owns the Albatross were on the property and in the office every day and were very helpful when we needed them. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Of course we go there for the beach which is only a two minute walk and the 'town circle' is only two minutes the other way - very convenient for sure. A number of our family members have stayed here before and we have stayed in other motels within a few blocks, but we would be very happy to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Reserve an "efficiency" - the room and bathroom are larger and it has a small kitchen area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Daunt's Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hi Bob, thank you for your review! We take customer feedback very seriously as we continue to strive to provide a great experience to our guests. I am very happy you enjoyed the pool, and you are correct, the rooms are the next step in our attempt to balance keeping our traditional Montauk vibe along with the growing need to modernize. We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    123
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
93
126
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Nice motel. Loved the outside patio. Has tables and a few BBQ's for you to cook on, But the room is a whole different story. For the amount of money that we paid for the double bedroom on the top deck, it was not worth it. Room is completely outdated. The doors need some WD-40 or something, because anytime I tried to close it I had to pull so hard just for it to shut, which caused a Big Bang. The bathroom is extremely small. The toilet is shoved in a small corner next to the small shower. The shower is about the size of a tanning bed or a coffin. You can't bend to wash your legs without your head hitting the wall. The water was constantly going from hot to cold every few minutes. And the shower curtains kept falling off they were that delicate. The beds made noise constantly, they were that old. Even just turning yourself over, made the headboard hit the wall and cause a ruckus. You're given one pillow. One very flat pillow. Which made sleeping uncomfortable. The memory motel/club across the street plays loud live music till 4 am which makes it even harder to sleep through all the loud thumps. And if you have neighbors who like to leave the room a lot during the night, good luck with the constant door banging throughout the night. The office in the west wing was rarely open, we always had to walk the extra block to the east wing which is considered the main office. The girl behind the counter there was very nice and always helpful. The motel is close to the beach which was great. But I don't think I'll be staying there again next year. Service was good, but the room situation is terrible.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tmi827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Daunt's Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we take customer feedback very seriously and will try to rectify all complaints. Unfortunately, the West building has been sold, but this opens up new beginnings at the Daunts Albatross as we fully concentrate on the main building. We renovated the pool in the spring and are currently installing a state of the art wifi system to improve our internet connection. We will continue to strive to keep the traditional Montauk vibe alive while balancing our need to modernize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My partner and I searched for a motel to stay in early May with our little dog, and most places didn't really have great reviews in the Montauk area. We decided to book here because it allowed dogs and was close to the beach. We were a little worried about other reviewers noticing the rooms being run-down. We arrived really late (around midnight) because we got a flat tire on our way, but they were very accommodating and stayed up to check us in. The man in the registration area didn't seem particularly friendly but was efficient and answered our questions. We didn't see anyone else there for the two nights we stayed there except for some pacing sounds above us (we stayed in a downstairs room) one time and construction next door (we were there probably towards the end of off season). The room itself was small but clean and welcoming. The shower was super small and dark but the water speed was really strong and hot! The mattress was also a little on the run-down side but we made do. The only other weird thing was that the power cords for the appliances (microwave and coffee maker) were too short to plug in, so we had to do a little furniture rearrangement to get them to work. The hotel itself was within 1-2min distance to the beautiful Montauk Beach. The first day was too cloudy and cold to stay there long, but the next day was sunny and we had the whole stretch of the sandy beach to ourselves. Overall it was OK for the price we paid (about $110/night) knowing that Montauk prices are a little higher than elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Daunt's Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review! A little time has passed, so we are happy to let you know that we have renovated the pool area and are currently in the process of installing a new wifi system. We will continue to strive to balance keeping the old Montauk prices and traditions alive with the need to modernize, we hope you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My bf and I have stayed here twice. We chose this motel due to its location to the beach and being kitty friendly. The room itself is not bad. A little outdated, but always clean. We actually got the same room this past weekend that we did several years ago when we stayed here. The bathroom is another story. The shower is about as big as a coffin. If you heaven forbid dont keep your elbows down when you shower, you will knock the knobs and scald yourself. The toilet is an entity on itself. The tank wobbles worse than it did than our first stay there, which leads me to believe they havent done a thing in the bathroom since we left after our first stay. Also, i'm not tall, about 5'5" and my knee hits the toilet paper dispenser when I sat on the toilet. Not comfortable at all. The wall also sweats constantly so there is a puddle at your feet at any given time by the toilet. The shower also drips constantly. I have stayed at other comparable motels in the area and the bathrooms are far better. I also agree with other comments on this board that the locks are not enough. Our door clearly had a chain lock on it which had been removed at some point in time, so the only lock is the doorknob which can be easily picked im sure. This last time we stayed there were a few unsavory characters next door to us. The bed isnt the greatest either. Needs to be replaced as well as the squeaky headboard either removed or secured better. I couldnt sit up in bed to read or watch tv without it making a ton of noise. I really want to like this motel as our kitty is comfortable here and the room itself is nice and close to everything in Montauk. We dont spend much time in our room, so when were there we like to be comfortable, particularly when using the restroom or taking a shower, or secure when we lock the door. I dont think we will return next time we come to Montauk. On the other hand the staff is always friendly, attentive and available. If you do stay ask for extra pillows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Daunt's Albatross Motel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the customer service and the cleanliness of the room. We either have a deadbolt or chain lock on every room. We also have security on site at all hours. We are happy to announce that we also renovated the pool area this spring and are in the process of installing a state of the art wifi system. We strive to balance keeping the traditional Montauk rustic appeal with the need to modernize. Since this review, many of the bathrooms have been redone and we aim to have every bathroom renovated soon. We hope to be able to accommodate you in the future, and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Daunt's Albatross has been in Montauk forever and is a great deal for a family on a budget who wants a kitchenette, pool, and great ocean location. You cross the streetand you're on the ocean.
The place is dated and nothing fancy but it has everything you need for the kids and yourself and the staff is friendly. There are outdoor BBQ grills and picnic tables as well as a decent pool. The other great thing is that you are centrally located in the town of Montauk and can walk everywhere. You are close to food stores, deli's, boutiques, and of course, most importantly, especially if you have brought the kids, bars and liquor stores. Check it the place out. They offer great third night free specials.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADNYC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just got back from our third yearly vacation at Daunt's. We would never stay anywhere else. We are greeted and treated like family. Every effort is made to get us in our rooms as soon as possible - this year we were in by 12! The breakfast every morning is great and such a money-saver for families traveling with kids. No, it's not the Hilton. But if you are looking for that, Montauk is not for you - Go to the Hamptons. Montauk is a safe, fun, family-friendly, beautiful beach town. Daunt's is right in the heart of it. Cindy and the rest of the staff treat us wonderfully, starting with gentle emails in the winter reminding us of our upcoming reservations. To all the complainers out there: If you were in your room enough to study it and write a descriptive essay of everything you found wrong with your room, then you were in your room way too much. It's Montauk - go outside, rent a bike, go for a walk. BTW, the sunset at Gossman's is breathtaking and not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skopergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you're looking for a cheap stay in Montauk this motel might be right for you, however a budget room comes at a price. I was in Montauk with my family so split between us I was able to see three different rooms. My girl friend and I stayed in a room with a double and a twin bed. Of the three rooms ours was the nicest. It was relatively clean, had a balcony on second floor. My grandparents had a room with two twin beds. Finally my parents stayed in a room with a Queen sized bed. Their room was inarguably the most run down room of the three. Everything in the room seemed older and dingy. Perhaps my biggest complaint for all three rooms was that the locks on each room had something wrong with them. My parents room was impossibly hard to open, my grandparent's deadbolt didn't work, and my room didn't even have a deadbolt! On top of that the handle on my room was very loose. Beds may not be the greatest but I'm young so I barely noticed. Bottom line, the rooms didn't feel terribly secure. Over all the motel has a very shanty vibe. On the flip side the location is great. You're seconds from the beach and seconds from the downtown area. But nonetheless, if you don't want to sell yourself short, I would go with a different hotel. If you're on a budget and that's all that matters this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpj0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
210 reviews
4.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#20 of 39 in Montauk
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 39 in Montauk
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daunt's Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daunt's Albatross Motel

Property: Daunt's Albatross Motel
Address: 44 S Elmwood Ave, P.O. Box 687, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#8 Family Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Daunt's Albatross Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location, one block from the beach and the town. Family oriented with BBQ's, an outdoor pool and many more features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Daunt's Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunt`s Albatross Hotel Montauk
Albatross Hotel Montauk
Albatross Motel Montauk
Daunt's Albatross Motel Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing