We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in Montauk, Best Sunset View, Only for the Laid Back Traveller!”
Review of Montauket Hotel

Montauket Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montauket Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My spouse and I (we live in Brooklyn) love to come here and stay in one of the water view rooms (there are only two so when you call you must specifically ask for one). You can spend your day at the beach, come back to the room and get to walk a few steps for food and alcohol, and not having to drive afterwards. The food is very good and the bar is fabulous fun. Every age group, all kinds of wonderful rowdiness.The "hotel" is a house attached to the restaurant/bar, and the rooms are NOT fancy, this is a no frills place with twin beds and no TV; you share a bathroom down the hall. But to us it's like staying a college house share. We're 38, so not spring chickens, but it's still a lot of fun to come here and enjoy the liberated atmosphere. I would only recommend to my laid back friends, never to anyone who is fussy, a neat freak, and looking for an all amenities hotel. And finally, THE VIEW FROM HERE IS ETHEREAL!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorginaGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

There nothing else to say than the place is a complete dive. Terrible old beds, nasty linens, filthy showers and rundown period. 1960 rooms in 2010. Cheap prices but not worth the poor conditions. But I will say something positive. great bar and views for sunsets with a local crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yapdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I have been to dinner and the bar here, which are both great. I thought the hotel would be of the same quality, but I was wrong. I knew that some inn's and motel's in montauk are no frills, but this was a bit extreme. I paid for a room with a shower and two beds. I didn't want to touch anything in the room once I walked in. The bed was gross, with a mattress from the 50s. The shower worked, but had no curtain. the towels were washed, but still had many brown stains on them. I ended up leaving before it got dark and paying 4x more for the last hotel room I could find in montauk. I didnt feel like it would be safe to spend the night.

If you wish to stay here, ask to see the room first then make your decision.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Beach_Lover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

This was the dirtiest, most uncomfortable hotel I have ever stayed in. The bathroom didn't appear to have been cleaned for weeks (hair, dust on the floor, toothpaste stains around the sink) and was in very poor condition (broken tile, peeling paint). Beds were extremely uncomfortable, we could feel every spring in the mattresses,and the blankets had cigarette burns in them.
The hotel overlooks the ocean, and the views were very good, but all the window screens were broken, and it was difficult to open/close the blinds without them falling off .
I would not recommend anybody stay here except as an absolute last resort. Cheap, but not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank vikings999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.6 mi away
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
A Wave Inn
A Wave Inn
#35 of 39 in Montauk
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harborside Resort Motel
Harborside Resort Motel
#18 of 39 in Montauk
137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montauk Bungalows
Montauk Bungalows
#4 of 6 in Montauk
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montauket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauket Hotel

Address: 88 Firestone Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5082
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Montauket Hotel Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing