We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Owego
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Other than the fact that this motel is right on the ocean it would be a cheap 50$ a nite motel. Beds are like rocks- nothing on the walls for ambiance- small- smaller bathrooms-

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thebeach46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    66
    41
    24
    29
See reviews for
71
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

the place itself is rundown and musty and nothing to be excited about...however...the location is excellent! .....right on the ocean!
basically its a motel on the ocean....
three pluses-the town is within walking distance , the breakfast/lunch cafe run by steve and his family is a nice convenience! and there is a nice outdoor pool

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, N.J.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a very clean, well kept motel right on the beach and conveniently located within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. They are very helpful at the front desk and try to accommodate their guests. This place is especially geared for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderwoman7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My family and I have been spending the third week in August in Montauk for the past 15 years. We've stayed in 5 different places out there and have settled in at the Atlantic Terrace. This was our third year there and will continue to be our Montauk hotel for the foreseeable future. It's great to be able to park your car and not need it for a week. There's plenty to choose from within walking distance. The town is just a few blocks away.

If you've never been there, don't expect luxury. Most of the hotels are old, a little run down and lacking curb appeal. However, the rooms at the this property are frequently renovated and kept up to date and clean. In my opinion, the thing that keeps the Atlantic Terrace ahead of the rest is the clientele and the staff. Everyone is friendly and accomodating. If you like to surf, there's a nice break right out front. If you take a short walk to the east you'll find good surf as well.

We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachDLT-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

You have to keep your expectations low for staying in Montauk. The hotels will be small, old and over-priced. The local politicians do not want any big chain hotels in this town and that's a shame. Generally, the people are less than friendly with some exceptions. Traffic to get here is a nightmare throughout the summer. That's the down-side to vacationing here.

The up-side of Montauk are the beaches. Some of the finest in the world, and this hotel is as good as any for location. There are no lifeguards on duty on the beach (only at the pool), so you swim at your own risk. There is an on-site cafe, a decent pool, great views, and is relatively reasonably-priced for MTK. And if you like fishing, you are in one of the finest fishing towns in the world.

Management does a good job trying to keep this old hotel clean and up-to-date. And we have found them to be responsive to concerns that arise during the stay. The few quibbles would include the fact that they do not offer hair-dryers, coffee for the coffee-makers and the ice machines never seem to have any ice.

As long as you come to MTK willing to accept its limitations, this hotel is one of the better ones to come to.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Went with two friends for Labor Day weekend. The front desk staff may as well have been card board cut outs for all the personality and pleasantness they exuded. The rooms, well, what can I say, for $265 per night, I was only hoping it was clean and the beds were comfy. That they were. The bathroom had a relatively new shower and brand new curtain, yet the mirror was the original 1950s/60 and not in the best condition, and the soap shelf and tissue dispenser in the wall were both rusty. How odd. When you hit one of the switches in the bath, you could hear an exahust fan, but there was no opening in the celing for one. The fuse would blow when only the coffee pot was on/plugged in, and it blew continually. Can you say electrical fire? It only took my laptop over 8 hours to charge. When my friend went to the front desk to ask for 1 sheet of a paper towel roll she was told "This isn't a restaurant you know" . Well, apparently its not a motel staffed with customer service oriented people either. Inexepenseive does not exempt you from the basics of congeniality and helpfulness. Although they did have a great pool and deck right on the beach and a good cafe (but too much greasy/fat laden food on the menu) I still wouldn't go back until I knew the electric was upgraded. Too dangerous. Oh, and the security drape (mildewed from years of not being replaced) was very effective.

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSDgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was my 3rd stay at the Atlantic Terrace. If you're looking for the finer things - skip this place. If you're looking for an inexpensive stay, clean and located on the beach, with a pool and a close walk to town - then this is it. They have a small fridge and stove/sink but why bother. So many great places in town. Bring your own shampoo & blow dryer. The Atlantic is great for families with space to run around, a great pool area and the beach so close. They have a little cafe that makes great breakfast omelets and lunch meals. No need to go fancy if you're living in your bathing suit for the weekend. At the end of the day, we showered and walked to town. Took a cab to Liars Club and Navy Beach. We had a great time here and I will be back.

Room Tip: They sell out quick by Feb. So if you're looking for a short stay, call each week and see if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah-AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
521 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#20 of 39 in Montauk
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Terrace Motel

Property: Atlantic Terrace Motel
Address: 21 Ocean View Ter, Montauk, NY 11954-5356
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Terrace Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Terrace Motel Montauk, New York
Atlantic Terrace Hotel Montauk
Atlantic Terrace Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing