We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like peace and quiet...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driftwood on the Ocean
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like peace and quiet...”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A no frills motel. The ocean-front rooms are up to date, clean and comfortable. Internet access is a little slow but usable. Away from the hubbub of Montauk center and boardering Hither Hills state park makes for a peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't rent the rooms in back of the pool house. They need up dating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayuptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    41
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
46
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My extended inlaw family and mine have been coming to the Driftwood for close to twenty years, and hopefully will continue for at least another twenty.

The location can't be beat. The place is about as casual as it can get.

This isn't the Ritz, but maybe that's why we all like it so much. I don't think you're allowed to live in flipflops at the Ritz, are you?

Until then, this place rules! Hoity toity types might like somewhere else possibly more, but that's just fine w/ me and mine.

I hope Montauk/Napeague stays this way, forever.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best. Bring your own charcoal and lots of it. Who needs the fufu restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I come from a very large family and for the last 20 years all of my sisters and brothers with our familes each take a unit on the ocean at the driftwood for 10 days in July. I am hesitant to write this because we always want to keep the Driftwood as our secret. First off this is the most beautiful stretch of beach you will find on the East Coast and the accomodations are perfect for our needs.In addition to the beach, we love the pool, tennis ,playgrounds and the ability to BBQ evey night. The staff is very helpful and responsive. You never have to leave this paradise. You have chairs , towels and umbrellas provided at no extra charge at the beach and then you move to the pool through out the day with fresh new towels. The unit we stay in is beautifully decorated , very comfortable and is taken care of on a daily basis. The Driftwood is a place to reconnect with your family and create wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed four nights, June 9 - 12. Kids running up and down the wooden walkway, walls paper thin. Noise level extremely high. This is not your place for rest and relaxation. For a "suite" this was hardly an ideal setting. Management basiclly non responsive to my request to leave early without penalty. No mgmt on duty after 7 P.M. None on duty when I checked out at 8:30. Still have not received copy of bill after two requests. After obtaining name of owner of property worte letter of complaint to the owner. Much like the management of the property, the owner never responded.

Room Tip: If you've never stayed in Montauk before and you're looking for quiet, this is not the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmons1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My immediate as well as extended family get together yearly out in Montauk for a reunion vacation. We are usually a group of between 20 to 35 guests. We have stayed at the Driftwood in past years and although there are always some issues and inconveniences we have overall enjoyed the resort and location. The rooms and amenities have been satisfactory but never outstanding. We were pleased by the upgrades to the tennis courts, BBQ and playground area. The additional equipment in the gym was nice. The game room could certainly use some attention but overall the renovations were positive and appealing. However, the customer service at the resort is an issue that should not be ignored.
We checked in on Monday afternoon and were given accommodation as promised with two double beds and kitchenette. But, the tub was already backed up with sandy scummy water. This disturbed me for obvious reasons but especially since we were travelling with two toddlers. Anyone with small children knows a dirty tub is not an acceptable, sanitary way to clean and care for them. Additionally the shower head was not detachable so we couldn’t even give them a shower with their swim shoes on to protect their feet. The management at the front desk was immediately notified of this issue on Monday evening. After a half hour passed and no one came to the room or called. I called a second time and was told the ‘maintenance guy” left for the day and he would come first thing in the morning. Tuesday morning comes and goes and no “maintenance guy”. Several trips to the front desk and phone calls were fruitless since no one arrived until after 10 am. The front desk at this point reported that they were unaware of a problem in our room (#62) but would send someone to look once she “settled down”. An hour later someone arrived and spent 45 minutes trying to snake out our tub. It didn’t work and he says that he will return with acid to clear the drain. He did not return. The next morning I contacted the desk again and spoke with the manager “Sandy” about our situation. She tells me the “real maintenance guy” was off the previous day and she will send him today. Perry showed up quickly and was very pleasant. He informed us that this was an ongoing issue and that the owner knows about it and there was a plan to rip out this tub and redo the pipes and grading in the room after the season. There wasn’t anything he could do the clear the drain at this point. So this was an issue and they are still booking this room without hesitation.
At this point I had been bringing two toddlers to various family members’ rooms several times a day to get them cleaned up because our tub was not suitable for washing them. I was annoyed that this issue was known to be occurring when we checked in and instead of appropriately dealing with it and being honest with us we were strung along and treated like idiots expecting that the tub could be fixed. “Sandy’s” solution was that we would have to “deal with it” at this point because the drain could not be fixed. When I asked if there were other rooms available, only then she thought to ask the girl at the computer to check. Of course there were no rooms. No apology, and no sensitivity to the situation. To add insult to the injury, I was called off the beach on Thursday afternoon b/c the front desk was trying to check someone into our room and was wondering why we were still there. Our check out date was for Friday. After packing up my children and dragging them from the beach to the reception area, the front desk told me, that Sandy had given the keys to room #61 to someone and they assumed that it was us and that we had moved into this room the day before. What?! The incompetence, lack of communication, complete disregard for the guests’ time, money, and convenience is simply unacceptable. With this attitude to put no effort to satisfy on even the lowest level we left feeling duped and will certainly not be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms by the beach are nicest and a beautiful location but lots of families so you have to be mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manhattan beach, ca
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a great place for family down time.
We love the low-key facilities. If you need luxe amenities, then this place is definitely not for you.

Its right on the beach and the ocean front units have their own BBQ grill.
There's a pool, tennis court and simple activities room which are all great for kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have been coming to Driftwood for years, and it just keeps getting better and better. The location next to Hither Hills is unmatched, as you have 2 miles of private protected secluded beach right next door if you want to get away. We stayed in the same room as always, #11, which is hands down the best room in the hotel. Newly renovated this year, all new appliances, loads of outlets, beautiful stone and tile work, dishwasher, huge fridge, gorgeous bathroom, better than our home! And open the back door and you are on the dunes leading to the beach! Room 11 is the closest room in the entire property to the beach. This is the best property in the entire east end, and room 11 is the best room. You can't go wrong!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 11, it is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrvlr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
4.8 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#1 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
4.9 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood on the Ocean

Property: Driftwood on the Ocean
Address: 2178 Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montauk
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Driftwood on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driftwood Resort, where family-friendly accommodations, supreme amenities and exceptional service come together to create a first-class experience. A beachfront resort just minutes from the famous Montauk Point Lighthouse and steps from the Atlantic Ocean, our resort on the pristine Amagansett Napeague strip sits on picturesque grounds, offers panoramic ocean vistas and is conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Driftwood on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood On The Ocean Hotel Montauk
Driftwood On The Ocean Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing