We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best year ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Driftwood on the Ocean
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Parksley, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best year ever”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The place was very clean, the people very friendly and helpful. Easy access to the beach, with the boys at the beach to get chairs (very accomadating!). Overall, very happy. Great beach restaurant within walking distance. All the other guests very friendly. The pool, playground, basketball and tennis were an added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    41
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
46
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I have been taking my kids to Montauk and the Jersey shore for years so we can visit family and get some days on the beach. This by FAR a great place to spend quality time with family/friends and create memories.

Driftwood is NOT a resort but a fantastic little gem of a beach 'community' that is close to Montauk restaurants and shops but far enough away to avoid the madness that exists there. We stayed the week of the 4th and while the weather was hit or miss for a few days, we still had tons to do there. Rooms are spacious and clean, and daily maid service was prompt and unobtrusive.

The beach is just over the dunes and anytime I can get to the ocean without crossing a road, I'm all about it! Attendants provide beach chairs and umbrellas as well as towels. Many other places in town do not provide this and you will appreciate not having to bring or purchase towels for your own use as some places require.

Beach is secluded and adjacent to Hither Hills State Park. One evening we even saw about 5 deer on the beach just out for a stroll.

Staff was all super friendly. The negative reviews on Driftwood were pretty funny and not terribly accurate. Well worth the price of admission. We will be back here again next year!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$ and opt for a room on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We're mainly interested in the beach and an updated attractive efficiency unit. We got that and so much more! Our rm was delightful. As with many places in Mtk, rms are not all cookie cutter, so ask for a renovated rm and anything else that's impt before you book. You ask, you get! We had a 2 rm oceanfront eff with comfy king bed....Family oriented, lots to do .....gorgeous heated pool, shuffleboard, fooseball, ping pong, weight rm, tennis ct, basketball, cabana beach service. We were there as a couple and loved it. Thoughtful attention to detail...on ck-in, frig was icy cold and ac on. Manager, Karen is superb...she is patient, professional, accomodating and a genuinely lovely person. Friendly staff. Very clean. Looking forward to our next stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selden, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My Husband and I went with our 2 year old daughter. We booked an oceanfront room with the private deck equipped with a bbq. The 2 room suite was so clean and cozy, we loved it! Everynight we sat outside on the deck and had some wine while we listened to the ocean. Check in & Check out was very smooth and we had guests come hang out by us for the day and they didnt give us any problems with the kids using the pool. The Ocean and beach is beautiful, and they had lounge chairs and umbrellas they put out for you if you wanted. Cyrils across the street is really convenient for some delicouls cocktails and food! I cant wait to go back and bring a bunch of friends & Family to stay there with us! Great time!

Room Tip: Definately worth it to get the oceanfront room, with the outdoor patio/deck area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 366dianad366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Room was very pleasant, overlooking the dunes and ocean. The earlier part of the week, we were the only guests and it was so peaceful and quiet, it was kind of eerie! But even as other guests arrived, it still remained very relaxing. Only critique is that after 7pm there really is no staffing around so make sure you get what you need before then. Staff was very friendly and good daily housekeeping service. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligirl665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hoped to meet other young people, party, do things but place was not that awesome, some people were cool but a lot of kids (forget about the pool if you are NOT a huge fan of 'Marco-Polo' game - all day long) but the beach is good, few bars around are cool. Good place if you are already with big group of friends !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drupio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I booked four nights at this place this past summer, but ended up stay six! I first had a double room but four days in opted to change to a beach front suite with grill/patio extension.

Upon arrival, I---like other reviewers stated too--- was left a key for an early check in---like the front desk attendant promised.

In the morning, upon examining the grounds, i found: the pool is clean and well kept. The staff is very kind and generous but don't hound you so you can relax. There isn't food on hotel grounds except vending machines and menus, but there's a nice funky restaurant across from the hotel with good mixed rum drinks.

In conclusion, the beaches were clean and empty. The beds were comfortable and rooms welcoming. The grounds were well kept and if you want to enjoy the island without the pretensions of the hamptons, this is the place for you. well priced, well kept and just cozy.

p.s. - front desk attendants rock. kind females who help newbies to the montauk.

Room Tip: if in summer, splurge for grill/patio extension. go into town and shop for meats and vegetables for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisMayBeLethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
4.8 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
157 reviews
4.9 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
315 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 39 in Montauk
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood on the Ocean

Property: Driftwood on the Ocean
Address: 2178 Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montauk
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Driftwood on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driftwood Resort, where family-friendly accommodations, supreme amenities and exceptional service come together to create a first-class experience. A beachfront resort just minutes from the famous Montauk Point Lighthouse and steps from the Atlantic Ocean, our resort on the pristine Amagansett Napeague strip sits on picturesque grounds, offers panoramic ocean vistas and is conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood On The Ocean Hotel Montauk
Driftwood On The Ocean Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing