We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montauk Blue Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Wave Inn(Montauk)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Surf Resort(Montauk)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montauk Motel(Montauk)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
139
129
50
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
129
50
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontindoor poolocean beach resortsecond floorkeurig coffee makermini fridgeoff seasoncomfy bedking roomperfect locationstove topshower headmini vacationan ocean view roomwalking distancefront officesound of the waves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel has just undergone renovations but still has a long way to go to get more than an average rating. We were given a second floor room but we had to lug our heavy suitcases up because there isn't an elevator. The room decor was average as was the bathroom. The locks on the doors are so flimsy that a child could figure out how to break in. There were no hair dryers or irons in the rooms. The sheets were not fitted and that made for a long night of tossing and turning and trying to straighten them up.
The location was great - right on the beach and a quick walk into town but I would not stay at this hotel again. There are others close by that could be better.
The worst thing about the room was the horrible sounds that the bathroom next door made when someone was showering. It woke us from a sound sleep twice as the pipes were so loud. It would have wakened the dead. We couldn't have a conversation while the shower next door was running.
All in all, an okay hotel but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and making Montauk Blue Hotel your choice.While reviewing your comments I realize that your experience was less than exceptional and for that I personally apologize.
Rest assured that all the adjustments and the corrections to your written comments are being addressed to enhance our product for your future enjoyment. However, I think I will fall short by not being able to address to your satisfaction the elevator issue, mostly due to the structure limitations of our building and mechanical requirements of an elevator and it's operating equipment.
I truly wished that you had contacted us before while you were our guest, specially as I was in the property during your stay so I could have the chance to resolve some of the issues that you experienced.

Hoping that you give us another opportunity in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just got back, had a nice stay. The hotel is right in town, near the shops and restaurants. The spot was perfect. The hotel room was newly updated not 100% though. The hotel needs more lighting around the grounds, beach area, and parking lot. They need to get a safer lock on the door. They have one lock that was loose. They need to get a new lock and deadbolt to make you feel more secure. There was only 1 small garbage pail in the bathroom. They definately need to put another one in the room. We also found about 8 ants crawling in room for the 2 nights we were there. We had an upstairs Oceanfront which was nice. All and all had a good time!!!

Room Tip: They have a bar in the next hotel if your looking to have a few drinks. Bring some wood to make a campfire on the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cack30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

this was my third stay at OBR currently Montauk Blue as well as my third review. The rooms have been totally renovated. Upon entering the room one feels good to see all the changes, i would call it "early IKEA", new carpeting, TV, Bathroom, amenities, pullout couch... oops!! what happened,? why not upgrade the bedding to King size? After all the room has the space for it, the night tables are useless, and the space could have been used to install a King Size bed. Further, the sheets are not fitted, and they pull out in the middle of the night.
As a result i slept terribly both nights.. and i paid 30% more per night for these upgrades, yet the most important upgrade fell short... thus why not go all the way?
The property is right on the beach, it has an indoor pool kept at nice warm pish temperature, as well as a jacuzzi..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NISIN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel P, Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you have made this hotel your choice for lodging in Montauk as Montauk Blue Hotel, the same way that you did Ocean Beach Resort in the past.
I want to let you know that we take your comments with interest and that your input will derive the pertinent corrections to make our Hotel an even better place for you to enjoy in the near future.
Thank you again for your observations and please visit us again this summer.

Sincerely
Gabriel Perez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We love Montauk. Just got back from a three night stay. (Special was 2 nights get 1 free) We were at Ocean Beach two summers ago and enjoyed it very much. The location is fantastic. Right on the beach. Walk to town and some restaurants. The rooms are very nicely updated. Cleaning staff is terrific. Ample towels, pillows, small refrigerator kept things cold. We enjoy the second floor - no foot traffic. The only complaints that we have are security issues: the patio doors had no screens and did not lock. There is a piece of wood that you wedge in the track to prevent the doors from being opened. Also, as safe as a place can be, the push button lock is almost like not having a lock on the door at all. One hard push is all it takes. There should definitely be a dead bolt on the door and at the very least, a chain lock that you can put on at night. There should also be a small safe in the room (maybe in the cabinet or the closet) so that you can safely lock up your valuables. Hopefully, these few things will eventually be added and we really believe they are necessary. Not everyone is trustworthy. Will definitely be back again and hope the security issues will be dealt with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Formerly the Ocean Beach Resort, The new Montauk Blue Hotel is updated and quite nice. From what I read, it reopened on May 23, about 5 days before we arrived for our stay so I definitely must give them a pass on these issues and thank them for a great stay. The Good: Room was clean, newly renovated and quite contemporary in taste. The King size bed was firm and new as well with good bedding and a great maid who kept the room fresh. The sliding doors opened to a private deck that was 150 feet from the ocean and beach (access to the beach was only 5 feet away). Absolutely great location (2 blocks from town). We definitely will come back here. The Not so Good: These are VERY minimal but necessary to state in hopes that they can be rectified: (1) Our screen door on the patio was torn so at night, flying insects can make their way in. (2) The next few go to "security". I know this is Montauk, but guests of the hotel are not necessarily from Montauk and every town has an issue with petit larceny. To this end, new door knobs with better locks and deadbolts should be installed so you can feel confident that your personal items are better secured (all rooms open to an exterior walkway) (3) in room safes would be a plus (4) ironing boards would be welcome - they front desk only had irons to use and we borrowed one (5) better locks on the sliding door (with a ground floor unit, there was no way to secure the door partially opened so we could enjoy the sounds of the waves crashing against the beach. I set up the two coffee tables as a makeshift burglar alarm in case someone came through the open door - it worked (6) In-room information about the hotel (with numbers for the front desk and housekeeping), the WIFI password, and information about the town and Montauk in general. The smart-phone helped with these, but the room should be set-up for those without the gadgets. (7) More vending and ice machines. I didn't see any (8) During the busy season, you'll notice a 3 or 4 night minimum stay requirement - this may be acceptable practice in the area, but I found it to be a bit annoying so I chose to go the week right after memorial day. As I said, these issues would not prevent me from returning and, if you're going to spend a mint to come to Montauk, at least Montauk Blue is newer than the others.

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean Front King room... first floor. There's no elevator so if you take a second floor room, make sure your suitcase is light or you'll be dragging it up the exterior stairs in the rain. The first floor will give you the ocean on your doorstep, however, you may notice people walking past your room to get to their own decks and sliding door entrances.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews