We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically a Box on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basically a Box on the beach”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was a box on the beach. Convenient, but you don't want to spend too much time on the room.

I have stayed at a few places along the Amagansett, Montauk coastline so I figured I would try Wavecrest. Luckily I relied on TripAdvisor so I knew what I might be walking into. Low expectations were met. The beach towels were terrible. As someone described the towels, they scratched your skin.

Most of the staff was nice and very helpful. However, the guys working the towels and chairs at the beach were awful. They drive the 4x4 all over the beach, all day long ruining a quiet day on the beach. The other resorts carry/drag he chairs and are much more relaxing.

It seems everyone who works at the resort has a 4x4 and drives it everywhere. Maybe if they delivered the sheets, towels and cleaning supplies all at once they would be able to walk around.

The room was clean but very damp. The room has a de-humidifier that is very loud. But there was some black mold on the doorjam in the bathroom. The maintenance guy repaired it when he heard about it, but what was the housekeeper doing? . Also, the garbage can under the sink was full AFTER we checked in.

The closet was in the bathroom, which made it tough to get dressed and means the clothes in the closet get damp from the shower.

The guests seem to be a party crowd and swear so much I felt like I was back in the Army. You could hear them over the balcony, on the beach. My friend even moved away from people on the beach because she was so offended.

Basically, the location is great but if you can afford something else I would recommend you go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYHavingFunNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    54
    39
    26
    20
See reviews for
77
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in a studio oceanfront room in July. Fully renovated with a big king bed, kitchenette and sofa. The room was spacious, the deck was front row seat to the ocean! Couldn't beat this. We've gone to Wavecrest on and off for 16 years. They have improved the rooms, kept them clean and cared for, and the property can't be beat with regard to being on the ocean. We will return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Room 105 was fully renovated suite with direct ocean front deck and king size bed with sleep sofa in living room. The staff made check in and out a breeze. I decided to go back in late August for rest and relaxation at it's own beach...replete with complementary lounges and umbrellas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Room had great view of lovely beach, but room smelled awful. Pillows smelled of body odor. Bring your own beach towels, as the ones they have are good for an infant! We were up all night as our room was near a walkway, so we heard footsteps til 2 am and then again at 6 am. Good to get back home! Only stay in top level rooms.......and take your allergy meds as air in rooms will have you sneezing all night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is my second stay at Wavecrest. We luckily had an updated room. It was clean and pleasant with a nice view of the ocean.
There are a lot of steps to get to your room, glad I only had one bag. The towels were one degree better than the ones we had in Ethiopia, they should really update them. It was convenient to our friends house so it worked, but certainly
No bargain.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stealthcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed at this particular hotel 4 times. We have always gone for a girls getaway but this time around we decided to bring our families. We have always been very pleased with the studio room. Being that I came with my family, we got the one bedroom suite in the overlook building. The room was very disappointing. We had very old furnishings, very old décor, and the walls and floors were buckling from the heat. I have a small baby and the smell was musty not the best for a small baby. My friend and her family on the other hand, were in a beautifully updated room in the same area, for the same price. We love the wavecrest for its location, beach, views, and atmosphere. I also love that the beach provides towels, chairs, and umbrellas. The bbq area is great and the hotel allows bonfires on the beach. We would stay again but will definitely express the need for an updated room. I am rating this room so high based upon prior visits and our overall trip to Montauk. The room this time around was really subpar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dme57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Oceanfront good. Built on a mountain, not so good. The beach is a long way from the rooms and one way is UPHILL!. The sound of the ocean is tempting, but be sure you've used the bathroom first. The rooms are inconsistently decorated, I didn't mind mine. But it was faaaaaaaaar from the beach.
The indoor (why?) pool was ok, but......it closes at 6. No night swimming with the family here. The gentleman that oversees the pool was wonderful.
The main BBQ area by the pool was nice. The deck, lounges and tables were nice. Again, far from some rooms though.
Very nice cleaning crews, pool staff and chair guys. Reservations, not so much.

Overall, this could be a gem, but there are some strange caveats. Bring your beach wheels if you go instead of lugging your things back and forth.

Go to town. You'll really like it and the kids will love the dips in the road.

Room Tip: I've heard the corner rooms are bigger. Ask for a lower floor for just a bit less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOfFour08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
1.5 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#21 of 39 in Montauk
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
5.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
529 reviews
3.7 mi away
Surf Club Resort
Surf Club Resort
#9 of 39 in Montauk
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Property: Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Address: 170 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5049
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Oceanfront Hotel Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing