We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location at affordable rates!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
North Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location at affordable rates!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I took a quick anniversary getaway to Montauk the week before Memorial Weekend. We wanted to stay at the beach but didn't want to spend a lot of money doing so. We came upon the Wavecrest and decided to book a room in the beach dunes building. This building is right at the edge of the beach. The beach is amazingly clean, quiet and private. Wavecrest offers chairs and towels. The towels are very small so bring your own if you want to lay down on the beach comfortably and the chairs get stowed back at 5pm so keep that in mind.

As for the room, it was spacious with microwave, refrigerator, gas and even utensils. The coffee maker was a bit old and dirty. The decor is very soothing and and the room was very clean. The beds are semi-comfortable. I would highly recommend you ask for an updated room and some rooms are really old. If the beach dune rooms are out of your budget, I recommend you stay in the Overlook building which has nice views of endless beach and updated rooms.

Overall, this was a great deal and almost $700 cheaper than to stay at Gurney's next door. Downtown Montauk is about 10 minutes via car and Montauk Light house about 20 minutes.

Bottomline...if you want to stay at the beach and dont care for a lot of luxuries like having a restaurant on site then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask for updated rooms and confirm at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adios2takkfyrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    54
    39
    26
    20
See reviews for
77
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntingt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

A nice price for the Montauk area but you get what you pay for. Room seemed clean until you look under the covers! There were copious amounts of Unkown types stains and hairs on the "clean" sheets. The glasses supplied in the room for drinks smelled like fecal matter. We were not able to complain to any staff member because the office was closed for the night. We packed our bags, dropped the keys in their mailbox and went up the road for a much cleaner hotel stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Pleasantly surprised.

We booked this from Toronto based on other reviews from Trip Advisor. Per someone else’s suggestion, we specifically booked room 122 in the beach dune building. It was a renovated room and right on the beach – just perfect!

You can watch the sun rise from the balcony. There are 2 high top chairs to sit in as well as 2 lounge chairs (although a little bit of acrobatics is required if you both want to sit on the lounge chairs and face the beach  ), but totally manageable. The room has a little fridge and sink and dishes and a great bathroom/shower! Totally happy with the room.

The only drawback was having another room above us. They were very loud walkers, so you might want to seek out a room that has been renovated on the 2nd floor of the beach dune building.

The beach is amazing! Very romantic walking along the beach. And the homes/resorts are spectacular!

Highly recommend the place for “a room” on the beach.

Room Tip: make sure you get a reno'd room. apparently some are real pits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YOURFUNNYGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I announced several weeks ago, "We are taking one last family vacation! A week-end in Montauk!" Our son will graduate from High School in June, our daughter will be entering an intense medical program of study in September--this would be our last get-away for quite some time. Days later, our daughter had invited her boy friend and our son had informed us there was NO WAY he could get off from work. And so, two couples--one in their 50s and one in their 20s--showed up at the Wavecrest Resort. Friends of ours who live in Montauk had suggested we go there. When I called to make the reservations for Veterans Day Week-end, I was surprised there were no "great deals" to be had. As such, I booked the least expensive room for the "kids" and splurged on the more expensive room for us.

An avid reader of TripAdvisor, I knew to ask for the updated rooms. Our daughter arrived an hour before us, and had her script. However, upon giving her name, she was told she had been "upgraded" to the Overlook...the same building we were in, and there would be no more upgrades. When my husband and I arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to be told we had been misquoted the prices over the phone, and owed far less than was expected. You have to give big kudos to a hotel who does this--as we had already agreed to pay the higher price.

We drove to the Overlook Building. The outside is no great shakes. It most assuredly is not the "best" building on site, as the buildings right on the beach appear to be much more desirable. You walk into a decent-sized bedroom with a bathroom to the West and then into another room with a kitchenette, sofas, and dining area. The best part? The whole South wall is windows and a sliding glass door...with an absolutely breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The slider opens onto a patio...and even during the first week of November, it was warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the view without a heavy jacket. Our rooms could have used some updating (well-worn sofas, pull out bed in need of replacement), but they were CLEAN and very comfortable.

CONS: The towels suck...they definitely need to replace the towels and wash them with fabric softener. I could see how on-season it would be a peeve to have to walk down flights of stairs to get to the beach. The only paper goods in the room was toilet paper...no tissues, paper towels, or napkins. The resort advertised an indoor pool, but it was closed. Tripadvisor had warned us we had to bring our own shampoos, etc.--but why not offer them?

PROS: The view!!!! The rooms afford a panoramic view of an outstanding degree 24/7. We are always wary of spending time in "summer resorts" off season because we have frozen multiple times--but the heat was fantastic and kept the room very cozy. The bed was extremely comfortable. Having a refrigerator, oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, etc. just lends oneself to feeling at home right away.

Overall, given the price we paid for both rooms, we were extremely satisfied. We traditionally stay at another resort in Montauk off-season, but it is safe to say we have found a new "home" at Wavecrest. We drove home relaxed and refreshed!

Room Tip: It appears most rooms have a fantastic ocean view. If you want to be closer to the water or ensured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We just spent three days in the water' sedge unit on the second floor. I read reviews and knew to ask for a newly renovated room. When we walked in we were pleasantly surprised. The kitchen was updated, great Murphy bed, newly renovated bathroom, all updated decor. Even my husband commented on how nice and clean it was,which he rarely notices. We were very pleased and cannot wait for next year. Only suggestion..if you have a difficult time climbing stairs the second floor is not for you. P.s. The heated indoor pool was a delightful treat on a cold rainy fall day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I checked into the hotel on October 17th 2013 to find an awful smell. Thought it was just musty from being closed up for a while. We opened all doors and windows and tried to air it out. Still had a bad odor. I pulled down the bed and found filthy dirty sheets with stains and long black hairs. I immediately called the front desk and they sent a maid to change the sheets. That same night the light went out in the bathroom. We were told it was fixed only to find out they they shut the circuit breaker so we came back to the room we had no lights at all. We had to call emergency number because office closes at 5pm. We then waited for them to come to fix the problem again. The next day it still had a bad odor. My husband pulled out the refrigerator and found 2 dead mice behind it with the poison that the hotel put there. Do you think they would check the room before they rented it to anyone especially knowing they had this problem. I would never stay at this filthy place again. They did not even apologize to us.
P

Room Tip: RDon't stay herer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bella824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Yes, the rooms are expensive, but you're paying for the location. You are right on the beach!
We were in Water's Edge, and the room was definitely outdated, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. Staff was fine, no complaints there. I'd go back, except I'd be sure to request a more updated room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
1.5 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#20 of 39 in Montauk
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
5.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
527 reviews
3.7 mi away
Surf Club Resort
Surf Club Resort
#9 of 39 in Montauk
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Property: Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Address: 170 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5049
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Oceanfront Hotel Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort Montauk, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing