We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Vista Resort(Amagansett)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers MTK(Montauk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
62
54
39
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
54
39
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolpanorama buildinghither hillsfood truckstate parkstove microwavecomplimentary beach chairs and umbrellasprivate beachoffice staffresort staffcorner roomthis past septemberprovide chairsdeck overlooking the oceanfall weekendsliding glass doorcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed there during Montauk Music Festival-after a great day and evening enjoying the music,came back to room and pulled back the bed spread. What we found would disgust you-thats right fresh blood stains(not ours) on the sheets. Management office was closed, so what to do, put towels over blood spot and had a restless night sleep.Spoke with office following morning, they apologized and had sheets changed right away. Upon checkout advised them that we we should recieve some credit for first night. They gave us the managers name and tel#. After much corresponding we have yet to receive any credit-WE WILL NEVER GO BACK

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I took a quick anniversary getaway to Montauk the week before Memorial Weekend. We wanted to stay at the beach but didn't want to spend a lot of money doing so. We came upon the Wavecrest and decided to book a room in the beach dunes building. This building is right at the edge of the beach. The beach is amazingly clean, quiet and private. Wavecrest offers chairs and towels. The towels are very small so bring your own if you want to lay down on the beach comfortably and the chairs get stowed back at 5pm so keep that in mind.

As for the room, it was spacious with microwave, refrigerator, gas and even utensils. The coffee maker was a bit old and dirty. The decor is very soothing and and the room was very clean. The beds are semi-comfortable. I would highly recommend you ask for an updated room and some rooms are really old. If the beach dune rooms are out of your budget, I recommend you stay in the Overlook building which has nice views of endless beach and updated rooms.

Overall, this was a great deal and almost $700 cheaper than to stay at Gurney's next door. Downtown Montauk is about 10 minutes via car and Montauk Light house about 20 minutes.

Bottomline...if you want to stay at the beach and dont care for a lot of luxuries like having a restaurant on site then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask for updated rooms and confirm at check in!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adios2takkfyrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A nice price for the Montauk area but you get what you pay for. Room seemed clean until you look under the covers! There were copious amounts of Unkown types stains and hairs on the "clean" sheets. The glasses supplied in the room for drinks smelled like fecal matter. We were not able to complain to any staff member because the office was closed for the night. We packed our bags, dropped the keys in their mailbox and went up the road for a much cleaner hotel stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Pleasantly surprised.

We booked this from Toronto based on other reviews from Trip Advisor. Per someone else’s suggestion, we specifically booked room 122 in the beach dune building. It was a renovated room and right on the beach – just perfect!

You can watch the sun rise from the balcony. There are 2 high top chairs to sit in as well as 2 lounge chairs (although a little bit of acrobatics is required if you both want to sit on the lounge chairs and face the beach  ), but totally manageable. The room has a little fridge and sink and dishes and a great bathroom/shower! Totally happy with the room.

The only drawback was having another room above us. They were very loud walkers, so you might want to seek out a room that has been renovated on the 2nd floor of the beach dune building.

The beach is amazing! Very romantic walking along the beach. And the homes/resorts are spectacular!

Highly recommend the place for “a room” on the beach.

Room Tip: make sure you get a reno'd room. apparently some are real pits!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YOURFUNNYGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I announced several weeks ago, "We are taking one last family vacation! A week-end in Montauk!" Our son will graduate from High School in June, our daughter will be entering an intense medical program of study in September--this would be our last get-away for quite some time. Days later, our daughter had invited her boy friend and our son had informed us there was NO WAY he could get off from work. And so, two couples--one in their 50s and one in their 20s--showed up at the Wavecrest Resort. Friends of ours who live in Montauk had suggested we go there. When I called to make the reservations for Veterans Day Week-end, I was surprised there were no "great deals" to be had. As such, I booked the least expensive room for the "kids" and splurged on the more expensive room for us.

An avid reader of TripAdvisor, I knew to ask for the updated rooms. Our daughter arrived an hour before us, and had her script. However, upon giving her name, she was told she had been "upgraded" to the Overlook...the same building we were in, and there would be no more upgrades. When my husband and I arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to be told we had been misquoted the prices over the phone, and owed far less than was expected. You have to give big kudos to a hotel who does this--as we had already agreed to pay the higher price.

We drove to the Overlook Building. The outside is no great shakes. It most assuredly is not the "best" building on site, as the buildings right on the beach appear to be much more desirable. You walk into a decent-sized bedroom with a bathroom to the West and then into another room with a kitchenette, sofas, and dining area. The best part? The whole South wall is windows and a sliding glass door...with an absolutely breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The slider opens onto a patio...and even during the first week of November, it was warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the view without a heavy jacket. Our rooms could have used some updating (well-worn sofas, pull out bed in need of replacement), but they were CLEAN and very comfortable.

CONS: The towels suck...they definitely need to replace the towels and wash them with fabric softener. I could see how on-season it would be a peeve to have to walk down flights of stairs to get to the beach. The only paper goods in the room was toilet paper...no tissues, paper towels, or napkins. The resort advertised an indoor pool, but it was closed. Tripadvisor had warned us we had to bring our own shampoos, etc.--but why not offer them?

PROS: The view!!!! The rooms afford a panoramic view of an outstanding degree 24/7. We are always wary of spending time in "summer resorts" off season because we have frozen multiple times--but the heat was fantastic and kept the room very cozy. The bed was extremely comfortable. Having a refrigerator, oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, etc. just lends oneself to feeling at home right away.

Overall, given the price we paid for both rooms, we were extremely satisfied. We traditionally stay at another resort in Montauk off-season, but it is safe to say we have found a new "home" at Wavecrest. We drove home relaxed and refreshed!

Room Tip: It appears most rooms have a fantastic ocean view. If you want to be closer to the water or ensured that your room is upgraded, ask for it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews