We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Ranked #1 of 2 Montgomery B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bangor ME
Level Contributor
497 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice try”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

There was nothing really wrong with the Borland House, it just wasn't quite as polished as many of the other bed and breakfasts that we have found through Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
117
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Only an hour and a half drive from the city, Borland house is a peaceful and comfortable escape. The food was great, including fresh-baked cookies in the afternoons! The house itself is a carefully maintained and charming building from the 1800s. But, as with any B&B, the true charm was the hosts -- Carol and Bill took great care of us. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance, and plenty of things to do within a short drive. This was our first visit, but definitely not our last.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Bill & Carol made us feel so at home in their beautiful house after our long trip from London. I was visiting friends in Montgomery & booked last minute when my wife was able to join me. It was very important to me that the accommodation was clean & comfortable & that my wife felt at home, which we were. The rooms are spacious, comfortable & well furnished. Bill's 3 course breakfast was delicious & is not to be missed.
My sister also decided to join us & Bill made a room ready at the last minute.
We ate at the Back Yard Bistro as recommended by Bill & Carol, which was wonderful & also gave us a discount on our food & accommodation. We only stayed a couple of nights, our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer.
We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjsracer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My entire family stayed at the Borland House for several days during West Point graduation weekend. We loved it! The house is absolutely beautiful and the breakfasts were fantastic. Bill and Carol provided us with helpful information to make our stay in Montgomery especially enjoyable. The town is especially charming and restaurants in the area are very good. It is one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed at - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We just returned from a wonderful family vacation in the Hudson Valley. Our stay at The Borland House was one of the high points of our trip. Bill and Carol are wonderful hosts. Our family all eat in a different way. There is one vegan, one vegetarian, one member who doesn't eat red meat and one member who eats everything. Bill and Carol graciously accommodated our eating habits at the terrific breakfasts. They acted as if it was no trouble at all (it must have been). They also cleaned our rooms each day of our stay, not usually the case at a B & B. The house itself is beautiful and elegantly furnished. The town of Montgomery is delightful and is located near excellent restaurants, museums, and nature preserves. Bill and Carol are extremely well informed about the area and are glad to share their knowledge. My family and I all agree - this B & B can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were traveling from Washington, DC to Montreal and wanted to spend the night half way through the trip. Borland House fit the bill and we were extremely pleased with our selection. The B & B is located in a very small town with several antique shops and even more restaurants. The house is extremely charming with large comfortable rooms and warm, welcoming hosts. We enjoyed wine on the veranda in the evening and had an excellent, delicious breakfast before continuing our trip. We certainly recommend Borland house.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbf612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I visit relatives in Montgomery, and now we know where we'll be staying on every future visit! The Borland House is a treasure in the quaint town, which was always charming and seems to be perking up with new restaurants and businesses these days.
We stayed in the Isabella Room, which is the oldest part of the house, and is a private suite unto itself, with a private entrance. The bedroom and bathroom were so perfectly furnished with anything we might need, that it made sense when Bill told us that once a year, he and Carol pack a bag and stay in each room. This attention to detail is evident in every aspect of the Borland House. From the gorgeous detail of the house itself, to the delicious breakfast, to the hosts' friendliness, this one has it all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
8.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 9 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
8.8 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borland B&B & Brunch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borland B&B & Brunch House

Property: The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Address: 130 Clinton St, Montgomery, NY 12549
Region: United States > New York > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Borland B&B & Brunch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borland House is a gracious 18th Century Greek Revival home with a focus on gourmet food. Our accommodations combine comfort, elegance, warmth and something special for the gourmand. Chef Anna, trained in Southern France, has created a special place with a focus on farm-to-table comfort food even creating a backyard farm and orchard. From just enjoying the full sit down breakfast in the Brunch House Restaurant on the Main Floor of the House, to the options of adding on gourmet 3-5 course dinners or cooking classes, the Borland House has a uniqueness you won't find anywhere else. Choose from among our spacious Hanlon and Montgomery rooms with fireplaces and a sitting area to our cozy Isabella Room or newly renovated Artist Wing Rooms (the only rooms that share a bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Borland B&B & Brunch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing