We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience Par Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Ranked #1 of 2 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2008

A year ago we had the unique pleasure of spending a night at Borland House, in Montgomery, New York. The house is lovely architecturally, which the owners have respected and treated sensitively. Bedrooms were large and comfortable, as were the baths. Breakfast was a taste treat indeed -- imaginative and sumptuous. The apricot freeze was dynamite!! Most delightful were the owners, Carol and Bill, as we shared experiences over a glass of wine the evening of our stay. They recommended a fine restaurant to us; and we tucked in comfortably and slept perfectly after a long day (10 hours) of driving. On departing, we visited Carol's shop, attached, and found numerous antique treasures to augment our household inventory. We found this an extremely welcoming stop and recommend it highly.

Ellie C. and Rick R.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oriole51008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2008

My fiancee and I spent 2 nights with Carol and Bill and immediately felt like we were part of their extended family.

Everything about our visit was wonderful and it created some special memories we will cherish throughout our entire lives.

Thanks Carol and Bill!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Good_Life__1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

When big hotels are talking about “creating the experience” they’re probably trying to achieve what Bill and Carol have down to the perfection at the Borland House. Everything from our first contact with them to the minute we walked out of the door was perfect. I mean – it was perfect, if I had some magic software that allows editing reality there would be no need to change anything. Bill and Carol made us feel absolutely at home from the first second and recommended a perfect restaurant nearby. When we came back, we were hanging out in the perfectly decorated living room downstairs when Carol stopped by to chat with us, so we had a nightcap of a perfect conversation before retiring for the night on perfectly soft sheets. The breakfast was as tasty and filling as it was aesthetically pleasing and entertaining (I won’t tell all the details so y’all may be pleasantly surprised when you’re there).

The verdict – A bed and breakfast the way it should be.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeriouslyMinded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Four retired nurses stayed four nights at the Borland House in the Artists Annex. Carol and Bill Freeman really made us feel at home, including clearing off the dining table so we could play a raucous game of bridge in the late evening. They heard some of our stories, we heard some of theirs. They went out of their way to find answers for our questions. An excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesMoinesNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Stayed at the Borland in June 07, and i can honestly say it is one of the best B+B we have ever stayed in, Bill and Carol are two of the loveliest people we have met, and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are gorgeous, and the rooms are beautiful and also very clean,(the sheets on the bed are wonderful and soft). The whole house is full of antiques and very tastefully decorated throughout.
We went to the Wards Bridge Inn for a meal and the food is lovely and the staff are very welcoming.
On the whole we throughly enjoyed our stay at the Borland and would recommend it to anyone! we will go back there one day, i just hope it's soon.
Thank you Bill and Carol for a wonderful stay and for making us so welcome in your home.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank annjugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

This is the first time we stayed in a B&B and we have a great experience. The hosts were very nice and accommodating. The place is close to good restaurants,church,parks and etc. Good breakfast and clean sheets(i agree with the other person who gave a review before).

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank brownpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

The Borland House is a beautiful B&B, in a great location in a beautiful historic village, has the cleanest sheets I've ever experienced away from home, is beautifully decorated, and the breakfast was truly delicious!!! Carol and Bill are a lovely couple, and made us feel right at home. We will definitely return. Great romantic get-away for couples.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveTravel22NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
17.6 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,047 reviews
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
469 reviews
24.1 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Montgomery Maybrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borland B&B & Brunch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borland B&B & Brunch House

Address: 130 Clinton St, Montgomery, NY 12549-1102
Region: United States > New York > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: £80 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Borland B&B & Brunch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borland House is a gracious 18th Century Greek Revival home with a focus on gourmet food. Our accommodations combine comfort, elegance, warmth and something special for the gourmand. Chef Anna, trained in Southern France, has created a special place with a focus on farm-to-table comfort food even creating a backyard farm and orchard. From just enjoying the full sit down breakfast in the Brunch House Restaurant on the Main Floor of the House, to the options of adding on gourmet 3-5 course dinners or cooking classes, the Borland House has a uniqueness you won't find anywhere else. Choose from among our spacious Hanlon and Montgomery rooms with fireplaces and a sitting area to our cozy Isabella Room or newly renovated Artist Wing Rooms (the only rooms that share a bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Borland B&B & Brunch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing