We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borland B&B & Brunch House
Ranked #1 of 2 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at the Borland House while on the hunt for wedding venues, and the experience was wonderful. The house is adorable and centrally located, breakfast was great, the town is cute, and it's very clear the super-friendly hosts Bill and Carol genuinely care about the experience. Beyond the normal B&B services, they go the extra mile with freshly baked cookies, a wide range of teas, port and chocolate mints in your room, great restaurant recommendations, air purifiers, a dvd collection, and an offer on a glass of wine. All in all a lovely and highly recommended place. If you eat dinner in the neighborhood definitely hit up the Backyard Bistro 1.4 miles away (2mn drive) - it's delicious, creative, reasonably priced farm-to-table food that impresses, and we're hard-core NYC foodies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at Borland House one night en route to Woodstock, NY. We anticipated just a stop-over but found a richer experience. The house is elegant, comfortable, and well-appointed without the gewgaws cluttering so many B&B properties. The breakfast, prepared by Bill, (Bill and Carol were our hosts) was brilliant and reflected his culinary classes in France. Carol has a charming antique store on premises specializing in French treasures, especially enamels. We shared a glass of wine and fascinating conversation with our hosts followed by an excellent dinner in a local Italian restaurant. We would definitely recommend this jewel to anyone passing through or as a base for exploring the countryside.

Room Tip: we booked the Montgomery room - spacious and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

All was good at the Borland House. From food to hospitality to accommodations. Carol and Bill were the perfect hosts. My fiance and I even had time to relax on the porch for a sunset picnic. My son joined us, it was our first B and B experience and what a good one. I would highly recommend this home and a trip to the nearby wineries too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This would be a great location for a relaxing or romantic long-weekend in a great part of New York. Very welcoming hosts, great breakfasts, nice rooms, and a good location in the village of Montgomery. Really, everything you want in a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Bill and Carol did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable - up to and including wrapping my flowers so they survived our trip home. The three course breakfasts were amazing - gourmet food beautifully presented. The room was large and lovely and included a very comfortable queen sized bed. Everywhere you looked there was something beautiful, interesting or fun. We would highly recommend staying here. You will leave refreshed, relaxed and feeling that you have been graciously entertained.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I recently spent an overnight at the Borland House and left feeling so relaxed; it felt like we had enjoyed the Freemans' hospitality for a full weekend. Bill and Carol are delightful innkeepers, filled with knowledge of the area. They provide personal touches to make your stay special, while honoring your personal space. The food at the inn is scrumptious and the historic village of Montgomery offers other opportunities for great food, short walks, and enjoyable shoppes. Our stay was everything we had hoped for. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were clean and inviting.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Wonderful find in Montgomery! The Borland House Bed and Breakfast!!
I booked a surprise birthday stay for my girlfriend for some much needed R&R and from start to finish this was a wonderful experience. Carol was extremely helpful while I got my bearings on the village of Montgomery. We were greeted by Bill upon arrival. He gave us a brief history and tour of the home and provided some spot on dinner recommendations.
We instantly felt comfortable and at home. We stayed in the Montgomery room which is large and cozy at the same time. The home is extremely clean and everything we needed was provided for us. Carol and Bill are very thoughtful and provided us the right amount of support and personal space during our stay in their home. The breakfasts were prepared and served by Carol and Bill. We had amazing food. Definitely an unexpected highlight of our stay. The proprietors have set the bar for any future B&B stays. I highly recommend the Borland House for an easy relaxing time in Montgomery.
I feel as if my partner and I now have friends in Montgomery and we look forward to visiting Carol & Bill again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBaldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
8.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
4.6 mi away
Tin Brook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 2 in Goshen
19 reviews
8.8 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
458 reviews
17.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borland B&B & Brunch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borland B&B & Brunch House

Address: 130 Clinton St, Montgomery, NY 12549-1102
Region: United States > New York > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: £155 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Borland B&B & Brunch House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borland House is a gracious 18th Century Greek Revival home with a focus on gourmet food. Our accommodations combine comfort, elegance, warmth and something special for the gourmand. Chef Anna, trained in Southern France, has created a special place with a focus on farm-to-table comfort food even creating a backyard farm and orchard. From just enjoying the full sit down breakfast in the Brunch House Restaurant on the Main Floor of the House, to the options of adding on gourmet 3-5 course dinners or cooking classes, the Borland House has a uniqueness you won't find anywhere else. Choose from among our spacious Hanlon and Montgomery rooms with fireplaces and a sitting area to our cozy Isabella Room or newly renovated Artist Wing Rooms (the only rooms that share a bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Borland B&B & Brunch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing