We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of The Falls Motel

The Falls Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Falls Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The Falls Motel offers basic accomodations - clean, quiet and reasonable prices. The free breakfast is basic too: fresh fruit ( bananas, apples)
Bottled OJ, fresh coffee and cookies/packaged danish.

Sure you can find this at other places, but the owners are very nice and they have a lounge where they serve the best port for only $4!!

That and it's location - a short distance from the track is why we keep coming back.
BUT, if you don't like hard pillows, bring your own.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank czechmateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    36
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
46
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtonville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our two day stay at the Falls Motel affirmed our previous experiences with the property. They are the BEST family run lodging we have ever stayed at. It is clean, quiet, pleasant and so affordable. If you are in the Watkins Glen/Wine Country region, please consider them for your needs. Their Carriage House is a nice addition to the property for food and drinks too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUTCHOGUE
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

There are two sides to every story. The staff at the Falls Motel are as gracious and accommadating as can be. They always go out of their way to be welcoming and agreeable. My guess is that winew0man was the rude, unreasonable one in her story!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank licarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

With Watkins Glen only two minutes away, it's a quiet oasis at the south end of Seneca Lake. Wheather you go for the races, the watersports, the winery tours or just an amble through the fingerlakes, the Falls Motel will welcome you in with clean, quiet rooms and an experienced staff. A meal at the diningroom across the parking lot is a must, with an indoor waterfall. It's really impressive, espcially after a good rain.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank MaryLee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

While planning a trip to Sececa Lake and Watkins Glen, a group of 8 of us were searching for places to stay for the weekend. We chose The Falls Motel for its location and price and were looking forward to our stay. On the website it gave a rate and an extra fee of $10 per extra person for a maximum of 4 people to a double room which was perfect for us to get 2 rooms with an extra fee of $20 per room per night. When I proceded to call to make reservations the woman on the phone immediately was very rude and told me there was absolutely no more than 2 people to a room! I thought that was very odd considering their website states otherwise. When I questioned her website she then became angry and old me basically that their website was not valid and proceded to hang up on me! They obviously are not concerned at all with customer service. I recommend going elsewhere, I can't imagine how they treat you if you do stay. Bad business ethic!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winew0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We are Race Tack fans/participants.
We have been staying at The Falls Motel for more than a dozen years.
The owner and staff take great pride in providing you with clean, comfortable rooms and a friendly environment.
There is a restaurant/lounge on the site and you can just have a nice meal with good company and friendly service for a resonable price.
We have stayed at other venues in the area when we called too late to get a reservation here (it fills up very quickly) and couldn't favorably compare any of our stays to The Falls Motel. Any special needs are graciously taken care of if possible.
The motel is close to the town of Watkins Glen, Watkins Glen Race Track, Watkins Glen State Park and the area wineries and restaurants making it an ideal location for your stay in this area

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BigBdMaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

For a track junkie, this is a real find: starting at $80/room, 4 miles (less than 10 minutes) from the track, this is an unusually beautiful, comfortable motel. The owners (who live on the premises) maintain it so immaculately you would swear it is brand new (it is not at all). The owners are also very accommodating. When I showed up once with a fellow driver (whose camp-at-the-track arrangement had not worked out) they upgraded me from a single to a double room without extra charge. Continental breakfast is included. On the eve of Porsche track days, the parking lot is packed with Porsche's: what better recommendation does one need?

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrewsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montour Falls
9.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,218 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#9 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
128 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anchor Inn And Marina
Anchor Inn And Marina
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Motel

Property: The Falls Motel
Address: 239 N Genesee St, P.O. Box 631, Montour Falls, NY 14865-9703
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Montour Falls
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Hotel Montour Falls
Falls Hotel Montour
The Falls Motel Montour Falls, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing