We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“”. I am already dreaming of the next visit - and hope it can be for even longer.”
Review of Chateau Canet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Canet
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“”. I am already dreaming of the next visit – and hope it can be for even longer.”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We had the wonderful pleasure of two weeks at the Chateau Canet in April. We were warmly greeted by Victoria and her family and given a tour and brief orientation of our accommodation. A bottle of chilled rosé waited for us in the fridge as well as an assortment of other wines (great wines!) available from their winery. We were even lucky enough to get a tour of the winery and a tasting of their wine and olive oil. The apartment was spacious, with comfortable furnishings and lovely fresh linens and towels. The kitchen was adequately stocked with cooking utensils and dishes etc. - the only thing I missed was having an oven. The views from our balcony and the rooms were enticing – olive trees, poppies and vineyards as far as the eye could see. At night the stars were plentiful and it was so quiet – until there was a morning of rain and then that night there was a chorus of frogs and crickets. We found the location to be the perfect jumping off spot for many days of exploring the region – visiting Cathar castles, abbeys, markets, Carcassone and simply drives in the countryside. It was also a wonderful place to just stay at home and go for walks through the vineyards. Victoria was a great source of information about everything and steered us to some wonderful places. Most of all she is a gracious hostess – my cousin gave her the very appropriate title “Chatelaine”. I am already dreaming of the next visit – and hope it can be for even longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at Chateau Cannet for the second time.
The owners are very warm, helpfull and make you feel at home.
Nature is estonishing, the appartments are wonderfull (private, simple but with every convenience).
Our daughter (8) found a friend and played tennis, petangue, football, pingpong etc.
We barbecued several times, had a winetasting, met a lot of people at the central bbq, but could also be on ourselves.
And what we experience as very nostalgic; every morning at 8 fresh croissants hang at the door of the appartment!
I could advise this location for families, couples and also for groups.

Room Tip: I have seen all appartments and advise them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karin36188582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We visited Chateau Canet for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary whilst in the region following a friends wedding. We decided to book Chateau Canet having read other good reviews on Tripadvisor as well as looking at their website.

If you are looking for somewhere to relax out in the beautiful French countryside, then this location is perfect and the scenary will not disappoint. If you enjoy wine, then you really couldn't ask for more!

During our stay we got very lucky with the weather and took full advantage of being able to hire bikes that are available to guests. Victoria kindly provided us with a map and a suggested route according to how energetic we were feeling. We opted for a 3hr leisurely ride that would include a stretch riding along the Canal du midi. We were given directions to the local boulangerie in Badens (on route) to pick up food for a picnic and grabbed a bottle of Chateau Canet's wine to take with us to wash it down with. Victoria even provided us with a picnic backpack that included cutlery, plates and plastic glasses!

On our return from our ride we were treated to a private tasting session of the estates wines. Excluding any bias based on the fact that we loved our time at Chateau Canet, the wines tasted great and are excellent value. (We purchased several bottles to bring home and at our request have since been sent details of their UK distributor.)

In the evening we wanted to find a restaurant to celebrate our anniversary, which we didn't appreciate was more than a little awkward (most restaurants in the area are closed on Monday nights in early October). Luckily Victoria & Marie helped us out and managed to book us a lovely little restaurant with great food.

On the day we were leaving, we were lucky enough to experience the final day of harvesting, so woke up at 7am (although the harvesting started at 4am) to see the wine estate in action. Floris was great and took time out of what was no doubt a hectic schedule to show us what was going on and even direct us to the vineyard where the harvester was in full flow. To our surprise Floris then invited us to climb aboard the harvester whilst it made its last couple of runs up and down the vines - a great and truly unique experience!

Victoria and Floris really looked after us and made our stay a relaxed and enjoyable one. I would highly recommend a visit to Chateau Canet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavanT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Chateau Canet is a special place. Owner of World Class Travel for 27 years and having traveled the world extensively we are hard to impress. Chateu Canet far exceeded out expectations. The intern Marie suggested we visit a neaby village, Caunes Minervois where we were invited into the home of Gilbert Toustou, a charming senior with many stories, enjoyed his fine cuban cigars, great wine and the local liquor Cartagene. We loved the area so much I have already made flight reservations to return next June. Live is great in the South of France and among the best places is Chateau Canet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldClassBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

If traveling this region Carcassonne is a must see and Chateau Canet is the perfect place to stay for your visit. A working winery it has several 'Gites' to accommodate a couple or a family. Whether wanting to just just relax on the premises and enjoy the pool, tennis courts, hikes through the vineyards, biking or to use as a staging ground to tour the region we could not have happened upon the more ideal place. Despite our original plans we found ourselves just relaxing on the property with evening trips to the surrounding areas including the beautiful walled city of Carcassonne. The owners, Vicky and Floris, were wonderful with many great suggestions and wonderful insight into the making of wine which for a novice like me was greatly appreciated. Not being a red wine lover I did really enjoy their Evangiles red wine. Speaking of, the vines for this wine are grown on a unique piece of the property that overlooks the whole estate and makes for a wonderful picnic. The Gites themselves were excellent with all the necessary items to make your stay as self sufficient as you care to be. While just the 2 of us it is clearly a wonderful place for families as well yet still offers the perfect setting to be as social or private as you like. Our gite had a wonderful patio out front nestled amongst the vines growing over the trellis with a view over the property. Charming place with charming hosts at an affordable price. We have already booked our return with friends to stay at 'Chardonnay' their largest gite and plan to use the large 'hall' off the central courtyard which can be enclosed with a newly installed wall of glass doors to protect against the elements.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grtflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordogne, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I agree wholeheartedly with the other reviewers. We stayed in "Merlot" & it suited us perfectly. The little kitchen enabled us to make tea, have breakfast etc. and we relied on Victoria's excellent recommendations for dinners in local restaurants. The area is great-Victoria's booklet of information was very useful and we had a wonderful time exploring the region.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleGee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We stayed at Chateau Canet, Gite Chardonnay, for a week, over new year's eve. Chardonnay exceeded any of our expectation. The house is simply beautiful. Walking in, and the house says 'welcome', with warm colours, beautiful furniture and soft furnishings. All of it maintained to the highest standards by the caring owners, Victoria and Floris The 'private' tour of the winery was unique, and shopping for the favourite wine is made very easy since le caveau is only a few steps away from the gite! We loved our stay so much that we have booked two weeks for the summer...we cannot wait! Booking is very easy, since the owners do take credit cards, unlike so many other gites in France, and both of them speak perfect English. Excellent internet included.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinglizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustiques
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Riverside-Home-Cottage
7.4 mi away
Le Clos de Venes
Le Clos de Venes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Couat-d'Aude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Canet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Canet

Property: Chateau Canet
Address: 11800 Rustiques, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Rustiques
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rustiques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Canet is a traditional and family run wine estate, recognized as one of the leading "domaines" of Minervois, Languedoc-Roussillon. Among the vines and olive plantations you will find a cluster of nine independent cottages all converted from original buildings and the Château itself. Within the grounds you will find plenty to keep the whole family occupied including a swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play room. While on holiday here you can explore the vineyards, hike through miles of private countryside following herb-scented trails or use one of the estate's bikes and venture further afield, along the peaceful country roads surrounding the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Canet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing