We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat for couples, families and friends”
Review of Chateau Canet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Canet
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat for couples, families and friends”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot rate this vineyard more highly. It's quaint, stunning and very relaxing. Run by a friendly, attentive pair. The olive oil and wine produced at the vineyard is delicious. We also enjoyed cycling around the local area and down the canal. The bikes and plenty of advice was provided at the chateau. We look forward to visiting again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4545y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Chateau Canet is a truly beautiful domaine in a gorgeous part of France. We loved this area and hope that we can go back again. Lots to do and see- Carcassonne, the Mediterranean Coast, lovely medieval villages, the canal du midi, I could go on and on! Mainly though, the holiday was made by the people who live and work on the estate. Victoria and Floris are genuinely kind and welcoming, wholly concerned that everything is perfect for their guests. The cottage we stayed in was well equipped and beautifully furnished, particularly the bedroom and bathroom. The facilities available are also excellent - tennis courts, barbecue area, play area (and room) for kids, communal room with freezer and oven, etc. Guests are welcome to wander around the vineyards, worth doing as the views in places are lovely. Do take time to do the wine tasting and tour as it is very informative and interesting. The wine is lovely by the way!

We bought some of the wine and Victoria said it would be nice to drink on a Friday night, perhaps with pizza, and that if I did that on a cold winters night I could dream of being back there. Well, it is only a few short weeks since our visit and I am already doing that Victoria! Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightaandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This review is, regrettably a little late. My husband and I stayed at Chateau Canet for a week in April. We had a superb time. The location, hospitality, wine and accommodations were excellent. The grounds were beautiful and we had several nice walks around the vineyards. We appreciated the fact that the owners were anxious to see that we were comfortable, i.e., on an unexpectedly sunny and warm day, they were quick to provide us with loungers for the terrace. Lots of little things like that make a big difference. Charlotte is precious and is such a beautiful young lady. I hope she is busy taking beautiful photos of Chateau Canet! BTW, the wine is excellent, as well as the olive oil. If my health permits another trip to France, we will most definitely return! Gayle & Paul McGuire

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EquestrianLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just ended a week holiday at Chateau Canet and had a great time. Our cottage was great and the kids loved the spacious bedroom. The vineyard, the wine cellar, swimming pool, playroom for the kids all was wonderful. The most appreciated part however was the service and friendliness of
the owners and their staff. We cannot wait to re-visit Chateau Canet soon hopefully with some better weather!! Keep up the great work Victoria & Floris.

Fam Nugteren

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I just returned from a short stay at Chateau Canet and had a great time. Victoria (and Charlotte) took amazing care of us. Our cottage was beautiful, the vineyard was truly spectacular with a wonderful and informative tour and tasting with Floris ; ) We would go back in a second. I cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meech421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family ended a two week vacation in France with a week long stay at Chateau Canet. It was the perfect way to end our travels. Everything was exceptional from the accommodations to the fresh croissants and baguettes that arrived each morning. Victoria and her team made everything easy. We explored the area on bikes, lounged by the pool, played tennis, learned about wine making and soaked up the history of the region in several day trips in the region. Just the right amount of down time and explore time. We also loved meeting the other guests at Chateau Canet and enjoyed sharing meals and pool time - the kids loved the built in playmates and meeting families from around the world! An incredible and memorable family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Early November in southern France: the weather was not always perfect but the accommodation was. The Chateau is outside the charming and well-named village of Rustique, a short drive from the incredible city of Carcassonne. I traveled with a friend and we stayed at the Chateau for 4 days. Our apartment had a bedroom with a double bed, a loft with 3 single beds, a small but well appointed and laid out kitchen area, generous dining/living room, good sized bathroom and a balcony. The Chateau grounds are interesting themselves. The area is great to explore -- the seashore is just a 45 minute drive away and the Cathar history and strongholds in this area are fascinating. The wine and olive oil produced on the Chateau estate are very good; Victoria, our hostess, was friendly and very knowledgable. The decor and furnishings of the apartment were comfortable and attractive. I think Chateau Canet would also be a great place to come with children, or with a group of friends. The simple comfort of the Chateau and the variety of sites and activities easily accessible offer a lot of choices for all ages.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustiques
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Riverside-Home-Cottage
7.4 mi away
Le Clos de Venes
Le Clos de Venes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Couat-d'Aude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Canet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Canet

Property: Chateau Canet
Address: 11800 Rustiques, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Rustiques
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rustiques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Canet is a traditional and family run wine estate, recognized as one of the leading "domaines" of Minervois, Languedoc-Roussillon. Among the vines and olive plantations you will find a cluster of nine independent cottages all converted from original buildings and the Château itself. Within the grounds you will find plenty to keep the whole family occupied including a swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play room. While on holiday here you can explore the vineyards, hike through miles of private countryside following herb-scented trails or use one of the estate's bikes and venture further afield, along the peaceful country roads surrounding the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Canet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing