We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended if visiting the Carcassone area”
Review of Chateau Canet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Canet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Like the first reviewer, we came across Chateau Canet through a general posting so we are thrilled it is getting its own recognition. We stayed at this great winery for three nights when first arriving to the Languedoc region and would highly recommend it.

The quality of our stay was in no small part due to Victoria and Floris. Victoria was wonderful in providing maps, dinner recommendations, day-trip advice etc. Floris gave us a wonderful tour of the winery - one of the most informative we have ever been on.

Our cottage (gite) was very tastefully furnished, quiet, comfortable, and well-equipped. Although we didn't have need for it on our stay, the kitchen would be excellent if you happened to be staying for longer.

One of the main reasons for our visit was to bike the Canal du Midi and you can rent bikes (that were in good condition) directly from the Chateau Canet, making it very easy. We also enjoyed walking around the winery and seeing the different grapes that were growing. We were just disappointed that we had to leave before the harvest day!

The only thing that may cause an issue for some is that the winery is not "walkable" to nearby towns. For us that was part of the charm but a car is a must to stay here.

In summary, Chateau Canet was one of the hilights of our trip to Southern France and we'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trips2take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

There is a wonderful place to stay outside of Carcassone near Trebes and a small village called Rustique. It is a winery with apartments on the grounds which inlcude a pool, tennis courts, children's playroom, and other stuff to amuse children. The place is run by a couple. Victoria manages the "hotel" part of the business. She is a lovely person and provides excellent advice on restaurants, drives, and activities. She absolutely made our trip in the area and was faultless in her recommendations.

We have two children, aged 6 and 12 and they enjoyed staying here more than at luxery hotels during our trip to France. it was relaxing and was quite comfortable. All of the apartments include all of the amenities you will need to make dinner - although we really just used the kichen for breakfast and ate dinner out each evening. We did go for a great hike on the grounds and packed a picnic lunch and a bottle of wine which we ate in the vineyard.

This is the perfect place to stay for a family who want to relax on a holiday. The area has some lovely villages and is near some beautiful gorges and caves. Carcasonne is lovely in the evening although in the day it is a bit of a tacky tourist site. Without the crowds, you will enjoy it more. As well, the cost of the accomodation is quite reasonable.

I was quite nervous when we booked this because I did it on the basis of a comment I read in a Tripadvisor forum. However, I was wrong. it was a lovely place to stay. It was run by a wonderful person who I am going to try to stay in touch with. It was a really great experience.

1  Thank Standish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank chrisjilllewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0633559873, Owner at Chateau Canet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle gites hebben hun voordeel. wij hadden gite 5 (eerste )verdieping met een prachtig balkon. veel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maarten v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GREDDYKontich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Afhankelijk van aantal personen een verblijf kiezen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleurance1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustiques
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
321 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
8.0 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
9.1 mi away
Chateau de Cavanac
Chateau de Cavanac
#1 of 1 in Cavanac
371 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast L'Orangerie
Bed & Breakfast L'Orangerie
#3 of 53 in Carcassonne
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Canet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Canet

Address: 11800 Rustiques, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Rustiques
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rustiques
Price Range: £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Canet is a traditional and family run wine estate, recognized as one of the leading "domaines" of Minervois, Languedoc-Roussillon. Among the vines and olive plantations you will find a cluster of nine independent cottages all converted from original buildings and the Château itself. Within the grounds you will find plenty to keep the whole family occupied including a swimming pool, tennis courts and children’s play room. While on holiday here you can explore the vineyards, hike through miles of private countryside following herb-scented trails or use one of the estate's bikes and venture further afield, along the peaceful country roads surrounding the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Canet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing