We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay (w/ suggestions for management)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay (w/ suggestions for management)”
Reviewed 21 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Emerson Resort & Spa for the Catskill Fall foliage. The area the resort is in is absolutely wonderful! Scenic drives, activities and a great staff make this a great destination. The best way to review this is in parts:
The lodge: A+ - no surprises, just what I expected of the lodge, rustic look, a mountain get-a-way, surrounded on 4 sides with mountains, riverwalk at rear of lodge.
The staff: A+ - Friendly and welcoming, very helpful, immediately satisfied any requests.
The room A+ - Very large room, clean, very good TV reception, quiet, comfortable bed. AC remote controlled, large whirlpool bath and large bathroom, rustic tasteful decor and plenty (and I mean plenty) of pillows. Just a perfect room!
Resturaunt A - Although we only ate breakfast (which was included in the price of the stay), the buffet was overall good. Pancakes, waffles and omlets made to order. bagel w/ lox, fresh fruit, toast, "homemade" jams, bacon, home fries, juices, sausage and VERY good coffee. The staff was attentive and friendly without being intrusive.
Gift shop A+ - Huge but pricey (as expected), there is Starbucks Coffee tucked away in the back. Everything you can imagine is in this "upscale" shop. You can spend an hoour looking at the kaleidoscopes for sale.
I have three suggestions for management:

A) Welcoming fruit basket in room was a wonderful touch but why not use New York State apples instead of Washington State apple? Why not use a wine from a local New York State winery instead on the bottle that was included? Promote the area you are in!
B) We ordered wine in the lounge, very good BUT when we asked where it was from - we were told New Zealand! Why not promote New York State wine?
C) The music in the resturaunt leaves a bit to be desired. I understand atmosphere but i couldn't quite make out what it was.Contemporary Indian? Indian Rap? My wife and I respectfully suggest a Cirque Soliel soundtrack Allegria. It fits your decor and would probably add to the atmosphere. Soothing and sophisticated.
I HIGHLY recommend this resort for anyone wanting a peaceful relaxing and secluded get-a-way.

  • Liked — Size and cleaniness of the room
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    122
    41
    18
    22
See reviews for
83
211
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

we've stayed at the emerson in the past (b/4 it burned down and was newly rebuilt across the street)....we had LOVED everything about the hotel in our previous stays....luxurious linens, outstanding service, amazing food, beautiful setting...the price has always been high, but well worth it.

we had heard that since the new Emerson opened - that it was just not as nice...but decided to give it a try anyway...so I wasn't entirely surprised when we saw the new decor...which is nice, asian/indian inspired decor...but still slightly cold, needs more fabrics/warmth for ambiance. not the same cozy inviting feel of the old Emerson.

here are the pros of the new place...

comfy bed w/nice linens
deep whirlpool tub and great showers in the rooms
fireplace in rooms - but it's a gas fireplace, still warm and inviting
exotic antique Indian wood trim around decorates a lot of the hotel
food at the Pheonix restaurant was excellent for dinner every night
afternoon tea can be included in your pkg and is nice...although the new great room is not a great setting
"country store" gift shop was great, sold everything from food to home decor to clothing all in one winding store
nice babbling river outside patios - all rooms have patios
spa services were 1st rate and spa was nicely appointed

the cons...

there is no elevator...the bellman had to carry our bags next to us on the stairs huffing and puffing all the way...not too comfortable for us...and if you're older or pregnant, there are 2 flights of stairs to climb!
decor is slightly cold
maid service was lacking - left dirty wine glasses and didn't replenish the toiletries once in our 2 night stay.
servibar had bottom shelf liquor and wasn't replenished...+ no food
wine in room and wine glasses not good quality (in the past we were served on fine china and crystal even for room service
there were dead bugs on top of the fabric draped over our bed
plain white "gas station" matches given out at the restaurant
only 4 hangers in closet for 2 people!
safe didn't work
not many toilettries in bathroom...bath gel, shampoo and conditioner were in a dispenser on the shower wall like a gym..kind of tacky
bad reception on the tv
offered movie rentals at the front desk, but all the good ones had "walked off the property"

all in all, we had a great stay, but the service was poor and the hotel decor could use some upgrading. not really worth the very expensive price of $600/night for the room. really expect more, especially with service at that price.

one person on the staff told us they have many complaints, so we hope management takes them seriously or this hotel will not be open for long.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank jojocorazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

my wife and i escaped for the weekend here. i have read previous reviews and became a bit leery. needless to say, our experience was nothing but fantastic. everything in the hotel from the shower faucets to the wood on the outdoor decks are top-notched. nothing but the highest quality in the furniture all the way to the service.

the spa was very good as was the gym (one of the nicest and biggest i've seen for a resort. all new top of the line equipment). steam rooms/sauna and hot tub were great.

the phoenix restaurant was excellent. brunch buffet and dinner were not cheap but well worth it. really good food and service.

we stayed at the inn, not the lodge. so i cannot vouch for the lodge. but you cannot go wrong with the brand new rooms at the inn.

they seem to have outgrown the growing pains because the service and attention was excellent (especially shona). i have no problem recommending this place for a nice spa weekend getaway.

only bad thing i can say is no cell phone service (unless you have AT&T from what i heard). but they were accommodating and did not charge for phone use even though it's not their fault). you are in the mountains, not the city.

woodstock was lots of fun and bear cafe was fantastic for dinner. kaleidoscope store was very cool too.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jomaxNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2007

I'm a nyc resident who frequented the original lodge for years . While the advertised "worlds largest kaleidescope" made me think twice before booking a room for the first time (years ago) the rustic rooms were a delightful suprise. Richly appointed with exquisitely soft high thread count ( i have learned about that from my wife!) linens and towels , the place was a luxury oasis in the woods. At that point , I had not stayed at the uber fancy famous inn. Since the tragic fire that destroyed the inn, they have built an new annex to the lodge incorporating both the high end spa and the lodge. I have been fortunate enough to stay at both the lodge and the spa(and to afford it !) I can only surmise that there has been a change in managment because the level of service and amenities has been kicked up by more than a notch. I did stay a the lodge at the time they were just building the new spa rooms and facilities and while they appeared to have been experiencing some "growing pains" , the staff went out of their way to be accomodating. I would not hesitate to recommend the place to anyone. I would advise prospective guests to book spa treatments in advance, however. While I am just a massage guy, the treatment and services have apparently become so popular- attempting to book services upon arrival can lead to disappointment (and the possible disolution of a marriage -fortunately, my wife ignored me and booked our treatments in advance!) We lopk forward to our next visit !

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank raymondnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2007

For an expensive spa/inn getaway from new york, while it was okay, it was clearly under par.

The place is still trying to figure out what it is. The decor/design is a confusing blend of thai/indian/moroccon/crate&barrel. The rooms are okay in size and reasonably laid out with flat screen tv and very nice bathrooms, so other than the confusing blend of decor (and an awful canopy over the bed), we like the bedroom. The rooms had wireless internet, which was helpful as cellphones and blackberries don't work.

The dining room (the phoenix restaurant) was terrible for spa food. The breakfast was an average buffet (no a la carte), with an omelette/waffle station and then a few pastries and canned fruits and boxed cereals. However, for a spa, the food was not very spa-like. Also, for being in the farmlands of new york in august, canned fruits and generic tomatoes are too bad. After the generic breakfast, we did not eat dinner there, but the menu was a confusion of indian, thai and steaks. The rice pudding, which we stopped in for, was more like a warm rice mess.

The spa had a nice feel to it and good facilities, but of the 4 treatments my wife and I had, one specialist was good, one mediocre, and two we didn't like. The gym looked very nice but its not of the order of a Woodloch.

We loved the woman at the front desk but most of the staff was fine but a little confused.

Strangely, on the property, for something that was custom built, the place was right on the highway and no landscaping/use of the natural beauty. We felt it was a converted motel.

In conclusion, while the rooms are fine enough and there are good dining choices in the area, I am not sure it justified the high room rate for an average stay with a mediocre spa.

  • Liked — The concierge at front desk
  • Disliked — The food in the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC_i-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
8.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
9.0 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
17.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Property: Emerson Resort & Spa
Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457-5318
Region: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing