We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Woodstock Area Getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Woodstock Area Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

It was our first visit to the area. We wanted to spend some time in Woodstock but were looking for a spa/hotel. Emerson really met our needs. We took advantage of the midweek special that they offer.
The suite on the inn side of the hotel was gorgeous. Jacuzzi tub, rain shower with adjustable wall jets, my wife wanted to take the bathroom home. It had a great bedroom with a fireplace, large flat screen tv and a small balcony with chairs.
The spa had a sauna, steam room and showers plus an indoor and outdoor lounge area. The outside deck has a hot tub and Esopus Creek is behind the trees so you can relax to the sound of the water.
Emerson has two restaurants and a cafe. We enjoyed them all. It's so convenient when you don't feel like going anywhere they have it all on site.
The staff that we interacted with were all terrific. Very sincere.
Overall I would say if you plan on staying in the area this is an excellent option.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank greattrip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    121
    41
    18
    22
See reviews for
83
211
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely hotel. The staff was great. They could not do enough for us. After a long drive to get there we did not feel like driving to a restaurant. Someone from the hotel drove us there and picked us up after we finished. The room was big, comfortable and the patio was delightful.

Room Tip: Cell service is a little "sketchy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A great location to welcome summer 2014 with a friend traveling from out of the country. The serenity of place and the hospitality of the resort staff was only outdone by the lasting memories of a great few days. Thank you all for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morningbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Arlington, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My boyfriend and I found this resort via an online coupon. After reading lots of reviews, we decided to book a two night getaway. We were so pleased when we arrived at the resort. It was everything we'd imagined it would be. Our room (the regal suite on the ground floor) was so spacious and elegant. There was a very large bathroom, complete with a huge shower and separate Jacuzzi tub. The king size bed was comfortable, although we both prefer a bit firmer mattress. There was a private outside deck, with two chairs and a table. It was the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine and private conversation. The staff at the resort were all pleasant and professional. The spa services (I enjoyed two of them) were fantastic. We did not eat at either of the two restaurants, so I cannot comment on them. There were several upscale shops onsite which looked like they had everything one might need, if they could afford it! Free first cup Starbucks coffee was available at the furthest shop within the resort, at the Country Store. There are only a few things keeping me from giving this resort a five star review. One, was the bed,as previously mentioned. Two, it would have been nice if they offered a free continental breakfast with coffee and danish. And three, which is beyond their control, there wasn't much to do in the area. One day we went to Woodstock, but that only took up about half the day. The day we checked out we went to Rhinebeck, which is also quaint but not very time consuming. But overall, for a romantic time for couples, or for a girls' spa getaway, this place was really quite lovely.

Room Tip: Call ahead like we did for more details about your room amenities. Ours had a Keurig coffee pot, mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an opportunity to stay at the Emerson Resort and Spa for one evening this spring. The Inn (as opposed to the Lodge which is very rustic, log cabin style accommodations) was lovely and the rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated in an Asian/ Indian motif. The staff were certainly pleasant and helpful, but there was no bell service to help with luggage at check in. Also, there is absolutely no cell service at the resort and while wi-fi is available for no additional fee, service was sporadic or non existent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allyhirschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband booked us there for a short stay in the wood to getaway from NYC. It was such a pleasant surprise. The hotel is so modern and clean, with professional on the dot staff greet you nicely, while the resort maintain to have a historical taste.

We checked out all the stores and they were full of fun and surprises - yours to check out :) We spent a good few hours just roaming around the stores and discover fun things within.

The room is a suite which has a balcony, and it was a very sweet feature to enjoy some fresh air during a quiet afternoon, and we got to hear the sound of nature. I miss being in the wood.

The hotel has a touch of indian flavor which is very special. It is a place that we will definitely come back.

We got lunch and breakfast at the hotel and sat outside to enjoy the view and just looking at the tree, all these little things really add up.

I love this place and so glad that we found this gem so close to NYC!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My son was married at the Emerson this past Memorial Day weekend. Marci and staff were AMAZING. Such attention to detail.... The setting was beautiful, the food was wonderful and the the service was gracious and attentive. Such a great weekend from Friday night rehearsal dinner to Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
8.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
9.0 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
17.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Property: Emerson Resort & Spa
Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457-5318
Region: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing