We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely time - I don't where some of these other people stayed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a lovely time - I don't where some of these other people stayed”
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed at a Regal suite in the Inn, it was clean and nicely furnished. The employees went out of their way to make our stay nice. We booked a couple's hot stone massage and it was professional and very relaxing. Our dinner at the Phoenix was very good. All in all our stay was very nice. I will say that it is dropped in the middle of nowhere and not much to do around the resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kininel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    125
    41
    18
    22
See reviews for
86
215
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Swanky, yes, and a little out of character for the Catskills, but if you want luxury, you get it here. I don't know what the others are talking about in terms of the staff--we thought they were incredibly attentive and kind. We stayed one night, and found it a bit overpriced, but it was lovely. The food in the Phoenix restaurant wasn't as good as I wanted--odd combinations in an attempt to master fusion nouveau cuisines, I think, and too rich--but the massages were fantastic. Views aren't so great, but it's certainly in a beautiful spot in the Catskills.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This is a horrible place in EVERY way! You staying at an overpriced motel. Right on busy road, dirty, horrible staff! Our toilets did not even work! The food is disgusting...DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Impressed with this place. Unusually for new American hotels, this place had character and charm. The staff were attentive and the restaurant/bar areas were homely and relaxing.

The room, in the lodge, was a bargain at $99.00/night for a two Queen-bed room (just phoned and asked for the best rate!!). Clean, pleasantly decorated, with lovely views. What more could you want!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_pinkerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I stayed at the Emerson Resort on Feb, 14th 2009, and I must say I wasn't impressed. The moment I got in I wasn't appointed by ANY sort of porter, and the employees over at the Spa were talking about a party they went to the previous evening. As I went to my room I noticed that the hallways smelled like mold. It smelled like it hasn't been cleaned in months. It was dust central. When I got to the rooms it wasn't all that spectacular like the pictures made it. NOTHING like the pictures. It was somehow enhanced to look better. I recommend not going to this resort. They have no idea how to manage themselves. I asked for an extra pair of towels, took them about 20-30 minutes. For the price I am paying, i'd say that isn't good service. The employees must be the biggest issue of mine there. Only if they had GOOD Management there. WARN YOU ALL, don't stay here, the price is over the top for the quality you get.

I am curious who manages this resort...
Thank you for reading my review.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZooWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We had been to the original Emerson before it had burned down, and were disappointed in the comparative lack of friendliness and service orientation, especially in today's economy. The bed, presumably not very old, had a hump in the middle and dips where people have slept.. The room was beautifully decorated with all the amenities, except for an readily adjustable temperature. We had to open the door to the porch to get the temperature down below 75.
The restaurant was very good, but also way overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethelake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coxsackie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

This place is aweful for the ridiculous amount of money they charge. Staff is rude and arrogant. As you can see buy all the reviews its hit or miss. Do you really think its worth risking the money if its not a sure bet. I have been a massage therapist for 20+ years and I have to say their therapist are amateur at best. My recommendation, keep looking cause this place is a waste of money!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PTLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Tremper
8.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
9.0 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
84 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
47 reviews
22.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Property: Emerson Resort & Spa
Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457-5318
Region: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing