We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre at best”

Four Corners Country Inn
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled in the rolling hills of the Catskills, we are centrally located 5 minutes from Phoenicia, 15 minutes from Woodstock or Belleayre ski slopes and 25 minutes from Saugerties or Hunter Mountain. We have a full bar and restaurant featuring French-American fare from French classic dishes to burger, pasta dishes and generous salads. Our menu is carefully crafted to offer a wide range of well executed traditional dishes. We are bringing the classics back! The Inn consists of 8 Rooms furnished with antiques as well as more modern features such as private bath and WIFI. The charm of an 1850’s building is prevalent in rooms with small original details. We strive to create a comfortable, friendly and welcoming atmosphere of a Country Inn for all our guests.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Some friends invited us to this new restaurant and they are usually pretty good at finding good food at good prices. We went on a Thursday when they have special one price menu. I have to say the service was good but the food not so much. Three of us got specials 2 chicken one fish all we're on top of cold mashed potatoes some kind of stuffing and unrecognizable veggies. Chicken was dry fish was fair. The off menu choice was escargot in shell tasty but poor presentation next was chicken milenase again unrecognizable.
There are too many new chefs and restaurants in the are using local ingredients to be just ok.
Will not be going back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Tremper, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great service poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had dinner this weekend in this quaint restaurant . Friendly and attentive service. However, when my dinner arrived the pork was unrecognizable under a mountain of (stuff) that was also unrecognizable. The pork was so tough I could not even cut it with a steak knife. The management was kind enough to take it back and offer me another choice. I then had the Trout which was dry, but sat on top of rice that was swimming in a greasy butter pool. We will not be returning here .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karina2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Old House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a very nice old house that is now an inn. It replaced another inn that was there before, and the quality is improved from what I remember. The dining room is a quaint, with exposed wood beams and a fireplace. The food is French themed, and quite good.

We were there with a reunion group from the local high school. We were there for a brunch and had a choice of lemon sole, coq au vin, or beef bourguignon. At our table, we had the fish and the chicken, and both were very good. For dessert, there was a combination of a very nice cheesecake and a profiterole. Again, both were fine.

As we went to a set menu brunch, I can say the prices were quite reasonable. I do not know what is on they usual menu and what the prices are, however. All in all, however, this is a very good place to eat if you are in the vicinity. There are not lots of choices, but this is a good one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinVA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Based upon the reviews of others, my wife booked a reservation for dinner at the restaurant. Unfortunately, the only positive things I can say is that the portions are large and the service is friendly and prompt. The food on the other hand was simply not good. The restaurant was not crowded, so that cannot be used as an excuse for the quality of the food which is French in name only.

The interior of the restaurant is a faded facsimile of the pictures on their website; it is dark and rather dingy despite the crisp white tablecloths. There are water stains on the ceiling which is sagging. All that can be overlooked if the food is good, but unfortunately it was not.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubLakeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic French food in a lovely country setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The room is cozy and lovely, with a lovely fireplace setting the mood. Waitstaff and managers are friendly and helpful. Conversation was not hampered by a noisy setting, which unfortunately often is the case. The food was superb. Our group had pork, hangar steak, spaghetti & meatball and salads ~ all well prepared, plentiful, and beautifully presented. This will be our new "regular" place to meet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyNYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Four Corners Country Inn also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to Four Corners Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing