We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Personable, Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy, Personable, Stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is long over due…My friend and I and her daughter took a last minute jaunt to Storm King on a holiday weekend. Hal was most accommodating ( and entertaining :) ) and our stay was really lovely. A great spot. The rooms are lovely - we enjoyed our stay very much. Maya wants to be an innkeeper now!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    43
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
117
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Storm King Lodge, after spending 5 days in NYC. This was a great combination: the Storm King Lodge is located at only 1-1.5 hour drive from Manhattan, but the lodge and the surrounding area give you a very pleasant feeling of relaxation. Hal is a great host, full of stories and tips and preparing a great breakfast, every day different. Plenty of things to do in the area: the Storm King Art Center is very nearby, as well as plenty of hiking opportunities in nature parks, and great views on the Hudson river. We were there end of October: beautifully colored trees! Certainly worth it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic B&B/Lodge. We escaped New York City noise for some peace and quiet for my birthday and weren't disappointed.

Nice open fire, a nice walk to the Storm King Art Center and most important of all. Quiet. Good to relax with a glass of wine and a good book.

Hal and Gay are wonderful hosts. They make you feel welcome and the breakfast is amazing!

I only wish our stay was longer!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgT_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

gracious and charming host; lovely converted barn with ample sized room, hearty and tasty breakfast; provided all the things you would want a host to provide, including a balance of personal and tourist information in just the right amount.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our one night stay at Storm King Lodge was delightful. We liked the fluffy white comforter, not too heavy weight. The Yellow Room was bright with large windows and nice view of the autumn leaves. The private bath was very clean and neat. The open "elegant barn style" great room has a lovely equestrian mural and an interesting history of the Irish breeds handwritten at top of the stairs.
Hal is an exceptionally gracious host and entertaining conversationalist, telling us about his 30 years playing bass trombone at the Met Opera and teaching at Juilliard until retirement. Someone at breakfast spied his trombone leaning against the wall near the grand piano and asked if he would play for us: he treated us to a two minute solo while we ate. Such fun!
Signed, a couple from Charlottesville

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

B&B located in great location near Storm King Art Center and nearby hiking/walking options. Hal was very kind and provided a great breakfast, great directions and hospitality. He made nice recommendations to area restaurants and things to do. The area around the B&B was beautiful and visiting in the fall was a very nice time of year. We loved having a fireplace in our room!

Room Tip: Room upstairs did not have a very comfortable bed. Closest to stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Lodge and found the accommodations as advertised. We stayed in the Lavender room and enjoyed the quiet and light airy room. We appreciated bedside lamps on both sides. Hall is a marvelous cook and host. Our breakfasts were more than ample and devious. And Hal is a great conversation it's,telling many interesting facts and stories about the area. He gave good advice re dinners, visiting the Art Center and good directions. We will recommend this Lodge to friend and will stay again when in the area

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Property: The Storm King Lodge
Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Region: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing