We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently stayed at this wonderful B&B & truly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful setting, great location, and a welcoming host who knows how to prepare a delicious breakfast. We wish we could have stayed longer, but I'm sure we'll return some time soon - thanks Hal!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    43
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
119
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed one night after spending a beautiful Saturday exploring Storm King. Arrived at the Lodge to be greeted by Hal. Hal was very welcoming and showed us our room, the pool, and gave good recommendations for dinner.

We stayed in the Yellow Room at the Inn. A few things to note...it's a basic room, very clean, small shower. We weren't given a key to the room...Not that we had anything of value but it was kind of odd...We spent some time by the pool. Really nice large pool but it was a bit too chilly to go into the water. The pool could use some skimming but since we didn't go in, it was fine. Lounge chairs and towels were provided which was nice.

Wanted burgers for dinner and Hal recommended Woody's which was local. Great food! Now, if you are looking for entertainment in the evening, there is not really much going on in Cornwall. We bought a bottle of wine and sat out on the deck to enjoy. The deck was really nice...wouldn't hurt if the bird poop was wiped off some of the chairs or the deck.

Rooms don't have TVs, so just be warned. There is a TV in the common area if you really need to watch the tube...

This following point has nothing to do with the owner but another family stayed the night we were there with a small toddler. The toddler was up very early in the morning and made enough noise by 7am that I was awake...So be warned that walls are thin...

Hal made a wonderful breakfast Sunday AM. Scrambled eggs with hash browns made in a creative way to resemble a bird's nest. Excellent bacon, sausage, yogurt, granola, fruit. etc. Again, toddler was making a huge fuss and we just hurried up to eat and then leave. Hal was more than accommodating to the toddler and made sure there was something appropriate for him to have.

It wouldn't be a bad idea for the lodge to only have adults stay or children over 12 since the space is small.

Room Tip: top floor room is quiet as the bottom rooms are near common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We found The Storm King Lodge when we were touring the Hudson Valley, visiting Hyde Park, West Point, and The Storm King Art Center. The lodge is sited on a hillside, overlooking Hudson Valley trees, fields and distant mountains. It's green, green, green and peaceful. Beautiful outdoors, beautiful inside the lodge. A large elevated porch provides a place to read, sip "beverages", and stress down while taking in the view. If you want dinner, lodge keeper and host Hal Janks has deep knowledge of and recommendations for local restaurants. He knows the environs and the attractions and is himself a major part of the HIGH VALUE experience we had staying here. (Choose the omelette for breakfast if he offers! And, yes, try the hot sauce on the side). There is a pool, but we did not have time to use it (so not rated below). We had a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit. Thank you Hal and Gay!//John - Annapolis, MD

Room Tip: We stayed in and liked (slept soundly in) the Pine Room on the first floor, but all rooms appeared c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MossHill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a beautiful B&B, where Hal will spoil you relentlessly. Ideal location, near the Storm King Art Center (and of course, West Point), this is a great place to stay while visiting the wonders of Storm King Mountain and the surrounding Mountainville area. We loved the fireplace in the Lavender room and hanging out in the spacious great room. We can't wait to return and try out the pool later this summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the the Storm King Lodge. Hal was an incredibly funny and generous host and we had a blast meeting other people staying at the lodge the same weekend we were there. The Pine Room was great: large, clean and very comfortable and the breakfasts were really well prepared with plenty of delicious choices. The frittata was a highlight! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Araminta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely setting, rooms are spacious and clean. Hal was a gracious and helpful host. His recommendation of a BBQ spot for dinner was great. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. It couldn't have been closer to Storm King Art Center, which was ideal after a few hours out there in the sun. We'd recommend the place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavender Room on the second floor. Sound carries, so 2nd floor may be slightly bett...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bklyntraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family stayed in the Cottage for two nights. We had both bedrooms, so we had a spacious living area and fully-equipped kitchen to ourselves. We enjoyed the convenience of fixing early breakfasts and lunch for our picky-eater kids in the kitchen, while my husband and I loved the delicious, hearty breakfasts with the other guests at the lodge (included in the room rate). In the cottage you also have a working fireplace, two bathrooms, cable TV (but no WiFi--go to the lodge for free WiFi). Hal is a treasure--helpful, friendly and fun.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoonsAfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountainville
6.5 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
976 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Newburgh West Point/Stewart Intl Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Property: The Storm King Lodge
Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Region: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing