We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mumford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have stayed at the Genesee Country Inn previously, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Rochester area. The Inn is an old mill that has been converted, so it is quite unique.
Deborah is a gracious and charming hostess. She always seems to be baking something, so the Inn is filled with delicious aromas of cookies and warm treats from the oven.
The creek that runs through the property makes for a lovely, serene backdrop to your stay. We were very fortunate to be there on a hot day at the end of May, and we sat outside in the gazebo until quite late, watching the sun go down behind the trees that line the creek. Deborah supplied us with plates and wine glasses so we were able to enjoy a wonderful picnic dinner.
TIP: Request rooms at "water level" as they are newly redecorated and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenlamplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for 2 night on our roundtrip from Washington - Niagara - Boston. The hosts are very friendly and you do feel welcome. Beautiful rooms and splendid breakfast. Wireless internet is OK. You can stay here - visit Gemesse Country Village & Museum and then go to Niagara Falls and back in one day and then next morning ready for the further trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I can hardly describe how unique and special this B&B is. Members of my family stayed in 3 different rooms last year and this year I had the pleasure of visiting the inn for 3 nights. I marvel at the extensive detail of the interiors; the incredibly comfortable bed and pillows and the attention of the innkeeper (and her wonderful breakfasts and snacks). Add the beautiful flowing waters and grounds and I now have a wonderful memory. Don't hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: The rooms are even prettier than pictured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHarmon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The Genesee Country Inn provided the perfect venue for our first wedding anniversary. It is everything we had imagined and more. The atmosphere was serene and peaceful. We really enjoyed relaxing on the deck, drifting off to sleep to the soothing sound of the fountain, and indulging in the delicious oven-baked pancakes for breakfast. The special touches, such as the homemade chocolate chip cookies and the lavender sachets in our room, made for a great experience. It is quite evident that this beautiful old mill is filled with love and lovingly cared for. From our first steps inside, we could sense that every detail - from the hand-stenciled walls to the rhubarb growing in the flower garden - is a testimony of Deborah and Richard’s love and dedication. The sign that greeted us in the foyer, "Enter as strangers and leave as friends", is appropriate. We hope to make a stay at this lovely B&B a traditional event. Maybe we’ll take that fly-fishing lesson next time! We will certainly recommend the Genesee Country Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youshawv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Our visit to the Genesee Country Inn was very nice and the hosts were very friendly. It is located in a small town, probably less than a mile from the Genesee Historic Village, which we visited while in Mumford. The inn was very clean and the food was good. The only disappointment was that the inn is listed as having a television in each room, but there is little or no reception (our room had no reception for the entire time we stayed), and viewing is limited to DVD's. We like to watch the news or the weather forecast, and were unable to during our stay. Other than that, the inn is a very nice choice!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravelling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We've just returned from our second stay at the Genesee Country Inn and if possible, this stay was even better than the first. The rooms are charming and spotless, the breakfast is outstanding with home baked breads- they even cater to special dietary requirements (and make you feel special not a bother.). The hosts are wonderful, willing to make reservations at restaurants, give directions or provide info on nearby attractions. We left there feeling well cared for and very relaxed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidays13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

This review is long overdue. I had the pleasure of staying with Deborah & Rich, last June. My daughter, Jill, is a student @ SUNY Geneseo and she had to attend a summer program. The weekend of parents visitation, I went up. There is no availability locally in Geneseo, so was given the GCI as an alternative. Boy, was I happy that all was booked @ Geneseo because I had the privilege to meet Deborah, Rich, Bentley, & Cooper. My mom was with me. We stayed in the "Barklow". What a gorgeous, peaceful room. You hear the stream flowing and get a wonderful breeze. My mom, did not want to leave. Deborah is so welcoming and our conversations were great! She is an awesome cook & baker. I brought my daughter back to the Inn and she loved it. We watched movies, played games, walked the trail, relaxed and felt @ home, peaceful........We have become friends with Deborah & Rich and we look forward to our next stay with them.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 948 George St, PO Box 226, Mumford, Wheatland, NY 14511-9823
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Wheatland > Mumford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mumford
Price Range: £94 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, built in 1833in Mumford near Rochester, New York, is situated on Spring Creek, a trout stream where guests can enjoy private fly fishing or relax by the mill pond. The inn has ten distinctly, comfortably decorated bedrooms, all with private baths, air-conditioning, telephones, hair dryers, and TV/DVD players. The king suite enjoys a beautiful view of the gardens, fountain, and mill pond. The garden rooms have gas fireplaces and a view of the creek. Guests enjoy the comfort of a large parlor, dining room with a gas fireplace, and a beautiful all season sun room with gas stove. During the 1800s, the inn was a plaster mill and later a lumber mill. Around 1917, this lovely old mill with its 2 1/2-foot thick stone walls was converted to a two-family home. It wasn't until 1982 that the Garbutt Mill, which was a private residence, became the Genesee Country Inn. The inn is close to Rochester, Letchworth State Park, Niagara Falls, many museums, art galleries, colleges and universities. Also The Genesee Country Village and Museum, less than a mile from the inn, is the third largest living museum in the country where visitors can experience craftsmen demonstrating the trades of life in the 1800s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mumford
Mumford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing