We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mumford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have returned again to this wonderful inn! Deborah and Richard take care of their guests as if we all are part of their family. The rooms are lovely and comfortable with a variety of sizes and locations. The bed is so comfortable! The breakfasts are memorable - every morning a different gourmet hot dish,homemade breads, fresh fruit, plus coffee,tea and chocolate chip cookies available all day. Close to many interesting historical places while quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

This weekend was our second trip to the Bed and Breakfast and like the first time we hadn't realized how much we needed the kind of relaxation it provided. Deborah accommodated some fussy food preferences (the breakfast is amazing!) and allowed us to stay a little past checkout time so we could finish watching a movie.

They have little wooden tokens they give you that gets you a free dessert for the D&R Depot restaurant in Leroy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

First I would like to thank Richard and Debbie for their wonderful conversation and welcoming atmosphere when we stayed at their beautiful and comfortable inn. We called last minute to see if they had any available rooms and were very quickly invited to come and check out the inn. We were greeted by the most friendly dogs, and of course by Richard who was hard at work keeping the yard tidy. Debbie put us in a front first floor room with a wonderful heating stove and the most comfortable bed we slept in on our vacation. What a delightful time we had at breakfast with the yummy crepe and bread, great coffee and great conversation. We would definitely recommend staying at their inn for a relaxing and comfortable time when in the area. We actually found the state park that I had been looking for, after Debbie gave us a brochure and directions to get there. What a beautiful trip to the Finger Lakes and the Genesee Country Inn!! Can't wait to get back there again!

Room Tip: I think that any room would be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our family and friends booked the entire weekend at the Genesee Country Inn for my niece's wedding that was held at The Genesee Country Village. What a wonderful experience!! The Inn was immaculate..the rooms were lovely and very comfortable. We truly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts...homemade cakes ,scones.egg bakes, fresh fruit and much more served by our gracious hosts Deborah and Rich.The grounds were beautiful, great for taking a walk or just relaxing. Felt like home.... we are definitely going back!!

Debby P.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our first time in the area and staying at this beautiful Inn. Stayed in the McGinnis Room....beautiful. Loved the little sitting area just outside our door. Deborah and Rich went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. We explored Letchworth State Park and came back to the Inn for a relaxing evening. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Beds, food and hospitality are the greatest. Debbie and Robert display their excellent hospitality skills at every visit. This is a lovely out of the way spot on a gorgeous small town property. This is an excellent base for exploring Letchworth State Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our first stay at this beautiful Inn in the quaint town of Mumford NY was wonderful. We were welcomed by the gracious hosts Deborah and Rich who made us feel at home and offered wonderful suggestions for restaurants and things to see and do in the area. Our room The Skivington, a garden room on the first floor overlooking the beautiful grounds was comfortable and charming. The breakfast was delicious...home made scones, fresh fruits, breads, and much more. We came to fly fish and we were not disappointed. The private section of Spring Creek that runs through the property offered us the opportunity to catch a few native brown trout during our one night stay... our only regret was staying for one night... but we booked a two night stay for the same weekend next year. Can't wait !

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor garden room The Skivington..nice views of the property !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YankeeInnkeeper, Owner at Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you so much! The weekend was absolutely wonderful. I'm glad you enjoyed the fly-fishing in Spring Creek on the property. We are looking forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 948 George St, PO Box 226, Mumford, Wheatland, NY 14511-9823
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Wheatland > Mumford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mumford
Price Range: £97 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genesee Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, built in 1833in Mumford near Rochester, New York, is situated on Spring Creek, a trout stream where guests can enjoy private fly fishing or relax by the mill pond. The inn has ten distinctly, comfortably decorated bedrooms, all with private baths, air-conditioning, telephones, hair dryers, and TV/DVD players. The king suite enjoys a beautiful view of the gardens, fountain, and mill pond. The garden rooms have gas fireplaces and a view of the creek. Guests enjoy the comfort of a large parlor, dining room with a gas fireplace, and a beautiful all season sun room with gas stove. During the 1800s, the inn was a plaster mill and later a lumber mill. Around 1917, this lovely old mill with its 2 1/2-foot thick stone walls was converted to a two-family home. It wasn't until 1982 that the Garbutt Mill, which was a private residence, became the Genesee Country Inn. The inn is close to Rochester, Letchworth State Park, Niagara Falls, many museums, art galleries, colleges and universities. Also The Genesee Country Village and Museum, less than a mile from the inn, is the third largest living museum in the country where visitors can experience craftsmen demonstrating the trades of life in the 1800s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mumford
Mumford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing