We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Relaxing, Wonderfully energizing”
Review of New Age Health Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neversink
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Age Health Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neversink
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, Relaxing, Wonderfully energizing”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This was the second time we came over the XMas/New Years time for some quiet time and relaxation. For my wife mostly enjoying the Yoga and Spa. For me mostly the exercise classes, especially the water classes and relaxing at the pool reading up on some stuff I didn't get around to all year.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is healthy and very good. The spa services are excellent and the overall atmosphere is very cosy and quiet - no phone or TV in the room and cellphone reception spotty at best - really great to get away from a hectic life.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpineOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
2
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I celebrated my 45th birthday with 3 friends here. Two of us were returning after a 7 year absence. We took advantage of their "Bring a friend for free" special which really only saved about $100 but we still had a terrific time. The double rooms were clean and serviceable, not luxurious, that was ok, we spent more time out of the room anyway. We had the Mahican cottage which had a porch with rocking chairs overlooking a view of the mountains, elements of my future dream house.

The massage and reflexology by Alex was incredible. The food was healthy, filling and delicious. I didn't miss snacking during meals at all and almost didn't miss having a cocktail before dinner. (There is no alcohol served) They have relented and now serve caffeinated coffee. The classes offered a wide variety of activity. Try to do your more active stuff in the morning and your massage/facial/treatments after lunch.

The grounds are gorgeous in the fall, and other guests told us about being there in the snow as well when you can cross country or snowshoe! There is an outdoor pool for summer, tennis and other outdoor activities. The whole weekend was really great and I would recommend getting your friends together, leave the kids and the spouses and get away.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

The food was great. We had great weather which always helps. The
staff was friendly, we liked the other guests, the instructors were terrific as was the equipment and studios. They had a great variety of classes and something going on every hour practically. The rooms are modest but clean and looked freshly painted. It cost a fraction of some well-known spas near Lenox. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogaFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Others have commented on the "value" aspect of the spa - thin walls in rooms, poor food, disinterested staff and management. I agree with all of that. The staff doesn't bother to know the names of the guests and they perform their jobs so perfuntorily that one would welcome an occasional "How are things going?" At check out, when I told the receptionist that our stay was not acceptable, she just shrugged. In this economy, "value" counts. There are lots of other places that understand customer relations. Pick another spa.

  • Liked — The grounds and the yoga room
  • Disliked — The management's attitude
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Amherstgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

New Age Health Spa prides itself on being the best spa "value" in the US. "Value" is a code word for understaffed. The nutritionist is no where to be found. The spa therapists may not show up. It is difficult to schedule appointments. Also, the spa lacks basic features like plentiful heat and hot water. For example, it's hard to fully relax during a massage if the room is freezing cold. If you are used to Manhattan services, the staff is adequate, not great. The rooms are ok, again, think "value." The walls are thin and the plumbing very noisy. The walls are thin in the spa as well-- you can hear all the building mechanical systems. Also, upon check out, I was told the prices for the spa services I received had gone up, however only the price list on the brochure had been updated; the price list in the spa and in my room had not yet been... oh well. On the plus side, the food is excellent, the yoga studio is beautiful, the instructors are knowledgable and the dogs are comforting. The management's intentions are good; however the spa could be run much better. They are lucky not to have much competition in the area. Once I got over the "value" aspect (and paying $20 more per service than expected), I was rejuvenated.

  • Liked — main areas are very clean.
  • Disliked — thin walls.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank 4opal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

I went for a five day stay never having been to a Spa. I was impressed with the grounds and wide open spaces. Plenty to do everyday from morning til night. Met some very friendly people (mostly from NYC) while there. Classes were great and instructors well trained. Spa treaments were excellent. Rooms were subpar. Fairly worn down and more of a camp cabin than a hotel room. Beds were springy. Carpets needed to be replaced. Bathroom had been redone recently and was nice. If you plan on going be ready for limited cell phone use (after all you are on vacation) and no shopping with 15 miles (other than convienance stores). Food was good (especially breakfast). No vast quanitities of food but the salads fill you up. This place was used as a time for reflection and awareness and that did the trick for me. I am going back but will only spend 3 days next time.

  • Liked — Pease and Serentiy-Yoga Activities
  • Disliked — Room Accomodations
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pho2Freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

I just got home from new age health spa and the the only way to describe this experience is that on monday morning just 12 hours into my stay i relized i was going to have to leave in 24 hours and i was sad...it would not be long enough! the food is spare and definatly low cal but good enough. the room was almost retro silly ,cute single beds with notty pine walls, though the bathroom was nicely updated ,great shower,and towels. i took many classes all were great my first real yoga classes i have been doing it at home from a book , i found i was prepared not a total novice. but to really explain this my friend and i met wonderful women all shapes sizes and ages from susie and myra to marsten who just graduated from accupunture school and gave a wonderful lecture to the mom who came alone to escape and regenerate after 24 hours you could see it in all of ther faces, no people judging them and time with women they didn't know and don't have to empress, dinner lunch and breakfast i found myself stay ing at the table with these lovely people so long that we always had to run to the next class ,laughing with all of them. well i hope to return next year i am sure nothing will change!!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltothemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neversink
15.1 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
443 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
13.7 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
17.3 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
89 reviews
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Liberty
Days Inn Liberty
#1 of 3 in Liberty
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Age Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Age Health Spa

Property: New Age Health Spa
Address: Route 55, Neversink, NY 12765
Region: United States > New York > Neversink
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neversink
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Age Health Spa is your destination spa in New York State. Located on 280 pristine acres in the Sullivan County Catskills, this all-inclusive resort offers health-enhancing programs and spa treatments for both women and men in a casual environment. New Age Health Spa is conveniently located just a 2 hour drive from New York city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Age Health Hotel Neversink
New Age Health Neversink

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing