We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real workout for the chop sticks!”

Mitsuba Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #23 of 92 Restaurants in New Hartford
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real workout for the chop sticks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife try to eat here once a year, when visiting the Utica area. The place is very nice, in terms of environment. The food is excellent, if not little pricey. The sushi rolls are excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlennyB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Mitsuba has a reputation for being expensive, but I had a $10 off coupon and I was able to go for my birthday. The menu seems large and varied.
I ordered a tempura dinner that combined shrimp (on skewers), scallops and vegetables. Shrimp and scallops were good-sized, but I was disappointed that the vegetables were also breaded. I would have preferred fresh zucchini.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
804 reviews
468 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,020 helpful votes
“I wish you could give a half star :) Good 3.5 place to enjoy sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The chef was quick.
The quality was good.
The selection was big.
The portions were fine.
The wait staff was OK.
The green tea tasted good.
The roles had plenty of flavor.
The prices were a bit high were fair.

This is my second visit and I would return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrific Sushi, Awesome waitstaff, cute, small, intimate place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I am here a lot! The girls usually know my order, or most of it, before I do! Sushi is always fresh, and delicious, Ivy is the best waitress around, and they all really take pride in doing a nice job. Love to swing thru on my way to work for a quick dinner, just as much as I love to bring my adult kids there for a relaxing lunch or dinner and to catch up on life. They don't rush you out the door, but if you're in a rush, they accomodate it without a problem.
Love love love this little place!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric J, Owner at Mitsuba Japanese Cuisine, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am so glad to hear that you are enjoy eating with us. Thank you for 5 starts review. We are looking forward to serve you at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitsuba Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Mitsuba Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing