We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmella's Cafe

Carmella's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmella's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in New Hartford
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Utica, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Every time my boyfriend and I drive past Carmella's I want to eat there again. Our first time was for lunch on a Saturday afternoon and we were seated right away. Our waitress was polite and attentive to our needs and as the title says, the food was great! We shared an appetizer of loaded fries and they're better than the ones I've had at Ruby Tuesday's, and those were good! I ordered a bleu cheeseburger - which, by the way, was phenomenal - with onion rings and took home one of their large cannolis, specifically the pumpkin-spice. Everything was great! We left very satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food! The Real Deal in Homemade Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was my first visit to Carmella's Cafe and it was outstanding. All their pasta, bread, and sauces are homemade. I tried the Chicken Riggies, and it was far better than other places. The sauce was excellent, and combined with the seasoned chicken, it was very flavorful. My wife had the California Pasta and was impressed with all the fresh flavors of the basil and garlic in the sauce. The service was prompt and the dining area was casual and comfortable. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food, and kids eat free on Sundays. They also have daily specials, and early bird specials. I live 60 miles away and will be back the next time I'm in the Utica area. My wife and I are Italian, and this place is the real deal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike52NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We stopped in to Carmella's on a holiday weekend and were pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Now I know why there were so many cars in the parking lot on a holiday in the summer. Food was awesome, bread was served hot and the salad was good. We were happy that we ate here instead of Ponderosa. Will go back next time we visit friends in Utica!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best onion rings!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Great place for the whole family. I love their onions rings they are so crunchy. Another one of my favorites is the fish 'n' chips beer battered haddock fish. My husband loves their chicken riggies and their certified steaks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma_Mekic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to bring your family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Early birds specials can't be beat ! Price for dinner includes choice of soup or salad, main dish, beverage, and a dish of ice cream! Have always had prompt service, and food is consistently good! Chicken riggies and alpine chicken are delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmella's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carmella's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing