We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels I have stayed in in a long time!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Utica

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Utica
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotels I have stayed in in a long time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed one night while attending an awards event. Our group had reserved a block of six rooms. One of the rooms we were given was already occupied by someone when we entered and one room was actually being used by the hotel as a "storage room" with spare beds, chairs, etc piled up in it. The front desk staff seemed very incapable and annoyed about having to find us different rooms.-I am very concerned at the fact that we were in essence given the key to someone else's room. We did get the room problem fixed, and the rooms were clean - nothing great but clean. The pillows on the beds were just square "accent pillow size" and there was only a tissue-paper thin quilt/blanket on the beds. The heating system was very hard to regulate -the rooms were either cold or hot. Noise from the hall was bad, doors could be heard slamming all night.
The food for the banquet was horrible - salad awful, meat very tough and cold and vegetables were unidentifiable. The P.A. system in the room was not good and the room was overcrowded - probably over capacity.
All in all the only thing good was the enjoyable company of our co-attendees. Very unfortunate for the people receiving the awards that the venue was so poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank npmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda1777, Manager at Holiday Inn Utica, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We regret that we did not provide the type of accommodations you expect as a traveler – my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with your stay. We take your constructive feedback seriously, and will continue to focus on providing comfortable accommodations to all our future guests. Failing to meet guest’s expectations is not part of our culture, and is unacceptable by our standards.

We wish you all the best in your future travels, and hope you continue to find accommodations that better meet your needs.

Sincerely,

Amanda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
9
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I traveled to New Hartford for school and stayed 4 nights. Check in was a breeze. The room was beautiful and had been recently remodeled. Extra large bathroom and the room was spotless! Super quiet and nice area next to a catholic high school. Conveniently located by the hospital and by route 5/12. No sidewalks in the area, which was a pain but not deterring. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christy8_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda1777, Manager at Holiday Inn Utica, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking a minute to express your satisfaction with the service and accommodations we offered you. Our spaciously appointed guestrooms and friendly service are hallmarks we strive to deliver every day, and we're thrilled you experienced what we enjoy doing – making our guests very happy.
Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed the quiet setting and the view overlooking playing field. If you enjoy baths, make sure that you ask if your room has one. We had an executive king suite with no tub. The shower spray was quite needles and pins to boot. Service in the restaurant was very friendly and the food was passable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the playing fields have a nice view of the sunrise over the mountains. Make sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda1777, Manager at Holiday Inn Utica, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us. We’re happy to read you enjoyed the service and accommodations we offer you.
Your business to our property are truly valued and much appreciated – thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
364 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Restaurant service is very slow, food quality is average. Room was very humid despite air conditioning. The phone in the room did not work. They did not return my laundry same day as requested. Desk clerk lied about it and would not summon a manager upon request. I had to find one myself. Other than that it was OK. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda1777, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Utica, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the condition of your guest room. Your experience is well below our standards and completely unacceptable. I will review the procedures with the appropriate departments and make sure we address all your concerns going forward.

We’re disappointed that we failed to meet and exceed your expectations, but are grateful you took the time to let us know where we need to improve for the next guest, and I can assure you we will.

Thank you

Amanda Stanek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Hartford hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I wish I could do a 3.5 rating because it didn't quite make it up to 4 in my opinion, but wasn't a 3 either....I decided to err on the positive side.

This is a pretty big hotel which seems to cater to events. I stayed in a King size room and the bed was very comfy with really nice bedding, good pillows, very clean and attractive looking. The bathroom had clearly been re-done with nice thick towels, nice counter tops and a sleek appearance. They did seem to forget to replace the bathroom door when they renovated which was very tired looking. Of minor note, the hairdryer had come off the wall mount (and I told the front desk so I'm assuming it will be fixed for the next guest).

I did not use the pool, but it looked nice. I did use the fitness room which had 2 of everything (treadmills, bikes, ellipticals) and was clean. Since I am a high points priority club member, I got a coupon for a free breakfast - there is a restaurant on site which is nothing fancy, but fine.

They had free wifi, but the service was pretty lousy. When I called the desk they were aware of the situation and were working on it.

In sum, it's clean and semi updated (not all areas) but a bit tired in some spots. For the right price, worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn New Hartford during the first week of August for a yearly reunion that takes place in a different part of the state every year. We had such a great time. The rooms were cushy and clean. The catered event had yummy food and a great atmosphere. Chris in the Sales Office was incredibly helpful and very flexible with our ever-changing schedule of events and the front desk staff was great. Overall - this is top notch place with great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

First off, the girl at the front desk during my check-in acted as if I was inconveniencing her. Then, I get to my room & begin to notice a damp, musty smell. After some investigation, I noticed that mold had formed along the entire edge of the long wall, and that the wallpaper on the exterior wall had bubbled, as if water had accumulated. It was late and I was tired after a long trip, so I decided to stay the night. When discussions with some of my coworkers revealed that they were having the same experience with their rooms, I decided to just check out and stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Utica. Great move - if you're smart, you'll do the same!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngSant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Utica, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear AngSant64,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hartford
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Utica

Property: Holiday Inn Utica
Address: 1777 Burrstone Road, New Hartford, NY 13413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Utica 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 100 room property is right outside of Utica, New York and offers travelers a property that prides itself on being clean and accommodating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Hartford Hotel New Hartford
New Hartford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing