We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff and overbooked rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The day-time desk receptionist was extremely rude. We asked to get in to just one of our four reserved rooms early since check-in was at 3:00 and the wedding we were attending started at 3:30. No other guests were there to request an early room, but she refused to look in to options for us, and acted like we were the scum of the earth.

When we arrived at the hotel after the wedding, it turned out that Super 8 had overbooked, and another couple did not have a room on file (they said they had called to confirm twice that day). Because of this, the night receptionist tried to make it seem as if we had only three rooms (instead of the four we had booked). When finally it became clear (because of the confirmation cards) that we had in fact booked four rooms, he yelled at us, "The other receptionist made a mistake! I wasn't saying it was your fault!" We let the couple have one of our rooms, which meant we were crowded in to three. The receptionist took no responsibility for the mix-up either on his own behalf or the hotel's, and did not offer any discounts to make up for the inconvenience.

The rooms are shabby and feel slightly grimy (there was a hair in the bed when I turned down the covers).

Please don't give business to this hotel that does not know how to handle theirs. There are so many other hotels with hard working owners and staff who will welcome your patronage.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

Way to go, New Paltz Super 8, for having the lack of ability to work with your customers during these hard economic times! I have stayed at this hotel many times for 59.00 a night. The rooms are clean but the front desk hotel clerk has alot of issues every time I visit but, for this price and a descent processed breakfast, it makes it worth it.
However, asking 195.00 for a Saturday night in October is unheard of and I will never stay at this establishment again!! They should be fined!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have no clue why the front desk receptionist always very rude and disrespectful to the motel guest, whatever it is her own personal issues she has this scary eye look.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Clean room and decent price. Biggest problem was the lack of helpfulness of the staff. Intake person was pleasant and made restaurant suggestions the day we got in, but on leaving, I wanted to print out a one-page web document, and the front desk said not possible. The public computer is not attached to a printer, and the office one is off limits, even if you offer to pay. I asked where we could find a printer, and both front desk person and the manager frowned and treated this like a problem they wished would go away. They seemed bothered to help me figure this out, and I ultimately went online myself and found the open library at SUNY. Really great places try to make your life easy, not this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Judging from the other reviews, it seems that the prices really vary for this place, most likely by season and day, which is expected. As we stayed here on a summer weekend our rate was definitely on the high end, but I suppose it's on par with market rates compared with other hotels in the area.

I completely agree that the room was very clean and nicely appointed, certainly no "ick" factor when staying here. The front desk is efficient if not overly friendly. Coffee available 24 hours a day is a nice perk.

Bottom line: If you don't want to spring for a bed-and-breakfast but don't want to sleep in a flea-bag either, this is a very reliable mid-range option.

Just a tip: They offer a continental breakfast. I certainly didn't expect much, but our first day we went for it as we figured it's included in the price of the stay. The nearly frozen muffins, white toast, hard butter packets, and severely watered-down orange juice failed to meet my low expectations. I would recommend instead going to the bagel cafe in the plaza across the road and getting a fresh bagel and cream cheese for $2.20. You'll have a much happier start to your morning.

Room Tip: Noise level from outside wasn't bad at all, but if you're sensitive try to get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We were visitng family in new paltz...no one had a guest room so my husband and i stayed here while the kids stayed with family...i must say that i was a bit leery of staying at a super 8...the hallways made me even more nervous, but once inside the room had good beds, new furniture, cold ac and was about all CLEAN! the location was perfect for everything we wanted to do...close to family, close to mountains, close to river, i would definitely recommend this to someone as an affordable alternative...we were willing to pay more to stay somewhere higher end, but nothing had the great location of the super 8...i have only 2 complaints...we stayed from a tuesday to a tuesday...every night was quiet and seemed to be other travelers c oming to new paltz or on their way somewhere else...with the exception of Saturday night!! rooms were obviously rented to local teens or college students who carried on in the parking lot and hallways til 4:15 am!! also, on tuesday, our day of check out, someone knocked on our door at 11:10 and told my husband we had to get out or would be charged another day...my husband explained that his stomach was bothering him and could we have a bit more time...he grudgingly gave us til noon....
again, the hotel was clean and you could walk to downtown new paltz as well as easy access to other locations...

Room Tip: they have smoking rooms...my husband is a smoker and we took one...they are clean but do smell! a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMAIL4JESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Really surprising for what is considered a budget chain. The location is a bit out of the way, but once you enter the room, it is like a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atb416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
6.7 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
458 reviews
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz

Address: 7 Terwilliger Ln, New Paltz, NY 12561-1619
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn-New Paltz offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include microwaves, mini-fridges, hairdryers, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, and alarm clock radios. Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz is your best choice within the southeast region of New York. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for hiking, sightseeing, annual festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Albany or New York City. At Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn New Paltz, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel New Paltz Hotel New Paltz
Super 8 New Paltz
Super Eight New Paltz
New Paltz Super 8
New Paltz Super Eight
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing