We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular”
Review of College Diner

College Diner
Ranked #70 of 99 Restaurants in New Paltz
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped off Route 87 and saw a lot of cars in parking lot which we thought was a good thing. We ordered basic lunch items hamburgers, chicken sandwich, and cheese omelette. Nothing was outstanding yet one hamburger was not very good. Excellent waitress as she took the hamburger off the bill.

Helpful?
1 Thank 67lakeshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    16
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Driving down the NY Thruway, we got off the highway to look for a breakfast place, and this was the first one we saw (going to the right). We were pleased with the quality of the food, the reasonable prices, and the friendly and efficient service. It more than fulfilled our hopes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWisslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, NY
Level Contributor
303 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice for breakfast”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We each had a different offering for breakfast. Nicely prepared; cheerfully served. And, we were greeted very happily by all of the other diners. We did have to doublecheck the math on the check.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmquigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Blast from years past with average diner food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

What you will find upon entering this diner, is typical diner decor, done 70's - 80's style. Yes it could use some remodeling but the food is good diner food.
Service is good and the food is good. If you frequented the clubs of New Paltz in the later 70's or 80's, chances are you stopped at this diner after a night out. If you stopped today at the diner for something to eat, I'm sure you would be transported back to those days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solaris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Reliable Diner -- That's Worth Something These Days”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We discovered the College Diner a few years ago on our way upstate. We were tired and hungry and had been in the car for a long time. Some of us had spilled coffee on ourselves earlier in the day. In short, we were in no condition for elegant dining. We wanted burgers and fries -- lots of them! -- and maybe a milkshake, too. The College Diner appeared on our left and we swung into the lot. After gorging ourselves on diner food (including an egg cream), we were ready to face the night with belts loosened by one notch and those with elastic waistbands gloating.

Since that fateful night, we've been dedicated to the College Diner. Every trip through New Paltz merits a stop, even if just for coffee and juice. The service is decent, not overly friendly (really, who needs that?) but attentive. Prices are normal diner prices for below Albany New York. It's not a bargain, but not a rip-off either. There are plenty of places in the area for the latter. Lots of parking. The decor is generic diner and that's really the beauty of it. You know exactly what you're in for. No surprises, unless you're from another country or another planet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed College Diner also viewed

 

Been to College Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing