We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They should pay you to stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
New Paltz, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“They should pay you to stay there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were forced to stay here during a power outage and it was convenient because it was very close to our home. I thought how bad could it be? It really is terrible and due to the high volume of people staying there they heavily inflated the prices so now all I feel is shame when I pass this building.

If you're not from the area and thinking of staying here, its the absolute furthest hotel from the main town/village and there is absolutely nothing around it unless you want to do some shopping at Lowes.

The bed was uncomfortable, sheets stained, shower dirty and musty smelling.

Seriously, stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebo996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    11
    18
    68
See reviews for
42
29
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is with out question the most disgusting dump I've ever stayed in. I knew it was Roadway and my expectations were low but this is a horror. It smelled, the base of the bed filthy, window broken, lamp shades tattered and burnt and outlets a fire hazard. It's not close to town, no mountain view, do not waste your $ for any reason. This property should be condemned.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Paltz hotels

Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Was nice 10 years ago. No work as been done since. Rooms are ratty, dirty and dusty. Furnishings old and broken down. Staff (owner?) is surly and can hardly be bothered to open up breakfast on time. No Internet access in the rooms - you have to roam the halls to get on line. Can't believe this is part of a national chain. Don't stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was recently in the US, visiting from the UK, and had a one night stay at the Rodeway. As the title suggests it wasn't the best place I have ever stayed in.
The room itself was clean and the bed was very comfortable, and was probably one of the largest beds I have ever slept in!
But.. When I turned the bath water on out came a load of dirt.. Took several minutes for it stop flowing out.. not the best thing to see when you are desperate for a wash! Also in the room there was a electrical wire coming thru the wall..and was tucked behind a sofa. I had no idea if it was still live or not but didn't test it!
The door leading out into carpark didn't lock at all, instead of having to use your room key to get back in it just opened.. not the best security in the world.
Breakfast was ok..enjoyed eating some cereals I have not had in nearly 40 years! But the coffee was awful.. probably the worse coffee I have ever had.. and I have had British Rail coffee!!
The staff weren't unfriendly.. well the receptionist at the desk in the morning was positively friendly.. to the person he was on the phone to for about 1/2 an hour!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonPSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I can deal with the place being older (well worn), but there is no excuse for torn towels, non draining bathtubs, dirty dresser drawers, carpet not being vacuumed. Also, while you do get wifi & can connect, it doesn't have enough power to download anything so forget about going online. The continental breakfast is supposed to start at 7 a.m. Someone had to call the office from their room to open the door so we can eat. That, too was a disappointment. Would it kill them to put some fresh fruit in there. We paid $110/night. Very overpriced for what they have. This is more of a $40/night place. Also, they're attitude was not very pleasant.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolflover16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We reserved a non-smoking room here because it is supposed to be pet friendly. When we got there the room they gave us was definitely a smoking room. I could not even set foot inside it smelled so bad. They actually had the nerve to tell us that since they had no other rooms we would have to pay for an upgrade. After arguing the on-duty manager, they finally gave us another room. As far as pet friendly, not really. You are not allowed to leave the dog in the room unattended. There are places that you just can't bring pets, such as restaurants. Why not just let the guests leave the do not disturb sign on the door so there are no issues for the staff?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
430 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you want a basic decent bed in this location and are happy with cereal and cheap doughnuts for breakfast, this is fine. We are fine with cereal , but lamented the watered down coffee that was all but undrinkable.
The AC was noisy but otherwise this was a quiet spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn and Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn and Suites
Address: 601 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1617 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RODEWAY INN & SUITES Forget about fancy. When all you need is a solid deal on a simple stay, the Rodeway Inn & Suites® hotel in New Paltz is just what you’re looking for. We're conveniently located near the State University of New York at New Paltz. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activites and attractions to explore near our New Paltz hotel, some of which include the New Paltz Golf Course and: Minnewaska State Park Preserve Lake Mohonk and Mohonk Mountain House Hudson Valley Wine Trails Culinary Institute of America Shawangunk Mountains We offer the basics for traveling on a budget, with the reliability and security of a national brand that you can trust—so you can get the rest you need for wherever travel takes you in Ulster County and beyond. Take advantage of amenities like: Free breakfast Free WiFi Free coffee every morning Copy, print and fax machines All of our fresh, clean guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, along with free premium movie channels and a nice, hot shower to wake you up in the morning. Select rooms come with microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers, while suites have sofa sleepers and flat-screen TVs. If you want great value while you’re on the road, our Rodeway Inn & Suites hotel in New Paltz has you . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel New Paltz
Rodeway Inn New Paltz
New Paltz Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn And Suites New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing