We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful beauty, friendly faces, walkable city”

Inn at Orchard Heights
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Orchard Heights
Ranked #7 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Binghamton NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful beauty, friendly faces, walkable city”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Full of charm, history, fun, beauty and a custom breakfast delight. As soon as you arrive the welcome is warm and the house beautiful. We stayed two nights in the Balcony Room which has a private porch (small but seats 4 or 5 comfortably) a comfortable queen bed, TV and VCR, books and videos in the bookcase, a bathroom (that can be shared but we stayed mid week and had it to ourselves) a small frig (also a frig in the dining room if you need more room) and plenty of closet and dresser space, a full bath down the hall. I have MS, so the many stairs and uneven yard can be challenging but the beauty is worth it! NOT handicapped accessible but not a problem for me. Yes the driveway is steep and winding but once you're parked walking to most destinations is possible (and preferred) I also eat gluten free; so I brought my own bread but could eat all the rest of the delicious food (homemade applesauce, local eggs and sausage, a variety of coffees and juices) I'm sure Janet would have made us a pile of muffins or pancakes if we could have eaten them! We had plenty of privacy and quiet. Family in the area came and visited with no problems or concerns. They have a small but cool and friendly dog; the cat was unseen and we later learned the animal was ill. We did not want to leave and would come back without hesitation! New Paltz beauty and the upstate New York drive is also breathtaking. Bravo!

Room Tip: A bathroom off my bedroom is vital which we had in the Balcony Room and there were more rooms that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Do not pay any attention to the bad reviews here! The cat is lovely and lives OUTSIDE, the dog is a hoot and has no access to the floor where the rooms are and would not have access to you either if you so wished. The house is clean (don't know where this cat smell another reviewer is talking about is coming from) and full of wonderful nooks, crannies and historical memorabilia. And the family kids were all but invisible, pretty much... I was here this weekend with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday (we spent a day at the Mohonk Moutain House, you can see my review for that too) and Janet made our stay perfect! First she surprised us with an upgrade from the Catalina room to the Balcony room; happy birthday!!! Then she offered us wonderful breakfasts cooked with local yummy ingredients. We even tasted a pepper infused honey that was quite unusual and delicious. And she also left us totally alone so that we just felt like we were in our home (but we could always call on her if we had questions). The inn is located right in town, a short walk from the Trailways Bus Station and yet feels totally secluded surrounded by trees and on a little hill. Quiet. Moutain view. And the balcony a lovely intimate shaded perch to have coffee or look at the mountains. We want to come back to experience Mohonk preserve in all seasons and the Inn at Orchard Heights will be our choice base camp! Thank you Janet!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here one night because we wanted to be central to the main street, and were a bit leery of a Super 8 by the highway. The location is up a hard to find and very steep windy driveway. Once you're there, it is quite close, especially if you walk through the gate in the fence, to the strip of restaurants and shops in New Paltz. The Inn is older, and you have to watch your step and your hands when you navigate the exterior stairs because of weak boards and splinters. We stayed in the parlor room which is on the first floor, next to the staircase. Fortuneately, there were no other guests, other than the tenants on the top floor, otherwise we would have heard people coming and going all day. The bathroom was retro-fitted into the parlor and is very small--think cruise ship small. The room had a mini fridge which was nice, and there is a selection of DVD's if your trip allows time to hang out. We were passing through and thought New Paltz was worth a stop--it was average, and the Inn was fine, just not particularly noteworthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed one night based on the other Trip Advisor reviews. This property is barely maintained - the porch has not been painted in a long time, the driveway is weed covered and rutted. The place smells of cats throughout. When we were there, the family children were all over the inn, even climbing into the second story bathroom window. Our room was a jumble of flea market furniture jammed into a small space with no attention to detail or cleanliness. The owners attempted to cover the cat smell with overwhelming room deodorizers (not at all pleasant for those of us with allergies to scents). We only met the owner at breakfast as were were greeted at arrival by some random neighbor. Janet was extremely pleasant at breakfast, but not around all day. However, given our experience in a multitude of B & Bs, the breakfast was basically eggs and toast and some fruit.
Stay here for the price, but certainly not for the amenities (beware - all rooms do not have full baths) or for the ambience.

Room Tip: Ignore the above 5 star for service, it should have been poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My family (which includes twin 4 year olds) spent a week in New Paltz to climb at the Gunks; I cannot overstate how positive an experience we had staying at Janet and Daryl's inn. Janet and Daryl were very gregarious, super helpful, and made a delicious breakfast to order each morning!

Traveling with toddlers is challenging and they really helped us feel right at home.

I haven't stayed elsewhere in New Paltz aside from the chain motels - the Inn at Orchard Heights was perfect. Thank you Daryl and Janet!

Room Tip: We had the 'West Room' which has an extra day bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend of hiking and biking in the Gunks. This was our fourth stay and it was just as perfect as the first. The rooms are charming with wonderful Victorian details and furnishings. Breakfast is the best part of each visit and I recommend eating on the porch. Janet and Darryl are tremendous cooks and the special treats before the main course arrives are the best part. Homemade pies, jams, biscuits, muffins etc. Every bite is scrumptious. We tried the Parlor Room this time which as a 3/4 bath and queen sized bed. We've also stayed in the Tower Room which doesn't have a private bath but is fine for sleeping. All the other rooms upstairs do have private 1/2 baths so it's just a matter of walking down the hall to the bathroom - no real chance of running in to anyone! There used to be another room on the second floor with a full bath but it doesn't seem to be available anymore. As other reviewers noted, the location is in the middle of town which is great for walking to dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneyBaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this inn over Columbus Day weekend. Janet and Darryl are lovely hosts and and make all guests feel welcome. It was our first stay here and we loved our room (the balcony room) which has a private porch with rocking chairs. The room is a large queen with 1/2 bath (shared shower is next door). Location is superb - in the center of town with an easy walk to all restaurants, and an easy 10 minute drive to the Mohonk preserve for walks and hikes. As other reviewers have said - breakfast is a noteworthy plus here - Janet pulls out all the stops - homemade biscuits, kuchen and applesauce plus wonderful eggs, pancakes, and french toast. Lots of parking too and despite being right in town, noise levels are low which make for a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellover1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
0.2 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Orchard Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Orchard Heights

Property: Inn at Orchard Heights
Address: 20 Church St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1503
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Inn At Orchard Heights New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing