We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what a B&B should be”

Inn at Orchard Heights
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Orchard Heights
Ranked #7 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We went for a weekend of hiking in the parks/preserves around New Paltz. Stayed at the The Inn for 1 night. Accomodations were very clean, pleasant, and well decorated (very traditional feel). The B&B is right in the middle of town, but secluced up a small hill 1 block from themain street - very convenient but away from the noise. Best part was breakfast... 3 courses and absolutely spectacular - Restaurant worthy, actually, no, it was better than breakfast at most restaurants. Hosts were courteous, friendly, but not clingy.

Only issue some people may have is there is only 1 room with its own bathroom (which we stayed in)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

The Inn at the Orchard was just perfect. It is very secluded, yet very close to town. Two minute walk to Starbucks...great for coffee lovers. The house is beautiful and has a a very free, laid back feel. We stayed in 2 different rooms. Both were very comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning were super great and very gourmet. Eggs made to order with fresh fruit served first. Breads and cakes too. Juice and a few different freshly brewed coffees. Frig in the room was great to store our waters and leftovers from dinner in town. I felt like i knew Janet and Daryll very quickly. Very warm and full of advice. Beautiful classical music always in the backround. Parking was always available. I would certainly return to this lovely B&B . It is 2 minutes away from a wonderful pool with a very low fee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riceball58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The hosts, Janet and Daryl, were very friendly and obviously experienced: Janet had been head of hospitality at Mohonk Mountain House, and Daryl a chef there. So the breakfasts were super, and the rooms well-appointed and clean. Mattresses were comfortable and rooms very nice. Everything was in period and very pretty. The downsides, which were minor, had to do with the Victorian-era house. No private tubs/showers, except in one room, and Air Conditioning was somewhat sparse and weak--which was somewhat tough in a very hot July. Hosts can be a little hard to track down during the day, but their good nature far outweighs that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank engkzl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My husband and I came to New Paltz for the opening of our son's graduate art show at the University. We had a lovely stay at the Inn at Orchard Heights. We stayed in the Parlor Room -- charmingly furnished, very comfortable bed, and quiet. This is one of the few rooms that has 3/4 bath in the room. The breakfast was wonderful -- fresh whole foods, organic, and prepared to perfection. One has a choice of just about everything from home made breads and muffins, french toast, organic eggs, fruits, organic oatmeal and cereals. Janet and Darrel are warm and friendly -- we felt like we were visiting friends. We also very much enjoyed the breakfast conversation with fascinating other guests. The setting and grounds are lovely and the location could not be better. We would welcome a return to the Inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlenekiesselbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Inn is run by a family with three fairly young, well-behaved, and helpful children. We were impressed by the cleanliness, hospitality, and comfortable mattress. Excellent hot breakfast made to order. Location on top of a hill in the middle of town provided a view, seclusion, but easy access to downtown New Paltz. Reasonable, with an discout given because of midweek, and the time of year. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newt46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This is our fourth time staying at this charming B & B, The Inn at Orchard Heights and it has become a home away from home. The hosts, Janet and Daryl Green, go out of their way to make your stay as confortable as possible. From the gourmet breakfasts to the chocolates in the room, every detail is thoughtfully taken care of. This trip, she even offered to serve us our breakfast in our room.
We always visit during parents weekend at SUNY New Paltz, and the town can get very crowded. Rather than waiting an hour to eat at the local restaurant, The Green's will cook breakfast for my entire group of 12.! You can sit outside or on the porch with a view of the mountains, free from the crowds, but walking distance to town. I couldn't ask for better service and the food is delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Located in the heart of New Paltz Village travelers will find this beautifully appointed Victorian bed and breakfas. Daryl and Janet are fabulous hosts who go the extra mile to make all their guest feel at welcome. The Green's prepare delicious home made breakfasts that are a definate do not miss!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pywackette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
0.2 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
2,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Orchard Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Orchard Heights

Address: 20 Church St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1503
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range: £75 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Inn At Orchard Heights New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing