We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels good all over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Enthusiastic Spirits Guest House and B&B
Ranked #6 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Feels good all over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our long weekend at Carl's was great, just as the other reviews say. But the detail they left out that topped it off for me -I'm not kidding-was the shower. It is sized for a king (even Henry VIII). Spacious, wide and tall, with the shower head high, the spray easily adjusted to your pleasure, and the water as steamy as you want. Heaven

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great Hudson Valley getaway with lovely rooms, great views, and "hotelier" quality hospitality and host. Why fight the Hampton traffic when you can enjoy a great getaway less than two hours north of Manhattan? Rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed in separate building from the main house with separate entrances, so ideal if you want a more private experience than the usual B&B. Funny and good-natured host Carl keeps the coffee brewing hot and fresh, and the Alaskan Blueberry Coffee Cake is out of this world. Have been a guest here in all seasons and the location offers amazing views of the gunks. I'm from Pasadena, California, and appreciate the green and lush change of pace from California madness.

Room Tip: Each is distinct and special in its own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

A host who's wry wit will keep you amused and a location that's hard to beat. Looks out over the Gunks, which is minutes away by car. The guesthouse is separate from the main house, so it's totally private and has everything you need. Great hiking in the area - perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Enthusiastic Spirits guest house and had the most fantastic time - The location, the accommodation and the breakfast was way beyond our expectations - this was more like a luxury hotel. Carl the proprietor was attentive yet keeping a low profile (perfect) - I could not recommend this location enough ! The best in the area I am sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Arriving at night made for a magnificent surprise as my wife and I awakened to a magnificent view of the sunlit face of our favorite rock-climbing destination. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and quiet as can be. Carl, the extremely entertaining host, provided us with a wonderful country breakfast (both tasty and plentiful) that had us both eager for our next sure stay at Enthusiastic Spirits Guest House. Double thumbs up from both of us!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpbluzharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
5.6 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enthusiastic Spirits Guest House and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enthusiastic Spirits Guest House and B&B

Property: Enthusiastic Spirits Guest House and B&B
Address: 401 Guilford Rd, New Paltz, NY 12561-4115
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two separate carriage house rooms. One room is $165 per night plus tax, plus $20/night per pet; the other is $185 per night plus tax, plus $20/night per pet. We also have the wine shop suite condo rental in the Gardiner hamlet. There are two bedrooms and a futon in the living room . The rate is $250/night plus tax, plus $20/night per pet and $40 per person over four guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enthusiastic Spirits Guest House And B&B New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing