We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards

Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards
Ranked #11 of 96 Restaurants in New Paltz
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Washingtonville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

The filet mignon was perfect and the accompanying sauce made it succulent. The mashed potatoes were delectable and the sauteed broccoli in garlic and oil were screamingly good.

Asked for sauteed onions on the filet and the onions were to die for (if that's possible).

Been to Bacchus many times and they never disappoint. While l love their food, my husband enjoys the 400+ beer choices he can have while we have a good meal.

The atmosphere is down to earth so it's not a place for romantic interludes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    47
    30
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
155 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My family, a group of 5 went for a late lunch yesterday. We got there about 1:30pm and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. We were starving. All of us had the California wrapper...turkey, lettuce, bacon and guacamole in a wrapper. It was delicious! There wasn't a crumb left on the table.
The service was quick (it was the middle of the afternoon so it should be). It would be a great place to go at night but I could imagine it would be packed with college students (not a bad thing!) as it is right next to Suny New Paltz College.
The ladies room left a bit to be desired. It needed a quick once over cleaning and it was old.
The decorations on the wall are fun. A huge elk with a guitar hanging off it's neck was pretty cool!
A lunch for 5 (no drinks) came to $55..very reasonable.
I hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
“Game over”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Terrible experience,,,,it was freezing inside, chairs were uncomfortable, service slow and food was overpriced. Then we went to play pool. The tables had the worse felt I've ever seen. I play with my own cue, but snapped the tip in the first game and didn't have another shaft with me, I looked for a house cue . I have never seen such junk, not one house stick had a tip, and the table welshed at was located so close to a dinner table we couldn't shoot,,,,bottom line, game over!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Ok, Most go for a Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

If you are a beer drinker, this is the place for you. I would say they have a nice menu, but nothing excellent for the price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
249 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had dinner at Bacchus with our family while visiting New Paltz and want to highly recommend this Restaurant/Pub. The atmosphere was fun, the food was very tasty with a good variety, served hot and timely. They have a huge beer selection which was fun, however too many choices is a challenge. The location is right in the middle of this quaint little college town and well worth the time and effort to find a parking space. This is not a fancy restaurant, however if you're in New Paltz, for sure make this one a restaurant of choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards also viewed

 
New Paltz, NY
 

Been to Bacchus Restaurant Bar & Billiards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing