We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innovative and Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village TeaRoom

Village TeaRoom
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in New Paltz
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Innovative and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We dined here on our one night in New Paltz, recommended by our innkeeper. The meal was tasty, wine list more than adequate, service very good, and desserts out of this world. We appreciated the farm to table aspect of this place and all the ingredients were in good hands. Only down side to our meal was a very loud and unhappy patron behind us whose voice invaded the small, intimate atmosphere of the place. The staff (including the manager) did its best to make her happy, and we tried not to let her mood affect ours. We had nothing to complain about ourselves and enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My Happy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Village Tea Room is one of the nicest place to spend a couple of hours. Delicious slow cooked local fare. Delicious drinks and tea. Love sitting out on the deck in nice weather. Lunch time favorites include the grilled cheese sandwich and the corn chowder. My happy place! The shaker lemon pie is to die for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Pot of Earl Grey , Good Conversation and some of the Best Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

After enjoying a nice lunch at Bacchus and spending time exploring New Paltz a friend and I made our way over for special dessert. A charming farmhouse converted into a tea room; we shared a delicious pot of earl grey, a slice of honeybee cake and Shaker lemon pie. The pie is the original tart lemon with rind and curd served with clotted cream which brought a balance of sweet to the tart, and the Honeybee was dense, moist and full of flavor.
Service is a tad slow but overlook it for the atmosphere and quality baked goods.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Michael_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible; Terrible what a scam - The High tea disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had such high hopes for this place when a friend of mine said that the high tea was enjoyable. It was not only the most expensive on the Menu, but also the Worst, even my dog refused to eat the leftover I took home.

Firsly we were a group of 5 people and a child who decided to try the High tea, it was approx 20+ US$ per high tea order. We ordered 2 and hald high teas, we picked a variety of tea and every one of them was a disaster! I lucked out as I picked some Indian flavoured tea that was a milky mess but far better the the crap that my friend and wife shared. It did not end there.... then cam the crappy old sandwiches and scone, Oh GOD I took one bite into the scone and it tasted worse than a Dog buscuite ... I almost threw up right there, I knew right away that they had scammed us.....

I could not continue the torture, I paud up almost 90 US$ with a huge hole in my wallet and went searching for a decent tea/coffe shop on mainstreet..

Avoid this place like the Plague.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xkuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I Will Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good food and service, mature atmosphere difficult to find in this dense college town center, and on site parking.

I would have upgraded the rating had the more expensive ingredients not been so sparsely included in my sandwitch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village TeaRoom also viewed

 
New Paltz, NY
 

Been to Village TeaRoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing