We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Clean, Comfortable, Thoughtful and Delicious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My husband and I stayed for a weekend and had a fabulous time. The inn is very new and clean and has all the ammenities you would want. No "old" B&B feel. Very considerate staff- beverages and snacks available at no charge at any time of day or night. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and healthy too. Very comfortable beds and shower and linens. Very well thought out.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NycNnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2008

we stayed there for one night and wished it could have been more. the room was spacious, clean and well cared for. The home itself is beautiful and the innkeeper Kathy was welcoming and generous. Kathy makes sure she uses the freshest ingredients and makes any dietary changes. We loved the 24 hour coffee/ snack bar!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelbeeCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

The night was cool and clear. The moon a brilliant white. The stars twinkled like diamonds. And if I didn't know better, I would say that Kathy Drew arrange it all. Because Moondance Ridge, her B&B, is like heaven. From the moment you enter this establishment you begin to relax. The entrance is homey and familiar, even if it's your first time there. Each room has it own comfortable personality designed to make you feel instantly relaxed. The amenities are first rate including the luxurious jacuzzi and in our room, the wonderful chaise lounge that overlooks the woods and neighboring pond. The A framed living room contains sofa's you won't want to get up from, complete libraries of books and DVD's and picture windows the drench the room in light. It's the kind of room you dream of having in your own home. Breakfast is at 9:00 in the communal dining room. The food is wonderful, rich in flavors with a focus on eating right. The French toast was made from a multi-grain bread. The bacon was a crisp turkey flavor. The granola and fruit parfait was all natural and delicious. Best of all, this full breakfast left you feeling satiated without feeling bloated down by having too much to eat. The other treat is the afternoon cheese and wine hour where a surprise selection of traditional and local cheese accompanies an open bottle of red or white. There's also around the clock coffee, tea and various healthy bars and sinful chocolates. The Moondance Ridge is an ideal location the puts you close to all the activities New Paltz has to offer. But as exciting as the activities are during the day you can't wait to come back to your home away from home and to enjoy another little taste of heaven.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank professormiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

It's not the Ritz Carlton, The Four Seasons, The Pierre....it's better. We have become regulars of this B&B ever since it opened. We drive down from Buffalo, NY to attend our daughter's swim meets and can't wait to check in to our home away from home. Kathy, the innkeeper picks up seamlessly where the previous owners, Patti & Tom left off.

From the moment you walk through the front door of this modern but warm home you are greeted by Kathy and if the timing is right, Arnie and Liz. The home and rooms are immaculate and contain all the comforts and conveniences of home.

What really stands out is the care and attention they make to the individual needs of the guests, whether it be a special menu for special dietary needs for the delicious daily breakfast or the snacks we are welcomed with in our suite - not to mention the array of munchies and beverages available throughout the day.

Sit back and enjoy the up-to-date cd/dvd library in the comfort of your room or curl up and read a good book in the fireplace lounge surrounded by the beautiful grounds and if your really in the mood, the outdoor sauna.

No, it's not the Ritz, or the Four Seasons or the Pierre...it's warmer, more welcoming and unbelieveably attentive to your needs.

Our only regret is that our daughter has to graduate soon :>), but you can be sure, we will often visit Moondance for our special weekend getaways....it's always been like visiting family....the family you LIKE to visit.

Bob & De

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BBBS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

My sister and I just returned from our stay at Moondance. It was a perfect getaway- beautiful, friendly, immaculate grounds, the cutest two pugs, delicious snacks and breakfast, many spots throughout the property for reflection and relaxation. We truly enjoyed all the time we spent on the grounds. Our room was lovely- clean, bright and had all that we needed.
We will definitely return-- highly recommend visiting in the fall- although it seems like any season would be perfect!
Thanks to Kathy and her staff for making it a wonderful weekend for us.
Jamie and Stacey

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stacey0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

One lovely few days. The B&B is new for the owners, clean efficient, & well run right down to the instant hot water in the bathroom. The property is well maintained with woodsy walks & charming little enclaves throughout. Breakfast, served by Arnold was delicious & well prepared. The friendlyness of Cathy & Arnold made for a most pleasant stay. Loved the Moondance Ridge Bed and Breakfast in New Paltz, New York.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sarasotasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

For our yearly vacation this year, we decided to try something new. We usually did the all inclusive resort, but decided on a simpler more relaxing vacation. We had read good reviews about B&B's in New Paltz and chose Moondance Inn. What a find!!! From the moment we spoke with Kathy, the owner, we knew that we were going to have a great vacation. She was so helpful in planning our stay. She even booked us in room massages.

When we arrived we were amazed at the beautiful grounds. Kathy was there to greet us with some sweet treats.She showed us to our room. The rooms are decorated so beautifully and there is a hot tub in the bathroom. It was lovely just like the entire B&B. She helped us with dinner reservations. Each day was so relaxing. The breakfast each morning was delicious and prepared with a loving touch. Everyday, Kathy had personal contact with us and by the end of our stay, I felt like I was staying in a family member's home.

My husband is a chef so he likes to have nice meals when we are on vacation. Kathy out did herself with the delicious breakfast served each morning. Each day she had a special treat in the afternoon along with wine and tea.

Kathy is one of the most personable and attentive inn keepers, I have ever met. I really feel like we bonded and developed a special relationship on this vacation. I look forward to returning soon.

Thanks for a memorable vacation!!!

gerilynn, philip and meaghan

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iluvyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
182 reviews
6.9 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
6.2 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 55 Shivertown Road, New Paltz, NY
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five luxury suites feature private bathrooms with whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, cable TV and WIFI. Enjoy creative and healthy breakfasts in the dining room overlooking our certified backyard wildlife habitat. Stroll around our 3 acres of our nature preserve and gardens, including a labyrinth overlooking the Shawangunk Mountains. We're a mile from the heart of the village of New Paltz, with charming shops and wonderful restaurants that cater to a variety of dining preferences. Just minutes from hiking, historic sites and wine trails, you can be on-the-go day and night.. or you can simply settle into the cozy comforts of the casual luxury that you'll find at the Moondance Ridge B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moondance Ridge Hotel New Paltz
Moondance Ridge Bed And Breakfast
Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing