We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot get enough!”
Review of A Tavola

A Tavola
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cannot get enough!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is a restaurant that is a gem. It is a destination restaurant for my husband and myself. We LOVE A Tavola. Whenever we go to New Paltz, it's the first place we go to eat. The bread is delicious and magical with a hint of sea salt that is served with olive oil. Some great and not to be missed appetizers are the roasted local beet salad and the grilled octopus and chickpea salad. I always get the pasta Bolognese. OMG. A half order is just the right amount after the appetizer. Love dessert? Go for the olive oil cake or the semifredo. The service is polite and professional. Even on the bestiest nights, we have never felt rushed. A reservation is a must.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Printscess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    42
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food and service quite good !”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Food prep and quality over all is really excellent. I do enjoy this "Best restaurant in New Paltz" in my humble opinion - ask for Rosie as a server. She's wonderful. I've not given the place my excellent rating because I'm really very selective. If the menu would change a bit more often and greater flexibility to modify a dish, it would get my highest rating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankRugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a place for sharing. I have been twice, once for the winter menu and once for their new spring menu. There are appetizers, Primi courses, and Second courses. The Primi courses are primarily pastas. You can have a full or half portion. The portions are huge! The pasta is homemade as is the bread, which is served with the fruitiest olive oil. The wine list is extensive, with all Italian wines. It opens at 5:30, I suggest you make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Divine Eats”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We loved everything we ordered at this place. You really can't go wrong! The braised pork cheek was tender and ridiculously flavorful. My mouth is watering as I write about it! My wife had the wild boar pasta with sweet potatoes and ricotta. Everything was great, the atmosphere and wine, too. We will return on our next trip to New Paltz!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JennandMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Delicious. Guaranteed great meal and experience every time. Fantastic homemade pastas and roast chicken.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcarpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Tavola also viewed

 
New Paltz, NY
New Paltz, NY
 

Been to A Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing