We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Sean and Patty have done an outstanding job renovating an old house into a stunning B&B. Yes, it is a little pricey, but our room, The Hunter Room, was huge, beautifully decorated, and well thought out (but could use an extra mirror outside the bathroom, my husband and I were elbowing for the 1 mirror in the bathroom) It was worth the price when all was considered. We never got a chance to sit on the beautiful terrace, next time we must stay more than one night! We loved our early morning coffee and tea delivery, and the breakfast was outstanding. Lovely fruit, and a perfectly cooked frittata which was then ( !!!!! ) followed by blueberry pancakes (for my husband, I was already too full!) We ate dinner at A Tavola which was excellent. We didn't get to meet Sean, but certainly enjoyed chatting with Patty. They have a remarkable property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I've stayed in many, many B&B's/Inns and there aren't many I've found that are of this caliber. The house itself is beautiful -- very tastefully restored with the highest quality materials and workmanship throughout. Room furnishings and decoration are very tasteful. The grounds are idyllic. In terms of guest services and amenities, the attention to detail is outstanding -- everything from the bed linens to the breakfasts are absolutely top quality. We stayed in the Jenkins Suite, which is truly lovely. In addition to the large bedroom, it has a separate sitting area, a fireplace, and an enormous bathroom. Both the bedroom and the bathroom feature natural stone accents that add a lot of character. Due to the warm weather while we were there, I didn't get a chance to try out either the steam shower or the very inviting claw-foot tub. Will have to return some time to do so!! Nor did we use the fireplace but I'm sure would be wonderful if you were there in colder weather. There is a fridge/microwave out on the landing for guest use. The fridge was always well stocked with water -- both plain and fizzy -- and tea-makings.

Breakfasts were truly delicious. Each day -- we were there three nights -- Patty very kindly brought us thermos of coffee first thing in the morning to help us get up and going. Even this was beautifully presented, in a wicker basket with a lovely checkered cloth. Breakfast is served in the oldest part of the house -- which I believe dates from the 18th century -- on a table that sits in front of an enormous old fireplace with beehive ovens. The room opens out directly to the front lawn and the old stone well -- it's really an idyllic place to begin each day.

I would return to this Inn anytime -- and truly hope I have the opportunity to do so sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nendrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many wonderful Bed and Breakfasts - MapleStone Inn, without question, is one of the very best. The home is beautiful, clean and tastefully decorated. The 3-course breakfast was delicious and the innskeeps were incredibly hospitable and nice. Our room was immaculate and both the room and bathroom were clean (and free of any hairs). Also, the bed was very comfortable. We plan to revisit the MapleStone Inn again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cbrombe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

this B and B was absolutely lovely and charming. The grounds were beautiful and our room was perfect. The house was beautifully furnished and very clean. The breakfast was DELICIOUS. It is very close to town and to all the sites. Couldn't really say enough nice things about this location. Well worth the money

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank behappy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spent a weekend at the Maplestone Inn. Great hosts, Sean and Patty; very friendly and welcoming. Stayed in the Jenkins Suite, which had a nice gas fireplace in the bedroom. Wifi available. 3 course breakfast was amazing! Definitely a class above the type of food usually served in B&B's. They also offer a pre-breakfast coffee delivery to your room. Very responsive to dietary requests. My partner requested soy for his coffee; they didn't have any on the first day, but on the second day they had it! Easy drive into downtown New Paltz. Overall great experience and would return again!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms available, I would go for one of the suites on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Couldn't have had a nicer time at the Maplestone Inn . Hosts , Sean & Patty, made sure they would do anything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible .Coffee brought to our room each morning was a nice touch. The breakfast was exceptional & we were able to socialize with other guests staying there. The rooms were clean & spacious , beds were very comfortable . We had the opportunity to stay in two rooms (Tucker & Jenkins) during our 2 night stay. Hope to go back soon ...

Room Tip: Tucker Room is bright with lots of windows & has a large tub with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RinconRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Maple Stone Inn has been meticulously restored to colonial beauty with modern conveniences. The atmosphere of the inn is in keeping with the 1700's that is abundant throughout the region. The hosts are perfect, helpful but giving you quiet to relax. The breakfasts were delicious and our accomodations were first rate. patti and Sean were excellent resources for excursion and dining ideas. We would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
7.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
10.7 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Property: MapleStone Inn
Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz
MapleStone Inn New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing