We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our second time at the Maplestone Inn. We had to cut short our first visit, but Sean and Patty were so, so helpful during our crisis, we knew we had to come back again.

The second visit was with the entire family. The inn has three rooms, and we took all three for the weekend, allowing us to bring our two children, their spouses, and the two grandchildren as well. Sean and Patty quickly became part of our family, instantly making us all feel comfortable and at home. The inn has two main floor living rooms, so there was plenty of space for us to congregate. Patti even found some children board games and books for the older girl to play with. They were just so accommodating, we all felt at ease and at home. Patti and Sean were quick to suggest kid friendly restaurants with great food, perfect hiking trails and a nearby petting farm. Their suggestions made our weekend that much more social and enjoyable.

Breakfast was great, with multiple courses, from fresh fruit to eggs to French toast, and the best coffee. The rooms are large and nicely furnished and decorated, and the bathrooms are large and modern, unlike many of the B&B's we have been to in the past. The grounds are well cared for, also, and the kids loved being able to run and play on the grass. Sean and Patty obviously love their home, love entertaining people from all over, and we all loved the wonderful weekend they provided for us. We all highly recommend them and their inn.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank architect_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for MapleStone Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would be remiss if I did not post a review of the best bed & breakfast I've ever visited. Sean and Patty's property is gorgeous - if you have the opportunity, take a stroll. The house itself is magnificent, lovingly restored with all the amenities you could want or need. We stayed in the Tucker room and were thrilled to have such a luxurious space to spread out in. The bed is massive, the bathroom enormous, and every detail has been thought of beforehand. The three-course breakfast is a must-do at least once during your stay. The dining room is in the original part of the house, and has a gigantic hearth along with a beautiful dining room table. The breakfast was simply outstanding - we had fresh strawberries with yogurt and granola, a frittata with spinach, cheese, tomato and basil, and for the finale, a Belgian waffle with warm maple syrup along with blackberries and raspberries. We didn't have to eat again until dinner. It was outstanding. We were not able to do the big breakfast our second morning, and requested some coffee and a continental breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised with a picnic basket filled with fresh coffee, with all the fixings, fresh fruit and a home-made cinnamon-apple-walnut muffin. It was just what we needed. Throughout our stay, Sean and Patty were friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive. Although we were aware that other guests were staying at the property, the rooms are so private that we never encountered (or even heard) them. Sean and Patty provided maps for hiking and even gave us day passes to the Mohonk Preserve. They also had several restaurant recommendations. In sum, I cannot recommend the Maplestone Inn highly enough. It is the perfect getaway for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCGNJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Maplestone Inn for a weekend and had a wonderful time. Sean and Patty were great hosts, and the inn is beautiful. We stayed in the Tucker Room, which was spacious and had a huge bathroom with a great, big bathtub. The 3 course breakfasts each morning were very original and absolutely delicious! The Inn is also conveniently located to New Paltz, Mohonk and wineries. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Tucker room has a huge bathroom with a big bathtub
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MK2009Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Hunter room on the main floor. We were there to relax and see the fall colors. The inn is a wonderful resoration of a home built over 200 years ago and added to over the years. The decor is lovely, the room is huge (with sitting areas), the bathroom completely renovated and there are several common areas for TV or computer use. The wifi works great and you can print on the network too. The outside grounds are rolling green meadows, maple trees and a lovely garden area. Now, the best part--the innkeepers are very warm, friendly people who will visit with you or leave you alone, whichever you prefer. They look for ways to make your visit comfortable and enjoyable. From building you a fire in the common area, making you a cup of tea, or helping with your luggage, they do it all. The breakfasts are filling and delicious, there's a microwave in the common area, and they will bring coffee or tea to your room if you want. It's a short drive to the town of New Paltz where there are many restaurants and shops. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks, Sean and Patty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank psychoteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can't say much that hasn't already been said about this place. Beautiful house, run by a lovely couple and great breakfasts in the morning. My husband and I had spent the day on Mohonk Preserve and decided to spend the night in this place instead of shelling out $$$ for a hotel room in Mohonk after reading all the great reviews here. I am so happy we did! Mohonk is great for a day at their spa and hiking the premises but the hotel building itself seems very worn down and past its prime.

I wish we had been able to stay longer! The inn is close to everything in downtown New Paltz, and the owners were great about helping us plan dinner and the following day even though we had limited time in the area. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nora002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I hardly write reviews, but when I do, there is a reason for it. This inn and it's innkeepers deserve wonderful recognition. When you first arrive, you are treated like family. You are greeted upon arrival and shown around the house and to your room. It practically feels like a private home as there are only 3 rooms available per night and when I was there recently, I didn't even see the other people at all. You fill out a card the night before indicating if you would like coffee and tea in the morning upon waking up and then letting them know what time you want to eat breakfast.

The grounds-just lovely! During the day, you can see Patty gardening and Sean mowing the lawn. It looks like a slice of heaven and is really a nice getaway from the hectic city. The inside of the B&B has a wonderful history that you should inquire about when you visit.

The room-I have stayed in all of the rooms and love all of them. I enjoyed the Hunter room on this past visit as it was very private and the only room on the first floor. You also have a nice deck where you can sit outside and look at the stars in the evening while enjoying a nice bottle of wine. They also have 2 comfortable rocking chairs for your pleasure. You won't be disappointed with any of the rooms.

The food-Our breakfast both mornings were AMAZING. Nothing is pre-made, when you show up to breakfast, that is when they start cooking, so the food comes out hot and enjoyable. During this visit, I indicated my boyfriend liked bacon and they made sure the first breakfast included just that! The food is delicious and you feel like you are in the country in the room you are eating in...again so much history. The juices are a great accompaniment and if you leave that meal hungry, you have something seriously wrong with you! 3 courses of heaven!

The innkeepers-I don't think you can ask for 2 better hosts. Patty & Sean are just delightful, from the start of your reservation until the hug goodbye. Each morning they are there to answer any questions, make dining reservations and even provide insight on what to do for the day. We listened to them and had a wonderful getaway! They are knowledgeable about the area and can help you out with anything you need. We came home during the day and said hello, but they are never in your way. They are at your service (at least that is what it feels like), but leave you alone to enjoy your stay. I only wish I could live there permanently.

If you are looking for a nice getaway, whether with friends, family, or a loved one, THIS IS THE PLACE YOU NEED TO STAY! I can't stress it enough. You are close to awesome hiking grounds, wineries, and restaurants for at night. The way you are treated here will be unlike anywhere else you go. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MichAsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A beautiful B&B run by a lovely couple. Everything has been though of, the room has all the amenities you would need for a long weekend.
Patty cooks a mean breakfast, and Sean was very friendly and full of tips and ideas for activities nearby.
We stayed in the Tucker Room and utilized the hot tub.
All in all, a lovely stay, and so close to the city!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank qls200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
5.2 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
8.0 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
11.3 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range: £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz
MapleStone Inn New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing