We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Bed and Breakfast”
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We couldn't have had a better stay at the Maplestone Inn. Our hosts were gracious, our room was lovely and comfortable, and the food was amazing. We had a great time hanging out in New Paltz, touring the grounds of the Maplestone Inn, and relaxing in the comfortable living area and playing Scrabble.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorrieLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a relaxing Fall weekend getaway from NYC. We had never been to the area, so we did a lot of research when picking a B&B. Maplestone Inn immediately stood out. When they were fully booked the weekend we wanted to go, we chose to come a week later just to stay here and risk the fall foliage being past its peak. And it was definitely worth it!!! I'm a foodie, so the description of their breakfast was really what hooked me, and it did not disappoint! Not only was it delicious, but it was extremely thoughtful and prepared with care. My boyfriend has celiac disease and Patty whipped up delicious gluten-free alternatives that looked and tasted so amazing that the other guests considered pretending to be on a gluten-free diet on their next stay! This was great because at other B&Bs my boyfriend has had to settle on a banana or an apple for breakfast because he can't eat toast or cereal!

The house itself is incredibly beautiful. The details and decor are stunning and thoughtful, and the house is spacious enough so that each room feels private and less like you are a guest in someone's home. Our room was HUGE and gorgeous, we wanted to move in and live there! It was so comfortable that on an rainy afternoon we were happy to just soak in the tub and relax in the room.

Patty and Sean were great about directing us on what to do. We had one rainy day and one sunny day and both were great, thanks to their tips on what to do in the area. We had an amazing weekend, and Maplestone was a big part of it. We'll be back!!!

P.S. Eat at Beso in New Paltz for a fabulous seasonal meal, and if you have celiac or a wheat allergy, Rock the Pasta has great gluten free pasta, and they even have gluten free pizza on the menu. It's looks kind of like a college dive, but the food is fantastic and cheap! And the menu is varied and thoughtful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpc245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

A beautiful bed & Breakfast located in New Paltz. The inn keepers Sean & Patti are wonderful ! They have though of everything. The home is spotless,beautifully decorated & a pleasure to visit ! You can stay there for a night or book an event ( such as a wedding ). They have a barn located on the property that is surrounded by a lovely stream & gardens. We will be back ! Simply refreshing !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My fiance and I just completed our Labor day weekend stay at the Maplestone Inn and were absolutely amazed. The house is beautiful, spacious, peaceful and decorated very nicely. The grounds are large and well maintained. The hosts (Patti and Sean) are great. Both are very friendly, approachable and extremely helpful. It's easy to see that when you are staying at the Maplestone Inn, you are the number one priority. The 3 course breakfast is out of this world and worth the trip alone! Do yourself a favor and book a stay at the Maplestone Inn. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookly, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Stay the 4th of July weekend. House is fabulous.Rooms were large, well furnished, clean, excellent light, great bathroom. Sean and Patty were very pleasant, provided suggestions about what to do, and provided an great three course breakfast. Very relaxing, pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalvinnHobbesnLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

You know there is something special about a place that has received only 5-star ratings from everyone who’s posted a review. Piling on to the accolades, we are finally writing in after our third stay at this wonderful property. We discovered Maplestone through Tripadvisor reviews and made our first reservation there in 2007 based on the strong reviews and the beautiful pictures on the website. The pictures do not lie! Maplestone is gorgeously restored and tastefully decorated. Sean and Patty are excellent hosts. They are warm and friendly and serve the most amazing 3-course breakfasts (menu designed by their CIA-graduate daughter). The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and there is such a feeling of gracious warmth about the place.

Our favorite room is the Hunter Room, which is the downstairs room. We love how warm and bright and spacious it is. After a long day of hiking, we like to return to our room, clean up, go out the French doors on to the private deck and sit and enjoy the lovely view of the grounds. The two rooms upstairs have soaking tubs (the Hunter Room has a regular bathtub/shower) so if you are into soaking, you may want to book upstairs but we think the Hunter Room is pretty perfect.

The décor of Maplestone evokes country charm but it is not cluttered or overly done. Everything is tasteful. There is Wi-fi and they have also added a computer station in the common area. There are two large comfortable common rooms, one with a TV.

Only a 2-hour drive from New York City, Maplestone is the perfect weekend getaway. We like to come up to this area for the hiking (Maplestone has day passes for the Mohonk Preserve) and biking (bike rentals available in New Paltz and Gardiner; the Wallkill Valley Rail Trail is an easy 12-mile-long trail with some beautiful views along the way) but other visitors come to enjoy Hudson Valley’s many cultural and historical attractions. Maplestone is a great home base to return to after a full day of activities. It’s also a beautiful setting to just relax and enjoy a slower pace of life.

Maplestone is a true gem. We can’t say enough about this beautiful haven.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We have stayed in many wonderful bed and breakfasts over the years and this was, by far, the best one we've ever stayed at. Here is why:

--The rooms are HUGE, super clean.
--The beds feel as if you're sleeping on a cloud.
--As someone very much interested in design, I found the selections of furniture, antiques, linen choices, renovation choices, etc. beautiful and elegantly done. There is no "grandma's house" feel to this B&B (unless grandma has an elegant style).
--The pre-morning coffee/teas delivered to our room was something we looked forward to each day. It felt luxurious to take our time and drink a great cup of coffee in our room before breakfast.
--Like many reviewers have already mentioned, the three course breakfasts are out-of-this-world. Simply the best breakfast fare I've ever had at a B&B.
--The hosts, Sean and Patty, are amazingly sweet, helpful, comfortable and kind. They have a great sense of when to really chat it up with guests and then when to also provide privacy.
--We left an item behind in our room without even realizing it, and they actually mailed it to our home with a sweet note within days!
-- There's an excellent mix of reading material scattered throughout the house ranging from old, antique-y books, to history books, to classics, to books currently on the bestseller lists.

Overall, Maplestone was a dream of a stay and we highly, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank santokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
7.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
10.7 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Property: MapleStone Inn
Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz
MapleStone Inn New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing