We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and blah...but just fine if you're passing through”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Basic and blah...but just fine if you're passing through”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is in dire need of cleanup and upgrading, but it's honestly just fine for a night. Most importantly, the bathroom was clean! Bed was ok, and there was no shortage of heat for the chilly night we had.The minifridge and microwave were good for convenience. Carpet could use a good shampoo, but that's what flip-flops are for! I didn't partake in their breakfast but I don't think we were missing much.

I will say that their nightly fee is a bit steep for what you get, but it is the cheapest you'll find in the area (at par with Super 8)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk00ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    14
    12
    40
See reviews for
25
25
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Place is overpriced! My night here was so unconfortable, desk,chair,carpet were dirty. The room had a share bathroom with the neighbor,bed very unconfortable and on top i could hear the neighbor snorring, disapointed! I will not and certainly not return

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank est559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
when we rented you the room there was some miscommunication the whole room was yours both side. you did not share the room with anyone. Your room was one of our family/group rooms. so if you were part of a group and two couples it would work like this, on one side one couple would stay and on the other side the other couple would sleep so you pay for one room but its like you get two. sorry for the miscommunication we do wish that you come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Do Not Stay At This Place!!. People who work here and run this place Lie!! Do Not Attempt To Book A Reservation Because They Don't Cancel And Will Charge Your Credit Card!! My husband called way in advance ( a week in advance) and the nasty woman said we don't have a reservation. It turned out our name was spelled incorrectly and the woman refuses to give us a refund. It is a scam!! My husband called to cancel and the woman originally said we don't have a reservation because she had us under another name. The place is run by disgusting people who refuse to honor the cancellation agreement!! They are Liars!! We can't even give this place a proper rating because we cancelled well in advance and they refuse to refund our credit card. Stay Away!

Room Tip: Don't even book a reservation Here!! If You Change Your Mind In Advance About Staying There Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here 1 night in August 2013. Room was fine. And the pool was nice.
Breakfast was decent. I don't know what the other people are complaining about.
It is a basic hotel -- what do you want? Everything was just what you could
hope for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Almost gave this place a 2 star based on the Value vs Price. For what you get, this is priced about 3 times higher than the value merits. Way overpriced. For what I paid, including the pet fee, the exotic dancers from next door should have been coming over to do a private show.

Yes, breakfast was included, but no waffle maker, no fruit, so so juice, and only 2 cereal selections. For what was paid for a room, this was seriously lacking. Should have at least had raisin bran. Was only fruit loops or rice crispies. And a few muffins for selection. OJ ish type drink and milk, while sitting in the hotel lobby. No real breakfast area. Maybe for $40 a night that would have been ok. But not for what is charged!

That being said, was a decent hotel. The room was spacious enough. Stayed here to race BMX at New Paltz. The room had carpeting which was nice. The refrigerator was decent sized for storing my drinks and some left overs. Microwave was there, but didn't use it. Plenty of lighting. Bathroom was ok. All in all, a decent room. I did bring my own pillows, which I thought did help. Did have a thermostat in the room, but I don't think it worked. AC was either on or off. Was able to sleep. However, did hear guests at 6 a.m. saying ready freddy? Who gets up that early? Was totally annoying.

There is a big step up about a foot high to get into the room though. If you are not paying attention when going out the door, you could fall. Would have been nice to have been able to park in front of the door, but was too crowded. They did have plenty of parking on the side though.

Front desk people were friendly.

Since I had been in the area before, I knew I DID NOT want to eat at the nearby College Diner as it was not very good and service was awful. The clerk said drive toward Main street and would see other options. Found Genesis Diner just up the road on the right. Was a great place. Open till midnight I think on Saturday. Service was exceptional from the host/manager and the waitress. Even the busboy offered water. Prices seemed reasonable for NY and got good value for your money. Had a lot of food options. Would highly recommend the restaurant.

A plus for the hotel was the Econolodge was pet friendly :-) One of the main reasons I stayed here. So a decent stay. Would stay here again for the purpose. But would have to close my eyes to the price/value. They could do way better in that regard.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 112 on the ground floor with 2 double beds. Was pricey for what you get. But decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oquick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was an overnight stay and that was plenty. We arrived late and had no trouble with check in, but we were on our own to find the room. As we drove up to it and got out of the car, there was an obvious "smell". The units were ok, ours had a 6" burn hole in the rug. The room had window air conditioning which was adequate. The bathroom door had cob webs behind it and the there was a funk smell that would not go away in the bathroom, some relief was brought by the bathroom fan. Other than that that it was clean. The room and ammenities were basic, sm refrig and sm microwave-no coffee. We did have to call once to the front desk with a simple question and the responses were minimal, not very helpful to someone unfamiliar to the area. Very probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed one night of a longer trip.

Had trouble checking in on Sunday as the clerk appeared to be unfamiliar with some procedures; I asked to charge a different card, and he took quite a while to find my reserved rate - had to go back to the car to get a copy of my confirmation.

Note: As you enter the lot, it appears the office requires climbing up a floor - proceed uphill to other side for same floor access. No signs to alert you of this!

The room was very basic Econo Lodge - no coffee maker, guest directory or TV roster, old and faded but basically clean with all utilities functional. Bed was comfortable and internet dependable.

Very basic breakfast, too - no hot or heatable items, no fruit, but coffee was OK.

Hotel is on outskirts of town (though near Thruway), with restaurants, etc. a mile's drive away, nothing in walking distance. There's a strip club next door, but didn't appear to be open on Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing