We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouse droppings on my dresser” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mouse droppings on my dresser”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

That pretty much sums it up. Not only do they not address the rampant mouse problem, they also fraudulently charged me $150 for carpet cleaning b/c they said I had a pet in the room. If the pet in the room was the mouse I never wanted then yes, guilty. The health department needs to shut this place down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooke212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We don't have any mice in are room and if you had seen them on the first night that you stayed we could have moved you another room, but you stayed in the room for three day and then wright a False complaint on tripadvisor. Also for those three nights that you stayed you had your pet in the room instead of charging you $250 for which the fees is, we only charged you $150. We are sorry that you felt that you had to do this but we do wish that you come and stay with us another time. Thank you Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    14
    12
    40
See reviews for
25
25
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not sure why others are being so harsh, it's a nice place. Yes the outside needs a bit of touch up, but you're not sleeping outside. The room was nice, clean and beds were good, bathroom was clean, they have a pool which is nice and a little breakfast in the morning. For the price you really can't complain. Everyone needs to lighten up, if you want to spend hundreds on just a night or two then go somewhere else, otherwise this place is pretty awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyit2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is by far the worst place I have ever seen. The entire place is in total disrepair. Smelly, worn, frayed, carpet on the outside stairs, complete safety hazard. Front desk rude! We were so disgusted by the outside that we asked to see a room before we signed in. The room was in as much disrepair as the outside. We politely asked to cancel our reservation as we had no intention of staying in such an awfull place not least of which it was situated right next door to a strip club. The owners refused to cancel our reservation, charged our credit card and it took over 3 hours on the phone with corporate headquarters, many threats of a law suit, before corporate agreed to refund our money. DO NOT STAY AT THIS ECONLODGE IT IS A DISGRACE

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Paltz hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We wanted a good reasonably place to stay while we were in New Paltz and that's what the Econo Lodge was. It had a nice breakfast with juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and pastries and a nice little pool that was big enough to do laps in. The people at the desk were very nice and friendly too. I even liked the fact that it was just near the woods so you could hear the animals there chirping at night (something we city people don't normally here). Downtown New Paltz was a quick and easy drive away and it was also easy to get to other towns in the area like Kingston from there. It wasn't fancy but that's not what we wanted to expected- I think the other people who reviewed this place recently were too harsh and expected too much. If you want to spend hundreds of dollars a night for a fancy place, go waste your money at Mohonk Mountain Lodge. Otherwise, this is a good, convenient place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgrossnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place is in dire need of cleanup and upgrading, but it's honestly just fine for a night. Most importantly, the bathroom was clean! Bed was ok, and there was no shortage of heat for the chilly night we had.The minifridge and microwave were good for convenience. Carpet could use a good shampoo, but that's what flip-flops are for! I didn't partake in their breakfast but I don't think we were missing much.

I will say that their nightly fee is a bit steep for what you get, but it is the cheapest you'll find in the area (at par with Super 8)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk00ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Place is overpriced! My night here was so unconfortable, desk,chair,carpet were dirty. The room had a share bathroom with the neighbor,bed very unconfortable and on top i could hear the neighbor snorring, disapointed! I will not and certainly not return

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank est559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
when we rented you the room there was some miscommunication the whole room was yours both side. you did not share the room with anyone. Your room was one of our family/group rooms. so if you were part of a group and two couples it would work like this, on one side one couple would stay and on the other side the other couple would sleep so you pay for one room but its like you get two. sorry for the miscommunication we do wish that you come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Do Not Stay At This Place!!. People who work here and run this place Lie!! Do Not Attempt To Book A Reservation Because They Don't Cancel And Will Charge Your Credit Card!! My husband called way in advance ( a week in advance) and the nasty woman said we don't have a reservation. It turned out our name was spelled incorrectly and the woman refuses to give us a refund. It is a scam!! My husband called to cancel and the woman originally said we don't have a reservation because she had us under another name. The place is run by disgusting people who refuse to honor the cancellation agreement!! They are Liars!! We can't even give this place a proper rating because we cancelled well in advance and they refuse to refund our credit card. Stay Away!

Room Tip: Don't even book a reservation Here!! If You Change Your Mind In Advance About Staying There Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
7.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
1.7 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing