We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far-Out Food at Rock da Pasta!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock da Pasta - CLOSED

Rock da Pasta
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Far-Out Food at Rock da Pasta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Want some zesty gluten-free pasta and don't mind paying top dollar for it? Then Rock da Pasta the place for you! This quirky little place is the home of:
- Intense flavors
- Awesome gluten-free garlic bread
- Delicious gluten-free desserts
- Groovy Grateful Dead tunes

You won't find anything bland here, least of all the decor (or the music)! And be sure to arrive early. When we rolled in at about 6:15 pm on Saturday, the place was empty. When we left, it was full and a line was forming.

Be aware that there is an extra charge for gluten-free meals ($4.00 per plate, at this writing). But for me, it was well worth it to be able to eat a normal meal and not have to worry about the ingredients. When it comes to gluten-free and vegan meals, these folks know their stuff. Loaves of gluten-free bread are also available for purchase. Rock on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would come to visit just to dine at this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Cool decor amazing service Awsome food
Never realized how much better fresh local food taste like and they have so much VEGAN options

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vegantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A surprise find tucked away in New Paltz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My daughter and I stumbled upon this place while looking for a place for a quick dinner when driving back home on the Thruway. She quickly checked reviews for a place in New Paltz and we found Rock Da Pasta had good reviews and looked like a cool little place. It definitely did not disappoint. We loved the uniqueness of the place--tiny, with a rock n' roll, hippie dippy flair. It was early for dinner, on a Sunday, so not very crowded. We're both vegetarians, so we were happy to see all of the options, and food that had spice and flavor to choose from. We also really appreciated that the very nice server offered us lunch portions as an option, which we jumped at, rather than the overwhelming 32 oz size dinner portions. The portion size was perfect for us. We ordered Joplin Penne Rosa, which was very delicious--tomato cream sauce with hot peppers and a dash of Southern Comfort to add a bit of sweetness and the Pasta Vibrations Mon, a very different dish with pineapple and coconut curry sauce--both with tofu. Both were yummy, but I think we leaned toward the Penne Rosa as our favorite. We definitely will stop here again when we are in the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wappingers falls, ny
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pasta Rocked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Went here for the first time with my mother and my husband for dinner. The atmosphere is great. The space is small but comfortable. We started with the magic mushrooms and the mac and cheese. Both were delicious. My husband said he would come back for the mac and cheese alone every time. Our meals started with a house salad that comes with their sun dried tomato dressing which was very good. The pasta dishes were all very good and although we all chose meat or seafood they can make many of the dishes vegetarian or vegan. Overall is was great food. The prices are a tiny bit high but we will definitely be back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rock da store bought boxed pasta”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Seriously? This place is number 5 in New Paltz? First of all, If you own a stove, and have $2 for a box of pasta your better off staying at home then going to this place. For a place that specializes in pasta you would think they would actually make their own. I still feel ripped off, and I had a gift certificate. I've also had friends with Celiacs claim that they got sick from eating here. If you want to sit on top of the table next to you, and eat a $20 pasta dish that my 12 year old cousin could make this is your place. However, I did enjoy my beer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebo996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock da Pasta also viewed

 
New Paltz, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing