We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mohonk mountain house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The mohonk mountain house is an absolute gem in New York!
The rooms are absolutely beautiful and clean.
The 3 meals per day which were included in the price of the stay was absolutely outstanding.
The only drawback is it is alittle pricey.I hope to see a groupon discount soon.

Room Tip: The Tower suite is really designed for a couple only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

I talk about this resort on my travel blog at http://katrinawoznicki.com/. The property and amenities are wonderful! We took advantage of a midweek family special, although this is by no means a budget hotel or for families traveling on budgets. But the scenery is worth the money and we definitely felt rejuvenated by the jaunt. It's a very family-friendly place, despite the fact there are matches left in every hotel room because each hotel room has its own fireplace. The food is fine--it caters to a common denominator audience--so it tastes good, but there aren't really any culinary surprises. I didn't get a chance to check out the award-winning spa, and the lack of snowfall prevented us from enjoying complimentary snow tubing and cross country skiing. Everyone onsite was extremely friendly and our room was even ready ahead of schedule. Would definitely recommend for families.

Room Tip: Mohonk is about 5 miles from town. If you're traveling with kids and want to save a little money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is the best resort in the Hudson valley. It's the real deal. Think The Breakers North

Thank j v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Drove up wanting to check out hotel to maybe make a reservation for my anniversary this summer. The girl at the gate would not let us in. She was rude and nasty. I don't think I would ever stay here. Bad Karma

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
9  Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived on Thursday,just before the start of Presidents weekend. With our reservation in place- we were greeted at the gate and sent on to the resort (I appreciated the privacy factor for guests). As we arrived, our bags were handled quickly and the tip declined, reminding me it was "already taken care of for the stay". This became the moment I realized we were "all-included" with meals and activities. I sincere;ly enjoyed getting up from the table when ready and leaving to enjoy the activities. We hiked, went to the green house, the barn, sky top, went on the house tour, and looked for the ice skating rink. The spa was excellent, and I would recommend the "Indigo" treatment massage-wonderful !!
We will be returning with other members of our family.

Room Tip: We had a view of the lake and no fireplace due to allergies-very nice updated room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

By far - this is my favorite place to visit - period! I have been visiting Mohonk since I was a little girl and every time I go back, I am reminded why I love it so much.
My boyfriend and I just came back from a 2 night stay (not nearly long enough) and we had a wonderful time.
When we arrived, someone helped unload our bags and we checked in. We could not get into our room until 4 PM (check in time) but we left our phone number with the front desk and they called when our room was ready. While we were waiting, we went on a hike, admired the picturesque grounds and then sat by the huge fire in the great room and read. Around 2:30, our room was ready and we went up to our (upgraded) room to find our luggage had been brought up, coats and shoes were put away in the closet and the room was perfect!
By 4 PM tea time, we already had a full day and were ready to enjoy our next few days of heaven.
The dinners were great and the wine list good. This is the type of place you can honestly unwind - there is free wi-fi, but no TVs in the rooms; so you are forced to unplug, somewhat. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind in a pristine setting to spend quality time with family, the hotel is staffed with happy staff and friendly guests.

It is so worth the expense!

Room Tip: Request a lake side room on a high floor and a balcony. If you can swing it, get a fireplace in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrie_leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Came up wanting to just look around and possibly make a reservation for a future stay, the two women at the gatehouse were nasty and downright rude. The manager, Robin, treated me as if she was better than me. the other woman Dania (sp) is a puppet, she couldn't make a decision if she had to. I got told I had to hand over my driver's license in order to get a one hour pass. when I refused to do so I was pretty much told then i could not go in. been there beofre until they get nice people don't think i will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
16  Thank felicity j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
334 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
292 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: £273 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York
Mohonk Mountain House New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing