We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mohonk Mountain House
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(New Paltz)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minnewaska Lodge(Gardiner)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,145)
Filter reviews
2,145 results
Traveller rating
1,123
553
232
143
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
553
232
143
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice skatingrocking chairsvictorian roomovernight gueststhree meals a daykids clubhiking trailsspa treatmentsindoor poolworking fireplacebuffet stylesmiley familyvisited mohonklemon squeezecarriage loungepaddle boatsrock scramble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,572 - 1,577 of 2,145 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

What a wonderful retreat. You don't have to lift a finger but sit back and relax and enjoy yourself. Steve and Miranda went to this place on their honeymoon on Sex and the City when it was on so you may have seen one of the mountain lodges. The place is really spectacular. The golf course is hilly but another distraction from the day to day grind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KP2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I never made it past the front gate so this review is really just a heads-up for anyone who had the same intentions as myself - to view this magnificent structure (architecture appreciation!) but not check in. We went in winter, the hiking trails were closed. They stopped us at the gate - the only way we were getting through was if we were staying there or if we wanted to pay $63/person (pre-paid at the gate) for lunch. That was a bit more than I had in mind so we couldn't even go in to have a look. I DO understand why - to give the paying people some space and privacy - but I wish it had been made more clear on their website where they clearly have options for "day trips" that you would NOT be allowed unless you paid full price for the full lunch. (We were hoping for something lighter like coffee and a sandwich, not the full buffet, but that is not an option).
The Poor review is really more for not sharing this information on the website before I drove all the way there and for not giving an option for something less than a $63 buffet lunch (and I'm sure dinner is much more expensive). Fortunately the area is pretty enough that it didn't ruin the day.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
12  Thank WineLover0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We came here for a family reunion of sorts, and stayed in the back of the hotel looking over the lake. I loved this place! The food was good, the service was good, the room was comfortable, and the views were amazing. The trails and grounds are incredible. Checking in and out is a zoo, but we came during peak season.

Room Tip: face the lake!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peerless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were here the weekend of 2/10 - 2/12/2012 for the chocolate theme weekend. We had gabled room on the sixth floor with a great view of the lake. This was the first time that I had ever slept in a gabled room (very unique ceiling line). The check-in was handled smoothly and our luggage was brought right up to the room.

The room was in excellent condition. Everything worked and it was extremely clean. The first night at bedtime, we were greeted by a stuffed owl on the bed. My wife loved it.

The meals were gourmet quality. We have been on 20 cruises and have yet to see cuisine that matches what is served at Mohonk. Their dining room service is very professional. Dinner was sit down with a chocolate dessert buffet. Breakfast and Lunch buffet with the emphasis being on chocolate. The chocolate pancakes and french toast were outstanding.

We participated in a pool aerobics session which was very enjoyable.

The evening's entertainment the first night was a tiramisu preparation demo. Anthony one of the sous chefs did an marvelous job. The tiramisu was to die for.

The second night featured a band "The Chain Gang". They focus on songs from the 50s and 60s. We thoroughly enjoyed that and stayed for the entire evening.

Saturday morning we had a light snowfall which give the resort a very Currier and Ives type appearance.

Two more demos were done which involved creating a chocolate "sundae" (three types of chocolate desserts on a shell) and a chicken mole. Both were very nice.

One wing of the hotel is being renovated, but outside of the morning when the temperature reached 12 degrees, it really had no impact on guest services.

We thoroughly enjoy Mohonk and would recommend it to anyone looking to take a step back to another era of hotel elegance.

Room Tip: One side faces the countryside and the other one faces the lake. Most PR photos are taken over the lakeside with the mountain on the opposite side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trainman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The mohonk mountain house is an absolute gem in New York!
The rooms are absolutely beautiful and clean.
The 3 meals per day which were included in the price of the stay was absolutely outstanding.
The only drawback is it is alittle pricey.I hope to see a groupon discount soon.

Room Tip: The Tower suite is really designed for a couple only.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews