We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Omg, We went on Nov 5-6th for our 30th wedding anniversary. We went the first time 5 years ago. We have been to Mohonk a total of 4 times and each time is an incredible experience. I cannot say enough about the uniqueness,fantastic lodging,spectacular food and worldclass service at this wonderful hotel. One hour from my house I still am thankful that this still is such a "hidden treasure". Treat yourself to the spa- you will be glad you did. Don't forget to do hiking -the views are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Every room is different with a bed and breakfast unique furnishing-you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    497
    198
    132
    84
See reviews for
546
793
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went to the Mohonk Mountain House on late Ocober of 2013. What an awsome scenery! The mountains with bright autumn leaves took my breath away. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating especially in the restaurants..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the Mountain House on a yearly basis for over 16 years and will continue to stay there. The grounds and house are magnificent.......old, but well maintained. The food is top notch with so many choices, it's hard to decide. In the 16 years, we have never had a meal we didn't like there. The kids buffet is great too! The rooms are clean with wonderful views of the lake or the mountains, and most have a fireplace. We have taken walks and done rock scrambles over the years. This time we took some guided nature hikes with their naturalist, Michael, who was not only fun, but full of information......great for young and old.
We have found it a peaceful place to take in the world around us and " disconnect" from the electronics. Nature is the star here! The spa is world class and encompasses the beauty of the surroundings, with large windows that make you feel like you are right in the woods.
I have only one disappointment and that is the day hikers. Allowing this, has increased the crowds on the trails and the dining area, taking away from the relaxing atmosphere. I long for the days when we could go for a walk and not have to see people everywhere. We used to be able to see a lot more wildlife before the crowds came stomping through.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a day/evening at Mohonk with 2 friends and very much enjoyed. The drive from NYC to Mohonk is very pretty. New Paltz is a cute little town which looked like it might have some good options for grabbing a bite on the way in or out of Mohonk. The views and landscape around Mohonk are gorgeous, the lodge is interesting/spooky, loved the gift shop as an activity in itself, and had excellent spa treatments. There are lots of outdoorsy activities to choose from. Our rooms were in the newer side of the house I think called the country rooms - which were great because they felt updated and the bathrooms were immaculate. I would definitely come back here and think it would be especially good for a family trip where adult, kid, and grandparent needs are all required.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace or a balcony - but def recommend being in the country rooms which are more updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

A friend suggested to make reservations for Sunday Brunch at the Mohonk Mountain House as it would also allow for driving and parking at the Hotel rather than having to park at the Gatehouse 2 miles away as well as easy access to the lake and trails around. Perfect advice we found out and as a party of four we not only had a great brunch experience but also afterwards a 20 min walk up to Sky Top which was absolutely worth every step and provided us with amazing views on the lake and the mountain house - a truly unique location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann2013Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was a one night trip for a group of couples for a quick getaway.
Location--Beautiful. In the middle of the beautiful mountains in upstate NY. The hotel itself is like no other and so unbelievably charming. You will definitely feel transformed when you arrive. Not like a W or Hilton, but more like a charming Inn (a big one), on a picturesque lake, mountanside. And less then 2 hours from NYC.
Grounds- Amazing hiking and rock climbing that is a must for everyone. You must do the lemon squeeze. But be careful! It is a climb, you should be in somewhat decent shape and have some agility. There are no guides to take you or help along the climb (at least that I noticed).
Rooms- Rooms are basic, clean, and charming. Since the hotel is old, the walls are paper thin, and you will hear everything around you. That is one of the major downsides. Just be sure not to get a room near a heavy trafficked area. But the reality is without TVs you probably wont find yourself staying in the room much. Otherwise, they were spacious and clean.
Food- We did the brunch, lunch and dinner. The brunch and lunch were absolutely fantastic. The dinner not so great. Seems like the ones who enjoyed the dinner the most were the ones who ordered steaks. Everything else was just ok.
Overall--
If you are looking for a quick getaway to a low-key, beautiful and charming hotel with lots of hiking, biking and other outdoor things to do...you cant go wrong. IF you are looking for a place to just sit all day, party all night....NOT the place.
PS--SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I can only say...fabulous!! Food was wonderful. Service great. We hiked at least 8-9 hours a day & didn't even come close to doing all that is available. We stayed for 5 days, pricey but very well worth it. Looking forward to our next occasion to go again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
12.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York
Mohonk Mountain House New York/New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing