We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mohonk Mountain House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(New Paltz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Motel(Kerhonkson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Continental Motel(Kerhonkson)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,144)
Filter reviews
2,144 results
Traveller rating
1,123
553
232
143
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
553
232
143
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice skatingrocking chairsvictorian roomovernight gueststhree meals a daykids clubhiking trailsspa treatmentsindoor poolworking fireplacebuffet stylesmiley familyvisited mohonklemon squeezecarriage loungepaddle boatsrock scramble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 2,144 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

LOVE Mohonk Mountain ! Will definitely come back. Autumn is just heavenly beautiful, it's breathtaking........Great walks, stunning lakeside and mountain views. Dinner BEST meal, can't go wrong with any steak dishes, Very delish!!!! BEST Foie Gras I've had in ALL of New York including NYC top restaurants. Awesome SPA specifically the massage. Went 3X in 24 hrs!!!!! Great pool too.
Enjoy this wonderful Retreat. Can't wait to come back next Fall !
A treasure !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DItasNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have been to Mohonk twice now and can say we had an excellent experience both times. Just keep in mind it is very expensive. As far as we can tell, there are two basic options. If you stay in the main building (which is huge), 3 meals a day are included in the price. The food is buffet style but quite abundant and very good. During the summer, they have options other than the dining room, such as an outdoor barbeque at the Granary If you stay in one of the cottages on the property, meals are not included. You essentially have your own private house with full kitchen. The cottage we stayed in was modern and clean with a full service kitchen including things like coffee filters, spices, paper towels, blender and toaster. We did not eat on the property the second time around. There are several reasonably priced restaurants in New Paltz and the Culinary Institute of America school and their 3 restaurants are not too far away. There are tons of activities such as hiking, boating, swimming, a putting green, horse and carriage rides, and gardens. Some of these require an extra fee. The spa was rated #1 by Conde Nast and is outstanding. There is a large indoor heated pool (not heated enough in our opinion) but strangely, no hot tub. There is a outdoor heated mineral pool available for an extra fee or if you pay for some spa treatment. Other than these minor negatives, the overall experience is one of old world luxury. Tea and cookies are served at 4pm. The rooms do not have TVs (although the cottages do).

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra price
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havefuneatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Omg, We went on Nov 5-6th for our 30th wedding anniversary. We went the first time 5 years ago. We have been to Mohonk a total of 4 times and each time is an incredible experience. I cannot say enough about the uniqueness,fantastic lodging,spectacular food and worldclass service at this wonderful hotel. One hour from my house I still am thankful that this still is such a "hidden treasure". Treat yourself to the spa- you will be glad you did. Don't forget to do hiking -the views are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Every room is different with a bed and breakfast unique furnishing-you cant go wrong.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrRon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went to the Mohonk Mountain House on late Ocober of 2013. What an awsome scenery! The mountains with bright autumn leaves took my breath away. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating especially in the restaurants..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been coming to the Mountain House on a yearly basis for over 16 years and will continue to stay there. The grounds and house are magnificent.......old, but well maintained. The food is top notch with so many choices, it's hard to decide. In the 16 years, we have never had a meal we didn't like there. The kids buffet is great too! The rooms are clean with wonderful views of the lake or the mountains, and most have a fireplace. We have taken walks and done rock scrambles over the years. This time we took some guided nature hikes with their naturalist, Michael, who was not only fun, but full of information......great for young and old.
We have found it a peaceful place to take in the world around us and " disconnect" from the electronics. Nature is the star here! The spa is world class and encompasses the beauty of the surroundings, with large windows that make you feel like you are right in the woods.
I have only one disappointment and that is the day hikers. Allowing this, has increased the crowds on the trails and the dining area, taking away from the relaxing atmosphere. I long for the days when we could go for a walk and not have to see people everywhere. We used to be able to see a lot more wildlife before the crowds came stomping through.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews